We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, bad property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Midway Airport
Ranked #142 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, bad property”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I was traveling with my family and I have 3 month old baby. I myself have asthma and allergies. I had booked this hotel since it was close to the hotel and was a great price. We had 2 rooms and everything was fine in the check-in process. The lobby looks a bit outdated, but clean overall. The staff was was very helpful and friendly. We got our rooms and my mother in law noticed that in her room the floor was wet. The area was by the bathroom, so it could not have been the A/C unit. I called the manager and he changed the room for me. I ended up leaving due to the fact the other room given to us still had a damp / musty feeling to it. I can't risk this with my baby and myself having breathing problems. We called priceline and they ended up giving us a refund after speaking with the manager. I would not recommend staying here for those reasons.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sajid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    51
    44
    29
    23
See reviews for
50
37
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just a horrible hotel. There were numerous, very noisy, high-powered fans in the hallway, presumably trying (not so successfully) to conquer the smell and feel of damp. The room was dark and dingy, but worst of all was the staff: surly, curt, or downright unpleasant, depending on whom you were talking to. I realize that others, like me, may stay here because of the price, but I suggest either spending a little more, or taking your chances on another budget hotel nearby. I doubt you'd do worse than this.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archie_leach65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I booked this hotel because of the free airport shuttle and because it was listed at a much cheaper rate than other hotels in the area in the same category. I specifically requested a crib in the room for my baby when making my reservation and called the day before arrival to confirm but was told when I checked in that they could not find a crib and there was nothing they could do about it. Since it was late at night, I didn't have much choice but to take the room anyway. The front desk agent, who didn't speak English well, was initially unhelpful and told me there wasn't anyone she could call to ask about the crib. Oddly enough, that was untrue as she managed to find one for me and have it delivered 5 minutes later. The room was average (torn carpet patches) but clean. The shuttle to the airport was on time and easy. It was overall what I expected for a hotel so moderately priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_loves_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Ugh...When our shuttle turned onto the property,I knew I had made a mistake reserving a room here.The picture of the hotel on this website makes it look appealing. The lobby smelled musty and appeared cluttered. As we walked down the hallway to our room,I noticed the carpet was soiled and stained. Upon opening the door to our room,the first thing I noticed was the carpet was worn with holes in it.The shower head did not produce a strong spray of water. Our room,though very outdated,was clean. We checked and did not find any evidence of bed bugs. Management needs to replace and update/remodel.Would I stay here again? Absolutely not.

Room Tip: Pay more and stay at a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BethanyG550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calumet, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Choice seems to have real issues with keeping their act together with their older hotels. This is a prime example, and it's quite clear why Sheraton pulled their branding from this facility and management. The room and furnishings look as though they were once nice, and probably cleaned back before Clarion took over, but it seems as though the carpet hasn't been swept and surfaces haven't been dusted since then. The bed was reasonably clean and comfortable, and the shower came equipped with someone else's blood on the outside (some of the towels had oddly reddish stains on them too). I would've expected this kind of quality from a $50 motel, not from a $110 one. Breakfast is not free and the wifi is slow. I would recommend passing over this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighTech_Redneck87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I am writing this on my phone because the Internet is down, just as it was a week ago when I stayed here. The location is convenient. The shuttle driver is nice. Breakfast was delish. On the other hand, dinner is just plain gross, there is no way to print your boarding pass because the Internet appears perpetually on the fritz, the restaurant at dinner can't get an order right and everyone on the evening shift appears perturbed. The TV has a very confusing interface, and overall I think you could do a lot better. This place sucks.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaucho v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed at the Clarion Hotel just south of Midway Airport and found that it clearly needs to be updated. The room Air Conditioner did not work at all! The restaurant has minimal service and the food has little taste, the rooms furniture was adequate but if you are flying into Midway you better take the hotel's phone number to call for shuttle pick up. The morning shuttle left every 30 minutes. I couldn't find a cab, the city bus blew me by and the only place within walking distance was an Applebee's. I decided to eat 1/2 mile north closer to Midway where there are 6 hotels next to each other and several places to eat. Stay at the Holiday Inn. It's worth paying more.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Sleep Inn Midway Airport
#4 of 5 in Bedford Park
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#137 of 190 in Chicago
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Midway Airport

Property: Quality Inn Midway Airport
Address: 7353 South Cicero Avenue, Chicago, IL 60629-5816 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Midway Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Southwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Midway Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Chicago Midway Airport
Four Points By Sheraton Chicago Midway Airport Hotel Chicago
Sheraton Chicago Midway Airport
Four Points Chicago
Chicago Sheraton
Chicago Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing