We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Rooms, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Large Rooms, Great Location”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

These rooms are very large for city hotel rooms. We had a room that faced the river and we looked directly across the river at the Trump Tower. The lobby is very small, but sufficient. Sometimes the elevators had long waits. The location is in the middle of the river properties, perfect for exploring downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms that end in 01 are close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 321kristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Hello

Thank you for your 4 star rating of the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We do pride ourselves on our location and the hotel room sizes so we are thrilld to hear you experienced them. We want to apologize for the service interruptions you experienced with the elevators. We have had our teams work on the timeliness issues so we can improve our guest experience.

We hope to see you again soon.

Juli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,342
    1,486
    521
    178
    86
See reviews for
1,089
1,501
173
1,065
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We visited this Wyndham thanks to a great rate in a vacation package with Aeromexico, and because it had very good reviews. The best card for the hotel is the location, near everything, you have blocks away options for breakFast, coffee, lunch and dinner, one block away from Mag Mile and several subway lines. The view from our room was awesome, with the river, the marina towers and the bridges. The room itself is quite big, with a small couch, desk, big LCD TV and everything looks brand new and clean. The hotel have only 2 bad things first is that the hotel still has some works, for example almost all days only 2 of 6 elevators worked (for a 30 story building you can wait for an elevator up to 5 min) and the front of the hotel and the restaurant is still in renovations. The second one, is that the lock of the room never worked! we had to go to reception at least once a day to reprogram our card, still the lock never worked very well, it seems like they install a cheap lock, and they don´t work very well at all.
Summing up, I think is a very good option, but it depends on the rate you get, for example i saw on other sites, that the rate was 298 plus taxes! I definetely wouldn´t pay that amount.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the upper levels, they have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank velezmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Hello

Thank you for yout kind words about the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are happy to hear that yourelaxed and enjoyed our amazing views and location. We do apologize for the opportunities you incurred with the elevators and the room keys. We did experience a challenge with the elevators and had our technician out to improve them and we have passed the concerns onto our Front Office Manager about the room keys.

We do hope that you choose to return to see us again soon.

Regards

Juli Colon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had a 5 night stay and couldn't have been happier. We took the train from the airport and were able to walk to the hotel from the stop. The hotel is right on the river, just one block from Michigan Ave. All of the sights were within walking distance (except Camden Yard, which was easily accessed by train).
The rooms were very roomy and well kept up. The best part was the shower! The shower head is so large it makes you feel like you are in a rain forest.
The hotel staff was also very accommodating and helpful.
Perfect location and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irene h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We do pride ourselves on our amazing location and views so we are thrilled to hear you had a great time!

We do hope that you return and see us soon

Regards

Juli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked a river view suite. It had a living room (smallish) with a two-person dining table, tv, leather seating, lovely bathroom with rainforest shower, and bedroom with a king bed. It worked beautifully for our need (meeting friends, taking the architectural river tour on The Grand Lady, and changing for dinner afterwards. Only about 5 blocks from Millennium Park. Our suite wasn't ready till 2:30 even though they put a rush on it, but aside from that, everything worked well. Would book again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaconsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Hello

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing time with us and relaxd in one of our comfortable suites.

We do hope that you return and see us soon

Juli Colon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is situated 1/2 block from Michigan Ave, right on the river. As others have said, it is convenient for everything. We could walk or catch a bus right outside our hotel to virtually every place we wished to visit. And the elevated trains are just a couple of blocks away. The architectural boat tours depart from the riverfront by the hotel (and I HIGHLY recommend you take one of those tours at the start of your trip if you've never been to Chicago.)We didn't spring for the river view rooms but I kind of wish we had as the view was so beautiful. Our room was clean and spacious. Very comfortable. Be aware of a couple of things though. First, the 'free' internet is stone age slow. Couldn't even check mail. For faster speeds, you must pay a fee. Second, the elevators can take a LONG time to arrive and be very crowded during busy times like first thing in the morning. So just plan a bit of extra time to get out or take the stairs as my teenagers often did! I never tried the restaurant so have no comments on that. Final bonus: the Trump Tower is right across the river so we always knew how to find our hotel by looking for the Tower! I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthwestMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello SouthWestMom3

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing time with us and enjoyed our glorious city. Unfortunately we have been experiencing internet challenges and we have a team of technicians on property working on enhancing the experience for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back soon to the Wyndham and definitely on your next stay pick the magnificent River view rooms.

Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The location is great! If you unfamiliar it is a little tricky to find as the building is being worked on so the only sign is wayyyyy up at the top of the builind. We passed it 3 times :P thanks GPS. All started off well, the rooms were MUCH bigger than expected, they were huge as well as the bathroom. We have stayed in many a hotel & hadn't had one that big in the city. Rooms are VERY tight. You will hear your neighbors. Our view unfortunately wasnt the best, not towards the river. AC is not the best. Even at the highest it was still quite warm. When we came back from dinner & shopping I went to use the sink & it was had NASTY smelling mud & small stones. My first reaction was did this come from the water? because I filled my childrens stainless steel water bottles, not even looking with it early that day. I checked the bottles & thank heavens it wasnt. Second I thought did someone come in our room? & wash their dirty shoes or something in our sink? We called the Front Desk & over 20 mins later someone came & he said that the sink next door must be plugged & it came into ours; waited longer for them to clean it. THEN in the morning I was doing my makeup, about to brush my teeth when I started smelling sewer-ish smell & our sink filled half way up with water coming from the drain. We called down & we were already in a rush to get out the door we had things planned & breakfast to get to, so waiting for someone again to fix it wasn't a option as my husband needed to take a shower & he couldn't wait til they came or them come with him in it. The front desk girl just apologized & I clearly stated it was unacceptable, not to mention unsanitary we had to brush our teeth in the bathtub & try not to gag in the bathroom or getting around due to the smell. It was VERY potent; she said the manager would call but he never did. So we went downstairs & they offered us a complimentary breakfast, BUT we were already on our way to breakfast. We went to get our bags to have them store them since valet would keep our car til 6 but check out was noon & they offered us a late check out. Um we already lugged everything down here, we werent going to do it again.Which they knew, hence why I think they offered it. Finally we spoke the manager, he was very nice & promised us a discounted rate & to book thru him next time. HE actually seemed genuinely sorry. So that was nice, but not the option I was hoping for. Valet is $60. Which was alot but was glad we didn't have to deal with it. Doorman & valet was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for as high up as you can, with river. away from the elevator. Although our request wasn't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcasesNsippycups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. On behalf of the hotel we do apologize for the opportunities you encountered during your stay with us. Please do know this is not our standard here at the hotel and we have had the issues you talked about checked with our Operations team.

We do hope that you give us another opportunity for us to show you how Grand we are.

Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right in the middle of everything. The hotel is excellent with spacious rooms that are spotless! The staff is excellent from the doormen to the housekeeping staff. We took our family to Chicago to visit the City - had a great time. I will def stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kc0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for your amazing 5 star rating. We are thrilled to hear that you relaxed and enjoyed your stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront.

We hope to see you soon

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,046 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#84 of 189 in Chicago
6,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,914 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing