We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice and accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Ranked #130 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So nice and accommodating”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here on a Sunday night, before my appointment at Rush orthopedic across the street on Monday. The staff was so responsive to every request. I asked for a quiet room and got a room on a floor with small children running up and down the hall. I called down to the desk and they brought up keys to a room on a different floor. I went down to get a snack at the bar even as they were closing, they served me. I asked for only one slider and they said sure, even though the usual order is for 3. Everyone was so nice here and it really makes a difference to have that kind of service. If you are a Marriott rewards member, you can get fee internet and a free glass of wine. The best place to stay if you are coming to Rush for medical treatment. They even knew the doctor I was coming to see and reassured me about how great he was. Very comfortable here.

Room Tip: Room 430 is in the corner overlooking a the parking lot and a green space. Very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: I really do not know about that. Unfortunately trip advisor insists that I answer this question with at least 50 characters.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docgresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    109
    45
    20
    14
See reviews for
67
46
22
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel almost try to cheat us when they said they did not have our room and want us to move to other hotel ( which they said closer to magnificent miles ) as we do not have much time in chicago we simply decline their offer we just ask the room that they have. I think I made the right decision , the room itself is clean and pretty good

Location wise is ok , just take the train to take you to magnificent mile area and strolling chicago from there

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
270 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel while on business. It was convenient to UIC and to the "L" back to the airport. It was comfortable, the air conditioning was not loud. It was very clean. The staff was nice. The lounge area seemed a little outdated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Rooms were were very noisy. They lost outer reservation for the second night and the only way spew could stay was paying an additional $50 for the next night. They said that there was offsite parking for $13.50 but there was only valet paking for $39. The room was do noisy (street noise), the front desk was apathetic they offered me a free drink. Seriously. I don't drink. Never satay here!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly? What a joke! This is the only hotel that I have stayed at that doesn't offer an environmental program.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My hubby and I stayed here for a few days after "winning" with priceline. All of the staff members were very friendly and helpful. The shuttle covers a mile radius, which doesn't reach the museums but is sufficient for a dinner trip to Giordano's or elsewhere (the driver had great suggestions!). Plan to spend the $40/day to park if you're driving to town, but know that pretty much every place you'll visit will cost at least another $20 to park while you're there. The mixture of bed pillows wasn't very comfortable, but we asked the front desk for some extra smaller (fluffier) pillows and they provided several, which definitely improved the quality of sleep. The doors seem to slam rather loudly, so be aware that if you're not a sound sleeper you may be woken up several times through the night and have a hard time sleeping late in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel three times in the recent past and it is always a clean and friendly place, with attentive staff who attend to all your needs and are very accommodating. This time I even received an upgrade.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nyneuropsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
184 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel was comfortable, and for the most part clean (common areas could use more attention to detail, stain in elevator remained for a day.) I was pleased with the service as well. The phones in my room did not work. Not a big issue since I only use hotel phones to contact hotel guests or front desk. But when the front desk was notified, very late Friday night, Brenda apologized profusely and offered coupons for the breakfast buffet. The hotel restaurant is convenient and has good food.

Room Tip: Being Chicago, parking is ridiculous, so getting a room package with valet parking included is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JollyTravelerDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#118 of 189 in Chicago
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
West Loop
Corporate Suites Network at Presidential Towers
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#135 of 189 in Chicago
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC

Property: Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Address: 625 S Ashland Ave, Chicago, IL 60607-3101
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located opposite Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center & University of Illinois-Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott At Medical District/Uic Hotel Chicago
Marriott Chicago Downtown Medical District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing