We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here - in the middle of the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #88 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I booked this hotel, simply because I was going to Lollapalooza and hotel options were running out quickly. I asked for a room with a view, and got a corner room on the west tower. Fantastic view of the river. The room was excellent and so was the service. I got free breakfast that was fantastic as well. Never stayed at a Hyatt before, but from now on will try to stay in Hyatt when I can. Only suggestion would be for a pool or hot tub, but that was not a big deal to me. The only negative would be the elevators could get really busy and slow in the morning and afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m14monroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago! It sounds like you really enjoyed your time here for Lollapaooza and it's great to hear you received excellent service from our staff. We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to the Windy City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,005 - 4,011 of 7,182 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel was amazing from start to finish. My boyfriend and I picked this hotel because of the location and it was a great choice. We were there for the white sox yankees game but decided to add a few days to explore. Was expensive but was worth every penny. Not sure how we got a room on a private floor but it was during Lollapoolza weekend and we were there to relax and if that's how we got up there then I thank them ever so much because that weekend we were never once disturbed. The best sleep we have ever gotten and really wanted to take the bed home. Black out curtains were amazing as well as the view. All customer service was great and it surprises me to see they've gotten bad reviews because we never once encountered anything less than helpful and great. Were iffy about the valet parking situation but we never planned to take the car out, we used our feet and cabs, so it was never an issue. One of the main reasons we would like to return to chicago soon is because of your hotel. Might be tad bit expensive, but very much worth it.

Room Tip: the king size beds are glorious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmredd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thnk you for your great review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on Tripadvisor! I'm glad you enjoyed your recent stay at our downtown Chicago hotel during Lollapalooza and were able go to the Chicago White Sox game. It sounds like you had a blast. We hope you're able to come back to visit us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel in a perfect location. Got a great price on Priceline and was very satisfied. Everyone was very helpful, hotel was immaculate and rooms were up to date and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwp2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our downtown Chicago hotel location to be great and our hotel to be immaculate. We hope to host you again here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights and hotel looked very high end. The staff were accommodating and the rooms were very clean. The locations was amazinggg because it was a the center of everything. There were alot of nearby shops and restaurants all around. It is a 3 block away from millennium park, and Art Institute of Chicago.

The location wasn't too far from the train station and buses as well. I would stay at the hotel again if i ever went back to chicago

Room Tip: Ask them for a higher floor, some staffs are pretty accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aMa8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay at our downtown Chicago hotel and found our location to be ideal for exploring the city. We hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

You'd have to be a real Scrooge to complain much about this hotel. Yes it's big and it caters to conventions etc. However we experienced some unexpected personal touches.

First off, Meghan at the front desk graciously found us a beautiful 33rd floor room overlooking the river so that our kids could experience Chicago for their first time. Thanks!

Secondly, we were delighted to find that someone had brought up a small refrigerator to our room a few days into our stay (we had some wine and beer bottles chilling on ice in the ice bucket). We never asked for this at all and it was quite a surprise considering that they were helping us stock our own food/bev that we were NOT purchasing on site. Huge points for that!

Lastly, everyone (and I mean everyone) was so friendly and gracious. Oh, and the beds and the linens and the pillows were to die for. We slept so well.

We have a very good impression of the Hyatt properties after this stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tashi_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your great feedback for Hyatt regency Chicago! We love to hear that our staff made such an impact on your experience! I'll be sure to pass along your kind words to Meghan and the rest of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were able to check in early which was a plus. Our room had stained carpet, no view, and a squeaky bed. The location was really good. We walked to oak street beach, Shaw's, Lou malnatai's, Navy Pier and the el at State. If you are driving and want to save some money, park at the millennium garage on Columbus. It is half the price and about a 3 block walk. Stay in the right lane as you pull in the garage. Go to the Randolph parking area. Go up the escalator and stairs. You should be on Randolph street. The hotel is about 3 blocks to the left and in front of you. The hotel does not have a pool. We noticed the Radisson out our window had a pool and walking track.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bootboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your review! I'm happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found our location to be great. We hope to have you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The best part about this hotel is the location. I looked at a lot of hotels before booking this one and for the price, the location is great. The hotel was centrally located to all of the attractions we visited. It is within walking distance to Millennium Park, the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and we even walked to Willis Tower. Our 2 queen room was the perfect size for our family with 2 small children but wasn't anything fancy. One thing that bothered me about the room was that we booked it for 2 adults and 2 children and only had 3 bath towels in our room throughout our stay. The hotel is very large but we found the staff to be friendly. We stayed in the West tower and didn't experience any of the elevator wait time issues mentioned in some of the other reviews. My only regret was paying for valet parking when there were two public parking ramps very close to the hotel. Overall we had a great experience at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TABAM02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor! I'm thrilled to hear you found our downtown Chicago hotel to be centrally located and within walking distance to Millennium Park, Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Willis Tower. We look forward to your next stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#106 of 191 in Chicago
5,417 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,032 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £96 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Chicago, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing