We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #81 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was a bargain and located near where we wanted to be. The building design is unique, atop a newspaper building but once you're in it becomes second nature, The design allows noise to resound in the interior of the building and there were many parents who loosed their kids onto the balconies for temper tantrums and crying fits. But that is not the hotels fault.. Every employee we encountered was interested in our comfort. Each of our requests was responded to and we were very comfortable. Really liked the access to the CTA through the Merchandise Mart and affordable eateries were in there also.. The pool is the largest we've had in the US, almost as large as in Turkey..

Room Tip: We had a room w/a view and were pleased. We heard that corner rooms were better BUT we were happy w...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HemlockMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Recent Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are most happy regarding the comments about our staff. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,177)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,261 - 1,267 of 2,177 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed at the HolidayInn last October as I was going to run the marathon. Was not expecting much from a Holiday Inn, but I was very positively surprised. Its very nice for a HolidayInn. Rooms are big, nice bathroom for the price. Has two restaurants and very conveniently located in the middle of everything.
The services is according to the price, as well as the food quality. So I really can't complaint.
If you are looking for a "cheap" hotel in Chicago, conveniently located, you will definitely get your money´s worth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrialvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Recent Guest, thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you and hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

In town for a conference, I decided to spend a few extra nights in the city. I booked the Holiday Inn via Hotwire and can say that I really enjoyed my experience. While the hotel was currently in the middle of construction, the actual lobby and room itself was just fine. Certainly worth the price.

My favorite part was the view from both the room and the hotel bar. My room overlooked the river, part of the city, and I could see the basketball arena. The bar overlooks everything and is definitely worth checking out. Drinks and food aren't too expensive and the staff was very nice.

I also enjoyed the location of the hotel as it was a 10 minute or so walk along the river over to Millenium Park and the train is right there if you want to head over to Wrigley or another part of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casieg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Boston Guest, thank you so much for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed our location. Our location off Michigan Avenue does provide our guests some stunning views as opposed to others that have been blocked by other buildings. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I've stayed here on several occasions and it's a great place in a nice central location. The room I had this time was just redone and very comfortable. I consider this to be one of my first choices when going to the Chicago area.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly remodeled room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear John, thank you so much. We want to be your Home away from Home, every time you visit Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

By appearance, this looks like a top-notch Holiday Inn. But arrival into the room proves to be just another typical failure to go the distance. I was in Chicago for a business conference at McCormick Place. I had stayed at another hotel for 2 out of my 3 nights in Chicago. My husband had arrived into town, also for work purposes, on the 3rd night. Rather than stay in two separate hotels, I checked out of mine, and checked into his. I regretted that I didn't suggest he not check-in at Holiday Inn and just join me at my hotel. Holiday Inn always seems to take short-cuts. I had already crossed Holiday Inn off my list in summer of '12 (after a 'nail in the coffin' Holiday Inn experience). This one night proved it needs to stay on the 'off list'.

SIDE NOTE: The view of the rivers, from the bar is *SPECTACULAR*!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela_45869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Angela, we are sorry to hear of this. We strive to provide great accommodations and service. Could you email us at sales@martplaza.com with some detail. We value your business and would like to have you experience what so many guests say is their first choice in Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Our stay at the hotel over all went great! The only complaint I would have would be when we first checked in. Unfortunately I didn't not get the name of the agent who checked us in but she lacked what I feel is good customer service. She rushed us through our check in and only provided information upon our promoting. Other than that incident every single employee we encountered was amazing! I do want to give a HUGE thank you to Yvonne!!! She was our saving grace at check out and fixed what could have been a huge headache! It was the end of her shift which I was unaware of, but never once did I feel rushed! She helped us well beyond the end of her shift and did it with a pleasant smile the whole time! The front desk agents are the face of any business and the Holiday Inn should be proud to have a dedicated and personable employee like her!!! Thank you again Yvonne, you helped us end our stay on a very pleasant note!!! I will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahbeth6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Sarahbeth, thank you so much for staying with us and for your feedback. This helps us stay on our toes and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed last February and it was a great experience. The view was amazing looking at the river I never turned on the tv. The staff was very helpful with direction and quick in the service desk. Parking was a little pricy but convenient especially the in/out. I'm actually planning on staying again now the only problem is panoramic view or renovated.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rbatista08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Recent Guest, thank you so much. Ask for both! Looking forward to your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#122 of 191 in Chicago
686 reviews
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £116 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing