We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for events @ The United Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Ranked #132 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel for events @ The United Center”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here last night after the Eagles Concert at the United Center. Our check in was pleasant and fast, front desk personnel were polite & knowledgeable. The hotel offered a complimentary shuttle service to and from the United Center with a nine passenger van. The van runs every 10-15 minutes and took us directly to our destination. After the event the van brought us back to the hotel. We had planned on taking a cab to our venue which was about 1.1 miles from the hotel, what a pleasant surprise to be offered this amenity. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that may be in town for an event at The United Center or UIC Pavillion.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimnkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    110
    45
    20
    14
See reviews for
67
46
22
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed here for a night on a 2 day trip to Chicago. The hotel is located in a nice, leafy neighborhood of Chicago at the UIC. It is around 3 miles from the downtown- 10 mins or less in a cab!

Liked the rooms' interior, esp the bathrooms. The rooms are well sized and it is real value for money/points without being too far from the downtown. Overall, a good, solid property!

The front desk and the support staff are very supportive and always ready to help.

I enjoyed free internet and breakfast because of my status; however the breakfast spread wasn't anything to write home about. So does not make sense to pay up for that. Just my 2 cents!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpbindaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

For those who require wheelchair accessible rooms, you will find this Marriott a very good option. The bathroom size was excellent but the room was somewhat hard to manoeuvre as the furniture is quite bulky and did not provide much room for turnaround.

Also, this Marriott has a wheelchair accessible van (brand new) and will drive visitors within a 1-mile radius which includes UIC, Rush, John Stroger (Cook County) and to Little Italy and Greek town - they also pick up!

Restaurant food was excellent and very generous

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1941Hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Positive: Beds, rooms are clean

Negative: Pricey$$$$, Noisy, Rude front desk staff, hotel policies, parking $$35/day (ouch!), restaurant service SLOW!

I would never stay here again.. First off it is pricey and the only impressive point are the beds but you can hear everything in the hallways through the door. Don't plan on hanging out anywhere like the lobby with couches, chairs and tables or the outside porch, the hotel staff will run you off. Not only run you off but act like you are making their job difficult. We were told we could not eat in the lounge area or drink on the outside porch and we're half filling the hotel.

Stay elsewhere unless you want to throw your money around and get treated like riffraff.

Room Tip: Good luck, if you have the cash I heard the 4th floor cost much more with a few perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBuck420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIDM, Manager at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
JBuck420,

Thank you for being a recent guest of ours and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to hear of your satisfaction in regards to the cleanliness of our Hotel and the comfortableness of our beds. Our Housekeeping Team is one of the top-ranked in all of Marriott and we take great pride in that.

I am equally sorry to hear about the displeasure you voiced regarding your rate, parking prices, hotel policies, and staff encounters.

Your room rate, part of a contracted block of rooms, was 20% less than our standard weekend rate. Being a little less than 2 miles outside of Downtown, we generally try to price ourselves on the lower-side of the range, but we do have many special events in our Area, being that we are the closest hotel to both the United Center and Union Park, where many concerts and festivals are held. We also provide complimentary shuttle service to those locations, and all others within a 1 mile radius from our property.

Our parking prices, currently $39, are admittedly higher than many people are accustomed to paying. I can assure you that our rates, which include Valet Service and all taxes, are at least $15 less than most other hotels in the Downtown Area. Taxes for parking in Chicago are among the highest in the Nation, and we do our best to keep the cost as low as possible while being able to provide the service that comes with being a Full-Service Marriott Hotel.

And lastly, regarding our staff service and Hotel policies, while we very much do appreciate the business that you and the group you were with brought to our Hotel, I am sure you can understand why we are unfortunately unable to allow the consumption of food and beverage in our public spaces which is not purchased from any of our Outlets. It would be comparable to visiting your local restaurant, and bringing your own food from somewhere else to eat while in their establishment, or sitting on the patio of your favorite bar/pub, and bringing your own alcohol to consume while using their space. Not only is it unethical, but it raises certain legality issues regarding food and beverage services as defined by local ordinances. Guests of our Hotel, and any other Hotel for that matter, are always welcome to consume items purchased outside of the Hotel in their guest rooms, and we are always more than happy to supply any glassware, silverware, or condiments.

As you mentioned in your Room Tip, for those traveling during the week, our Concierge Level Rooms on the 4th floor provide more square footage, as well as full breakfast for 2 in the morning, and several hors d’œuvres in the evening, all for only $30 more per night.

If you wish to further discuss any of these matters, or for further clarification on any of the above, you are welcome to contact me directly, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again when your travels bring you back to Chicago.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Adam Nemirow
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here 5 nights in August as we explored Chicago for the first time. Of course we would have preferred a downtown hotel - but Priceline got us a great deal on a 3 1/2 star and we took a chance. The hotel is clean, well appointed and sports a very friendly staff. We skipped the very overpriced buffet breakfast for Lou Mitchell's and various downtown spots. It is not much of neighborhood for hanging out unless you have business here.

For visiting the Chicago highlights, it worked out great. The Blue line CTA is only a seven minute walk. The train is then a 10 minute ride to the loop. If you want to see anything other than a few blocks of the city, you have to learn the subway system. Very easy. We then walked the downtown and took various other lines to other parts of this incredible city. It was all very easy and the hotel cost us less than half of a far lesser hotel downtown.

Room Tip: We did not have a choice on Priceline, but the street is quite noisy if you like to sleep with the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Went to Chicago for an extended weekend roadtrip. Wanted something close to downtown, but a little quieter. The Marriott didn't disappoint. Updated, clean, quiet. The staff was awesome! The shuttle was convenient, and so many places were within walking distance. Little Italy is across the street, The El is just a few blocks away. Everything else was a cheap cab ride away. The parking is always horrible in Chicago, but they do Valet parking, and it was definitely worth the price. We will definitely use this Marriott when we return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madre23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Great location. Away from hustl n bustl of Busy City Life. Nearby places r pretty walkable n U can enjoy UIC campus n RUSH medical centre. 7/11 is availabl in 1/2 km n also nice restaurants. Overall ambience around hotel is great. There is a big shopping mall called TARGET where Hotel has a drop off npick up service. Railway terminus n river bank is within 2km n U can enjoy that ambience too. Hotel wise good with nice spacious room nice toilet n gym. Brfast spread is quite varied to make a good start for the day. Staffs r pretty helpful. Wifi is great. Metro is nearby n also bus service is very good. An Orthodox Church is within 5mins of walk. As a whole great xperienc.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deep90gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#117 of 189 in Chicago
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
West Loop
Corporate Suites Network at Presidential Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC

Property: Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Address: 625 S Ashland Ave, Chicago, IL 60607-3101
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located opposite Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center & University of Illinois-Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott At Medical District/Uic Hotel Chicago
Marriott Chicago Downtown Medical District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing