We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #66 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Let me first list the positive points. The rooms are spacious and the service
is up to the standard you would expect for a hotel of this category. The location
of the hotel is great, but, unfortunately, there are a number of pitfals with this place.
The most relevant one is that the doors of the room are not at all soundproofed.
There is a big gap at the bottom of each door and if someone is on the corridor
you have the feeling that this person is basically in your room. Hence take your
earplugs along when you stay here. Secondly, I am always surprised what counts
as 5 star quality level in US. This hotel would count as a good quality standard in
Europe, but far away from the top. This implies that the price they charge is
problematic in my view. We had a good bargain with a prebooking webpage,
so we were fine and had good value for money. The published fare of
the hotel is however a bit beyond the limit, I would say.

Hence, all in all this is a good place to stay, but do not expect something special
and do not forget your earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goekik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are happy to hear that you relaxed in our comfortable rooms. We have taken your comments about the noise and addressed it with our team so we can make it better for our guests.

We do hope this does not hinder you in returning with us.

Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,372
    1,503
    523
    179
    90
See reviews for
1,107
1,519
175
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We are Wyndham owners. This was our first visit to the Chicago Wyndham. We were driving into town and it took us a while to get there because there is an upper and lower Wacker Dr. We kept ending up on the lower level. You have to pay $60/day to park your car. We didn't use the car while we were there. The valet service was slow when we checked out. Our room (a one bedroom Presidential) was awesome. Next time I will get a river view. The refrigerator was hard to open and the shower difficult to navigate, but we figured it out. We will definitely return as it is in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Wyndham Vacation Units. We are happy to hear that you relaxed and enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass your comments on about the maintenance opportunities you had and we do hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I have just spent 3 nights here with my 21yr old daughter. Our booking was for a city view room with 2 beds but we got a river view with 1 bed. The view was magnificent and the bed was huge so we didn't mind the change to our original booking at all. Our room was adjacent to the lifts but as our days were so filled and busy, we still managed to have a good sleep uninterrupted by the noise of the lifts.
The room was large and clean with a lovely bathroom and as already mentioned, fantastic river views. The only problem we had with the room was the inconsistent wifi - if I sat by the door I had no problem but it was very unrealiable from the desk or bed.
We found the staff at the check in counter friendly and helpful, as were all staff encountered.
We ate at the on site restaurant, Hoyts, on 2 occasions and had wonderful meals - the crab stuffed salmon was superb. We also had room service breakfast which was of good quality.
Location was excellent, just a walk away from most attractions. As a first time visitor to Chicago, I really enjoyed this city, in part due to the great service received at this hotel.
I would certainly recommend the Wyndham to others, suggesting that they request a river view room. I truly hope to be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Moretravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello


Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay and thank you for your kind comments.

We do hope that you return and see us soon.


Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The location of this hotel is great, but there are things that could use improvement. I asked both the front desk and concierge some very basic questions regarding directions, landmarks, etc. Each time I received a response that gave the impression that they really couldn't be bothered to help. I had to resort to asking the valet and luckily, he was extremely helpful and friendly.

The room itself was very standard. There were a lot of small flies around the windows and ceiling so it would have been nice if housekeeping/operations addressed this issue.

If location is really important to you then I would say that this hotel is a good one to select as it is within walking distance to restaurants and it is right in front of the river. If you're looking for additional touches and great customer service though, you might want to keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Restless_Van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. On behalf of the hotel we do apologize for the opportunities you encountered during your stay with us. Please do know this is not our standard here at the hotel and we have had the issues you talked about checked with our Operations team.

We do hope that you give us another opportunity for us to show you how Grand we are.

Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,609 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,608 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#73 of 190 in Chicago
4,974 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing