We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If going to the mart, this is a good convenience. Nice service, but rooms are dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #83 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
cancun
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If going to the mart, this is a good convenience. Nice service, but rooms are dated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

If attending a show at the Design Mart this is a great location to stay. A convenient bridge takes you across to the mart without getting you out in the weather.

It is a full service hotel with Bell and concierge, good checking processes and a restaurant.The staff seems very well-trained to be service oriented, polite and prompt.
Room service is expensive but arrives on time and is good quality. The restaurant is a little dated and a limited menu but again good convenience. The only downside is the rooms are quite dated, beddings are very average. There is no option for microwave or refrigerator in the room.

I like to swim and so enjoyed the pool which was clean, large and well lit. Another downside is there was no Jacuzzi. The weight room seemed average. Though I didn't use it personally. There was a sauna that was of average quality. The bathrooms attached were quite dated.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank misseswissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Business Traveler, we appreciate your TripAdvisor review and feedback. Our skywalk attaching the hotel to the Merchandise Mart is a great convenience for our guests connecting them to business meetings, a food court, shopping, and CTA transportation. Thank you for your kind words about our Staff as customer service is our #1 priority. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    823
    304
    94
    68
See reviews for
497
439
99
662
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Spent 3 nights back in May and cant complain. Clean comfortable rooms.
Check in was easy. Everyone very polite.
Seems to be popular with functions (weddings/proms etc) which can result in noisey guests but all in all i would stay and recommend to anyone visiting Chicago!
The Cityscape Bar is nice to have a beer in whilst overlooking the River.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleywhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Hayley, We appreciate the recommendation and TripAdvisor review! We are very pleased you enjoyed your experience and had the opportunity to have a drink in Cityscape, our bar located on the 15th floor lobby. It truly has the best skyline views! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I made a reservation for three nights during what is a very busy week for Chicago Conventions. I contacted them in advance to reduce my stay to one night. Their price was so outrageous, I could not pay $585/night for this mediocre hotel. I talked to three different people. They all confirmed one night.
I arrived for my stay and they had no room for me. The person who changed my reservation made it for two nights. So they considered me a no show and cancelled my reservation. No rooms. They were hardly apologetic for their error. They did however eventually find me a room at the Swisotel. A MUCH nicer hotel at a much more reasonable price. This price gouging and terrible customer service will ensure I never stay there again. I travel to Chicago often and my office is two blocks from the hotel. From here on out I will stay elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank decaturgafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Business Traveler, We are so sorry to receive this news. When you spoke to our Front Office Management they informed you that the reservation you made was also changed by you through Central Reservations to arrive on Monday. When you did not arrive on that day, the room was sold. This was during a very busy Convention week and almost every hotel in Chicago was sold out. We were so pleased and thought that you were as well, that we had found accommodations for you and at a comparable hotel. We certainly value your business and your patronage and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed 4 days at the hotel. Our room was on the 23rd floor and very small. Our suitcase just fit between the bed and TV. Furniture was old and had no available space for 2 big suitcases. A/C system still was like a window unit. The only good thing of the room was that it was clean and had a great view of the Chicago Skyline. Location of the hotel is great. Everything is in walking distance. Staff was friendly and the concierge “Russell” was very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerWieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Roger, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to read you enjoyed your view of the Chicago skyline, our friendly Staff, and convenient location. Being in the River North neighborhood allows our guests to enjoy top Chicago restaurants, nightlife, and easy accessibility to major attractions around the city. We currently have two different styles of décor, both recently renovated in the last few years. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in one of our premium rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerro Gordo, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel last week. Loved the experience! My friend and I walked to the Oriental Theater, the Art Institute and did an architectural cruise while staying here! Our room was 2233- on the 22nd floor- and had a great view of the Chicago Skyline and the river! The concierge- Robert Brooks- gave us the best directions for our walks. We enjoyed the Skyline Lounge here as well- had the sausage fennel pizza twice- off of the appetizer menu- and tried 2 excellent drinks- a St. Basil and a Lemon Ginger Fizz- both so yummy!!
We flew into O'Hare and took a shuttle right to the hotel and back- Go airport shuttle- $16 each way and a bit less expensive for a roundtrip ticket.
Had one of the best trips to Chicago- ever!! The play MOTOWN was wonderful- playing until August I believe.

Room Tip: room 2233 was quiet, a river view and a shyline view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Patti, we are so pleased to read you enjoyed your experience and this was among one of your best trips to Chicago! We love that you took advantage of our convenient River North location and had the opportunity to explore Chicago both by foot and by boat. The Lemon Ginger Fizz is among some of the new drinks offered at Cityscape Bar, perfect for summer and paired with a great view of the Chicago skyline from our 15th floor bar. We appreciate your 5-star TripAdvisor review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent 2 nights on floor 17. Comfortable and spacious room with a wall-to-wall view of the city. Looking south to the Sears Tower (I KNOW it has a new name, but it will always be Sears Tower to me) we watched boats and kayaks on the river, enjoyed the bar, also a great view. Service was very good. highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mary, we appreciate the 5-star review and recommendation on TripAdvisor! We are happy to read you enjoyed your skyline view and recently updated room amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I am very happy had a great 12 day stay at this Hotel, they have the best concierge named : Russell he helped us so much with places to go visit that we fell in love with Chicago.
Great Room Service, you can do your laundry on the 23rd floor very convenient. Food was good at room service. I give them 100 % will come back to this hotel in a heartbeat if I could.
Great rooms, they have an amazing pool and gym at no extra charge, wow!!!!!!!!! thank you :)

Room Tip: ask for room 2221 we had the best view of the city
See more room tips
Green Features: it was easy access to everything, safe to walk around they had taxis ready for you at all times the l service was close by with merchand shops lots of food near by
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiecute71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Traveler, thank you for your 5-star TripAdvisor review! We are excited to read you fell in love with Chicago during your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our excellent Staff and we will be sure to pass along your kind words and compliment to Russell! We are pleased to offer our guests a 24-hour fitness facility, laundry facility, indoor swimming pool, and complimentary Wi-Fi to enhance each guest’s experience. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#114 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Near North Side
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, IHG, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing