We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #66 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auburn, AL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real jewel”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Newly opened Hotel 71 is a real jewel in downtown Chicago. Located just west of Michigan Avenue facing the Chicago River,it's opposite the much more expensive Trump Hotel. Shopping is a short walk away on the Magnificent Mile or walking the other way, to Macy's. The rooms are more like suites than the typical Chicago hotel rooms. Hotel 71 is much like a large, full service boutique hotel. The staff are friendly and hospitable. Parking is by valet but your car will be under the building instead of halfway across town. Breakfast is served in the cozy dining room, either buffet or ala carte. Imagine, fresh squeezed orange juice. The fitness center is way up where you can enjoy a fabulous view of Chicago. Upper floors facing south have a nice view of the Loop but I suggest paying a few bucks more for the river view. We could see seven bridges spanning the Chicago River. A few minor inconveniences: ice machines are only on a few floors and there are no soda machines. I'm proud to attach my name to this review. Burt Katz

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,401
    1,523
    531
    181
    90
See reviews for
1,134
1,538
176
1,080
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This is by far the best hotel in Chicago. Excellent Service! Thank You Reservation for seeing to our "Special Request". Friendly-Professional-Courteous! Love, Love,Love the location...can walk anywhere. Beautiful upscale room decor. Clean, clean, clean....did I say CLEAN!
Thank You for letting us check in early & check out late!
Thank You! Our #1 choice!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valleybrookln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I stayed here with a friend in March last year and was very impressed.

We had a small hickup on checkin but this acutally occured by the hotel trying to be nice to us. They had given us a complimentary upgrade to a suite but it had a king sized bed and we needed a twin, this was rectified immediately and the staff were very very helpful.

The rooms very very tastefully decorated, there was a decent gym upstairs. Unfortunately though we never got to eat in the restaurant as it was being renovated at the time but we did have room service and again I couldn't fault any of it.

The location could not have been better, the hotel is right at the top of Michigan Ave and all of the shopping and sights are within walking distance, also the hop on hop off tours etc have a pick up point right outside the hotel.

I found Chicago lovely and the people the friendliest I've met in the US. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBO82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Ok, Hotel 71 is not bad. The location is spectacular, it could hardly be better. I have been for four days with my wife in September 2010, and at check in I was offered an upgrade room overlooking the river and stuff, all for $ 140 more. I thought it best not and got the standard room. Well the room needed a makeover, but it is quite large and the bed is good. It also has Wi Fi quick and free. The front desk is very friendly and attentive. Chicago is an expensive city, so the 71 can be a good option, but rather a search for other hotels in the same category before going ahead.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PauloCesar_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Paid full price for an executive suite -$468 per night total with taxes and parking- I booked the same type room for friends travelling with us- they paid same price. Very large room - weird layout and closets. Huge cobweb(s) on the ceiling. Broken and yellowed lamp shades, dirty lime deposits around the faucets, soiled/stained grout in bathroom and bathroom closet (weird layout), old blue tub had been painted and paint was chipped around the drain - dirty grout in tub. My friend's room smelled of cigarrette smoke. Booked the larger room so that my teen son could sleep on pullout - worst pullout I've seen in a long time - horrible mattress w area under couch (visable when you pull out the couch) dirty - beer caps, peanuts, etc. Service - could have been better. Staff apologetic but when I asked them to remove the flowers, beer, and food they had left for another guest who didn't stay in the room (?) they didn't come and get it so we had to take it down to the desk. Didn't want them getting confused and check this man in to our room after all .......since they didn't seem to know it was his room to begin with. NOT ENOUGH TOWELS IN THE ROOM. Elevators were small and took a long time waiting for an empty elvator. Valet staff could have been more welcoming. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful - very professional. Only positives - Great view but only visable if you are standing at the smaller sized windows. Great location and room size but I would have rather had a smaller room that was cleaner!!! Wouldn't stay again. Only way this room would be for you is if you had a large family and needed to bunk lots of kid in living room or share cost and sleep some on the floor. "Executive" suite it is not.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank methuselah969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly. Walking distance to lots of great shops and attractions. We got upgraded to a suite, which was beautiful and clean, and the staff could not have been more helpful. Lots of restaurants nearby and the hotel also offers free internet in its business center, which impresses me. I am so sick of being ripped off by hotels for internet. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jess_bessAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Really nice boutique hotel. Unbeatable location. Rooms are new, large and well-maintained. Bathrooms beautiful and spacious. Service was very good.

My only complaint was the bed and pillows. Both were a little disappointing. Relatively rough sheets, and oddly firm pillows. And hallways were a little noisy, so sleeping was only OK.

But overall, this is a great place to stay, and I'd come back anytime.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GilFennerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,682 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 190 in Chicago
6,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing