We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good apple bad apple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

4,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,345
    1,487
    521
    178
    86
See reviews for
1,092
1,502
173
1,065
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I would have given the hotel 2.5 stars if possible.

Pros:
Great location. Around the corner from Michigan Ave., theaters, and trains. Our room was on the 14 floor and a corner room which had great windows. The bed was comfy. It was one of the few hotel rooms that I have been to where the thermostat functioned properly. Check in was fast and the staff was friendly.

Cons:
This hotel needs to invest in sound proof doors. The doors are small wooden doors that have about a 1.5 inch gap off the floor that allow a lot of light and sound. Both nights we stayed were had trouble with noise in the middle of the night from the people across the hall. The first night the drunk girls came yelling down the hallway discussing a very inappropriate subject at about 3 am. The second night the same party came home at 4:30 am with a group of men yelling and partying. I actually had to call down to the office, a first for me. The front desk took care of it immediately; however, did not make sure that the party ended. It wasn't until 5:30 when the partiers got under control. The party across the hall was loud but even with their normal talking we could hear them due to the lack of sound proofing. You could hear people talking, showering, and tv volume just walking down the halls during the day.

There was huge clumps of hair in the shower walls that housekeeping missed. The room was clean otherwise.

The internet was terrible. Barely worked most of the time we were there. We use internet a lot to get restaurant info, etc. so it was a bit of a disadvantage not to have the wifi.

The cable channels on the tv were only half functional. We had a huge rain storm while we were there and had to cancel our plans. While waiting it out we were relaxing in the room only to realize there was not much to watch because the tv kept saying no signal. This was not due to the rainstorm. We would try to watch before bed and it said no signal then as well.

We came to Chicago for an adult weekend away from our young kids. We had a great time but were really disappointed that we didn't get to catch up on much needed sleep. In fact we would have gotten better sleep at home with a teething one year old.

Not sure we would stay here again. We really loved the location and comfortable bed. I really wish there was a way to have a quieter environment there!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hb1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for offering your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am terribly sorry that you had a negative experience and that we did not sufficiently remedy the noise situation for you. I assure you that we make every effort possible to ensure a positive guest experience and will be sharing your comments with our team regarding the noise and other discomforts. We take these critiques very seriously as we do our mission to provide a positive experience and regret our efforts fell short. Please know that we would hope you would return to stay with us so that we can demonstrate our improvements.

Best,

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were very happy with our stay at the hotel.
The place looks and feels clean. Very well located and good service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Isssabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your positive review of the Wyndham Grand! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and had a good service experience during your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Chicago!

Regards,

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Location is perfect, amazing views, and helpful staff. Room was clean, well decorated, quiet, and very comfortable bed. The highlight though was a bartender in the lounge, who was a delight. Amie Boura, besides being a great bartender, was also very helpful. It was a treasured moment to wind down the day at her bar. I look forward to visiting the Grand again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your five-star review of the Wyndham Grand! We are happy to hear that you had a great experience during your stay with us. We will be sure to pass your compliments along to Amie, we agree she is one of our best!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Chicago!

Regards,

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,048 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,530 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#84 of 189 in Chicago
6,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,915 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing