We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Nearby Hotels
Central Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$737
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$370
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$592
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
River Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$680
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$648
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$762
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$726
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$626
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$727
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$692
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$773
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$659
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$711
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$651
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,247)
Filter reviews
2,247 results
Traveller rating
860
893
317
100
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
860
893
317
100
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe merchandise martsun timescityscape barhotel startsbrown linegreat view of the riverhotel lobbyriver northsears towerthe loopcity viewindoor poolbusiness tripcorner roomself parkingking bedthe magnificent mile
Filter
Updating list...
1,652 - 1,657 of 2,247 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed for four nights in July and were in town for a wedding but made it a vacation as well. We had never been to Chicago and decided to cram in all the sight seeing we could while there. Hotel is in a good location and the Merchandise Mart food court is a short walk away to get breakfast each morning. There is no contential breakfast offered by the hotel which would have been nice. Just past the Food Court is a subway station which was great as well. A CVS and Walgreens are within walking distance as well. Our air conditioner stopped working one night while there and it took them about an hour and it was fixed and cooling great again. We had a riverview room which was nice. No complaints about staff, eveyone one was friendly and helpful when I had a question. Would stay there again and hope too. We enjoyed our trip and can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms were nice and worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snoopy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so much for the kind review. We hope that now that you have experienced all that Chicago has to offer, you will come back and visit us again soon. If on Facebook, please become a Fan for Special offers and promotions. We’d like to stay in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The room was very clean. Staff friendly. View from bar was terrific. We lucked out with a great view of the river. If you want a refridgerator, you have to rent one. A little out of the way for Millenium Park, Navy Pier or beach (20-30 minute walk), so not that easy to return for a short rest. But Starbucks, Au Bon Pain, Mc Donalds, etc. inside Merchant Mart building so you don't have to go outside for coffee, snack, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan2350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The hotel lobby is on the 15th floor - that was different. The staff was very pleasant and the room was fine and clean. My view was partially obstructured by the roof next door. The evening view from the bar in the lobby was just fine. There were sufficient elevators so that I did not have much of a wait.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

For people visiting the Merchandise Mart there is no more convenient hotel, it's actually connected at the second floor. It also has great views of the Chicago River. That said, the rooms are beginning to show the age of the building and could use an updating. However the people were friendly the convenience is hard to beat.

Concern: if you drive to Chicago, the fact that this hotel does not have its own parking garage is a concern. I had to park outside in an uncovered adjacent public parking lot and after having my car broken into during my last trip to Chicago, I really worried about the lack of an guarded garage or valet parking. Fortunately I was lucky but this is a concern.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjb4971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit. Regarding parking, although the lot is a public lot, it is really used more by the building and our guests than anyone just visiting a local attraction and it is watched; 24hours per day. In addition, although Chicago parking is at a premium, ours is more affordable than most hotels downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Just a tough hassle about this hotel, that being said it is very convenient to the down downtown area and does have great views. Getting up to the lobby which is located on the 15th floor and then up to the room which was located on the 22nd created a challenge at times one of those being when a tour group checked in and there was a line waiting for the elevator.that's right two different elevators to get up to your room. The other problem we encountered was shabby house cleaning, when we got to the room we found soiled towels in the bathroom, no great disaster but when one encounters that you wonder what else was not cleaned properly. All in all we would use the property again even with the small problems, the location dictates that.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Wally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Wally J,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to see you found our hotel's location convenient for your plans while visiting Chicago. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room and the service you received from our staff. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews