We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient & Chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #83 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient & Chic”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were in town for Lollapalooza (which was absolute ridiculousness) so very little time was going to be spent at the hotel anyway. However, this hotel was not only close to Grant Park, but it was amazing. Don't get me wrong, it was no 5 star hotel but it did more than meet the purposes of our trip. I booked the room through a 3rd party company so the price was fairly decent. The bar inside the hotel was upper echelon (I recommend you pay a visit, kind of pricey) and when you sit at the bar you look out through one giant window view of the city. Like I said, for the purposes of our trip I was satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay during Lollapalooza and that our hotel location near Grant Park suited your trip downtown Chicago. Thank you kindly for taking the time to give your feedback on TripAdvisor. We hope that we can welcome you back for Lollapalooza 2013. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,337
    2,453
    979
    367
    204
See reviews for
962
1,346
315
2,680
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Arrived August 2nd for what I knew would be a busy weeekend in Chicago, Lollapalooza. So I prepared to be patient. Before leaving for the airport that morning I recieve an email from Hyatt for web check-in. I decided to give this a try, since it as what time I would be arriving I thought it might cut down on the crowds of check-in. I arrived at the hotel around 2:15pm, stating on web check-in I would be there around 2:00pm. When I entered the hotel I was told the check in was on the second floor, once I arrived there a gentleman saw that I had my computer print out with my bar code for check in and ushered me to a kiosk where all I had to do was scan the bar code and within 5 minutes I was checked in and the kiosk was printing my room keys. If you have the opportunity to do the web check-in do it! The line to conventional check in was long, I was in my room before some of them probably even moved in line.

This hotel is huge but it is easy to navigate and someone is alway there to guide you in the right direction. My room was in the main hotel on the 4th floor. Wow! What a room, it was much bigger then I had expected and was very clean. We had two queen beds, a nice seating area and a large flat screen tv. The bathroom was huge and very clearn, it had a very spacious walk in shower and a nice large mirror. There was a large closet and a desk. The room was clean and the cleaning staff did a wonderful job daily of coming into the room and cleaning and replacing towels, making beds.

The area of this hotel is ideal for seeing the sites of Chicago, it is walking distance to some beautiful areas. Because I was attending the festival for the weekend I didn't get to a lot of tourist things, but I have been to Chicago before and if you get a chance take a boat tour of the river and lake. Chicago is truely a beautiful city!

I did not eat at the hotel, there is a market around the corner called Bockwinkel's. It is a great little grocery store that you can grab water, food, ice, etc. They have a deli counter that make fresh sandwiches, a salad bar and premade items also. We went there to get a styrofoam cooler, ice, and water. The Hyatt doesn't provide a small cooler, unless requested for a daily fee, so this ended up working out better. The store has very reasonable prices and I ended up grabing lunch there. I did grab a coffee one morning in the lobby of the hotel, it has a little counter with bagel, coffee and some other items to grab on the go but I found the coffee to be a bit expensive.

This hotel is huge and busy, there was also a conference there that weekend but I had not issues with crowds. There are plenty of elevators and again web check-in is the way to go. I have and would stay here again when I return to Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that our location near Lollapalooza downtown Chicago and our guestrooms suited your stay so well. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel again soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I go out of my way to stay at Hyatts and HRC did not disapoint. Staff was polite, professional and friendly. They were very accommodating to us for our early arrival and our room was cleaned to the T every night.

I loved the views of the river from the West Tower. Regency Club staff was friendly and often fun.

Only thing I would change is to have the AC running a bit more during the day in RC to keep humidity down during rainy days.

We will go back!

Room Tip: West tower has seperate entrance which is easier getting in/out. Also West tower is where the Regen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you so very much for your loyalty to Hyatt and for taking the time to share your experience with us downtown Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to see that you found our hotel staff to be so polite, professional and friendly. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I arrived about 1AM and was greeted by Jason Jones at the front desk. Jason immediately helped locate my Gold Passport information in the system and happily added the details to my two night reservation. Jason went on to offer me two room options, explaining the benefits of both in complete detail. Very pleased with my suite on the 25th floor with fantastic views. Thank you Jason!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
It is so lovely to hear that Jason was able to be of such great assistance during your stay. I will share your comments with his supervisor for much internal praise. Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to welcome you as Gold Passport member and look forward to your return. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I was unpleasantly surprised by this hotel. I expected the usual elegance and friendly staff of the Hyatt's I am used to, but was greeted with a rude concierge with attitude. I was also disappointed with the dirty glasses outside my room and the dust, dirt and nasty kleenex visible behind the desk. It wasn't worth the money and may have to consider the Hyatt brand in the future. Also the parking was $52 extra!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMacD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Daly_151, Resident Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us earlier this month. Please accept our sincere apologies for the downfalls you mentioned in your review. If you would be so kind to contact us directly, we would greatly appreciate the chance to resolve the issues and invite you back for another, different, and most enjoyable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Chicago this past weekend for a family function. The room was spacious and clean, and our view on to the Chicago River was lovely. We ate dinner in one of the ballrooms one evening, and the food was OK but not exceptional. The location was ideal, as it is in the heart of downtown Chicago.

We had a problem with our safe (apparently it needed new batteries) and had to call three times until it was resolved. The people in the room next door were talking in loud voices one night, but we did not know that we should have called Security to get it resolve.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpr244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Chicago for your family function and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to see you were able to enjoy a view of the Chicago River from the comfort of your own hotel room and that our downtown Chicago location suited your stay so well. My apologies about the issue you encountered with your safe, but I am glad we were able to resolve the issues. In regards to the neighboring noise, upon your return I would be happy to personally help you find a room that would better suit your needs. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

stayed at Hyatt on east wacker recently and had a great stay. Great hotel bar and very central location. Great view overlooking the river and Navy Pier. People were very nice to deal with. I have stayed in this hotel about four times and each time was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregkentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you found Hyatt Regency Chicago to be such a great hotel bar and so centrally located. It's lovely to see that you were able to enjoy a view of the Chicago River and Navy Pier from the comfort of your hotel room. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#61 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#66 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#50 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing