We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend - - Loved Hotel 71!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

4,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,342
    1,487
    521
    178
    86
See reviews for
1,090
1,501
173
1,065
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

I love this hotel, rooms are modern very stylish. Location is ok, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blain80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 20 August 2016
Dear Blain80 ,

Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we truly look forward to having you return to stay with soon!

Regards,
Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Recently stayed at the Hotel 71 over Thanksgiving weekend during a visit to Chicago with my wife. Made our reservations through Hotwire, so got it at a discounted rate. Honestly was a bit apprehensive after some of the reviews, but it ended up being a great stay. They seem to have addressed the elevator issue that people have complained about (we never waited more than a minute or two for the elevator (we were on the 36th floor)). The room was clean and comfortable, although the bathroom fixtures could use some updating. The staff was polite and more than accomodating. The location was absolutely perfect. Literally a few minutes walk from many chicago attractions including the theater district, miracle mile, rush street and many of the museums and restaurants. My wife and I would absolutely stay here again without hestitation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom fixtures
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azsundevil30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Dear azsundevil30,

Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront! We have definately addressed all the issues you mentiones. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we truly look forward to having you return to stay with soon!
Regards,

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2008

I booked 20 rooms for a convention. The rooms were very nice in my opinion. Not a bad view from any of them. However . . . they need to get the elevators fixed and finish renovating the restaurant. We were lucky to be near so many restaurants and bars within walking distance. I had booked this hotel early in the year and didn't know at the time there was no restaurant. I was embarrassed learning this. The last night there a man in the elevator told me the elevators were not working a year ago and the restaurant and bar we also being renovated then.

For this to be on my list ever again. They need to finish it.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no restaurant and the elevators
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Dear LizaKay,

Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront! We have definately addressed all the issues you mentiones. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we truly look forward to having you return to stay with soon!
Regards,

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

I got "upgraded" to a remodeled room, #1601. Right next to the elevator, and the noises kept me up all night (and usually I have no trouble sleeping). Internet amazingly slow to the point of being unworkable. No ethernet cable to back up the wireless access. Very poor entertainment options. Colleague found a dirty sock under her bed, also found internet access unworkable, had a dripping faucet, and had a used bar of soap in her bathroom- Yech.

I stayed here last year and it was ok, but I'm not going back.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank split2991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 18 June 2016
Dear split2991,

Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront! We have definately addressed all the issues you mentioned. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we truly look forward to having you return to stay with us soon!
Regards,

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We stayed at the 71 for the Chicago marathon from Oct. 9-15 in 2008. We booked online through lastminute.com already in February and received a really good rate considering the period - marathon times are always crazy. They upgraded us to a riverview room in the 28th floor, gorgeous views. Location is ideal, close to magnificent mile, Navy Pier and downtown - all in walking distance. You can tell from the bathtub and the wallpaper that it's not a new hotel, but the rooms are really big and very nice. Staff is ok although not over-friendly. There's no restaurant at all, they have roomservice and a very good corner bakery cafe right next to the hotel, very convenient for breakfast.

Only downside are the elevators - from the 2 going up to our floor only one was working for the entire period, and this one got stuck on the last day of our stay, which meant everybody had to take the service elevator.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff friendliness
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TriBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
Dear Manuela69,

Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront! We have definately addressed all the issues you mentiones. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we truly look forward to having you return to stay with soon!
Regards,

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,047 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#83 of 189 in Chicago
6,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,914 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing