We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I feel like i was family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Ranked #130 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“I feel like i was family”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is really a great hotel. The rooms are lovely, the staff is everything. I stayed at the hotel for my moms surgery. They made sure I was ok. Very hospitable. Harris the shuttle driver. What an guy. He is ultra friendly. I love him. He reminds me of a valet teddy bear. Just full of love. He is accurate and speedy. Always with a smile.. Made me feel happy even when I was worried. The girls at the front desk are wonderful. They always welcome you back and smile. Terrance in the concierge lounge. WOW... He goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. Long talks and dinner with him made me feel comfortable. I really takes the time to get personal with you. Its not live no other concierge I've ever seen.. He don't just stand there.. He interacts with you.. I've told him many of times I can tell he is cut from a different cloth. Not everything from Detroit is bad. I felt like I was in my own living room. He is so lovely. This hotel has a staff that cannot be replaced. I will recommend the hotel to all my friends. If your having to go to Rush hospital... You should stay there.

Ps. The Chef... The Baked Chicken And Pork Chops are amazing. You are a true cook.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    110
    45
    20
    14
See reviews for
67
46
22
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I arrived at this hotel on 1/5/14 after driving in a winter storm. I was so glad to arrive safely that I hugged the valet! The bellman, valet and front desk were all so welcoming. My room was a good size with king bed, mini-refrig (which is appreciated since I was there for a week), laptop safe, and nice bathroom accommodations.
I had room service two nights - the food was good and the servers pleasant. I ate in the restaurant one evening - very friendly staff and again the food was good.
One of the best things about this hotel is the shuttle service. I used the shuttle to and from my office. This was so handy when the weather was -45 degrees and snowy! The shuttle drivers were friendly. During the drives home, I enjoyed talking with Karris...so friendly and personable. I would highly recommend this hotel - the staff alone make your stay more enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brujill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I had tickets to see Beyoncé at the United Center, and decided to book a room here instead of trying to drive back home to the burbs. So glad that I did. 1. The hotel is a little over 1 mile from the United Center 2. It snowed like crazy that night. No way did I want to be out driving in that weather. The hotel has a free shuttle that will take you anywhere within a 1 mile radius. It stops at 10:30 p.m.; but there were so many people at the hotel going to the concert, that they made special accommodations for all guests to get there and back (even though the concert didn't end until after 11 p.m.). My only negative comment is that I find the $39 valet parking fee kind of high (considering the hotel is not in downtown Chicago). Thankfully, I was able to get a hotel rate that included the valet parking for a reduced amt. As far as the hotel itself goes, staff was very friend and helpful, and the rooms were very nice and clean. My fiancé is in love with the Marriott's bedding, so I darned near had to drag him out the room so we could check out. Lol! When he found out the linen Marriott uses is available for purchase, he had the nerve to put it on his "Christmas list." Smh!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feliciah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
334 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

For the second time in three months I booked a Marriott despite unfavorable Tripadvisor reviews and found the reviews to be wrong. This hotel had fantastic staff, a very good restaurant and room service, and the perfect location. Nice size rooms and bathroom. Good fitness area and a safe walking area. I walked all over the area day and night and felt safe. Taylor Street has great restaurants, it is Little Italy. I never had to use a cab as I walked to UIC and dinner. So, I saved a lot on cab fares and maybe that helped offset the expense. The room rates are high, above $325 for two nights and $265 for two nights. Also, in contrast to other reviewers, Gold and higher get free internet, free breakfast. Shuttle is free for one mile. Internet is weak on end rooms. Again, expensive but sometimes rates are lower. If you need to be in this area and can afford it, stay here and you will not be disappointed. If the expense bothers you, find another place, cab everywhere you need to go and see how you feel. I liked this place and will be returning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sometrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked this hotel since it was close to the United Center. We came in town to watch a Chicago Blackhawks game to celebrate my husbands birthday. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff there is top notch, everyone was very helpful and always had a smile for you and very helpful. Gave us recommendations for places to go as well as restaurants in the area which they likes. It was great to find out that the shuttle driver (Karris) had gone to the same Community College that our son attended, we enjoyed listening to his stories about Minnesota while he took us to our destination. We had a enjoyable visit. Room was very nice and clean. Had a nice time in the bar talking with the bartender and wait staff our first night. Even the buffet breakfast was good. Lots of choices, more than some hotels we have stayed at. Only problem we had was getting the shuttle to come back we ended up taking a cab and found out that the power had gone out in the area and knocked out the phone lines - which explained the weird messages on our phone when trying to call.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street, which was fine, we really didn't hear any noise considering there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen6550Oakdale_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I truly like this hotel. They were always friendly and everyone had a smile on there face. There are two people at this hotel that stands out to me. Raymond & Terrance. Both gentleman are excellent. The build relationships with the guest, They make you feel warm and welcome. Terrance knows the company very well. He told me he use to be a Front Desk agent. He needs to be on the front line. Guest would appericate him when they are checking into the hotel. The rooms were clean and nice. The lobby was always clean and clear. If you get access to lounge. Its a wonderful experience.

Christina has a wonderful personality and smile. She is also another key person at the hotel.
I would defentily recommend this hotel to all my co-workers and friends. You guys rock!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, Utah
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

As a platinum Marriott Guest I didn't lack for any of the expected perks like free internet, access to the Concierge lounge, full breakfast, etc. But I did notice the room seemed a bit downgraded to what one might expect in a Courtyard or Fairfield Inn.

Yet the bed was certainly comfortable and the staff super friendly. Say "hey" to Big Karris, the bellman and van driver. He was always friendly and talkative in a helpful and friendly way.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#117 of 189 in Chicago
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
West Loop
Corporate Suites Network at Presidential Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC

Property: Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Address: 625 S Ashland Ave, Chicago, IL 60607-3101
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located opposite Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center & University of Illinois-Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott At Medical District/Uic Hotel Chicago
Marriott Chicago Downtown Medical District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing