We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #86 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is at great location. Very close to Michigan Avenue, basically just cross the road and walk for less than 5 minutes. It's also in the walking distance to Millennium Park. The room is quite big. It's also close to the subway stations. Ideal location to explore the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were convenient to downtown Chicago’s attractions for you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,341
    2,459
    984
    369
    205
See reviews for
963
1,348
315
2,695
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Hyatt Regency Chicago is located just one block off Michigan Ave. (The Magnificent Mile). The rooms at this Hyatt property have been recently renovated and are very modern and comfortable. Door locks are opened simply by swiping your key card in front of a proximity sensor. A button adjacent to the door in the hallway turns on a night light inside the room so you are not walking into a dark room. Each room has a flat screen television, desk lamp, floor lamp and another lamp between the two beds. A charging station is conveniently located next to the desk to plug in and charge several devices at once. Rooms also have a hairdryer, iron and ironing board and a safe hidden inside the closet. A mini bar refrigerator and snacks are also in the room and available for a fee. Beds were moderately firm and quite comfortable. The hotel includes a steakhouse, a lobby restaurant and another bar in the second tower. The atrium also has a large second floor open air bar appropriately named "The Big Bar". The property itself is split into two towers separated across a side street and connected by a skywalk on the second floor. The skywalk, as with the main lobby, has several tables and chairs and free standing charging stations with electrical and USB ports to charge electronics, free of charge. The staff is very professional and helpful. Overall, I would rate this property Very Good. The only thing preventing an excellent rating is the price. The standard room rate (standard room, two queen size beds) is $179 a night. We stayed over a Saturday night and the rate jumped to $239. While weekend rate hikes are not unusual for any property, once all of the taxes and fees were included the total cost for one Saturday night stay went up to $301. I would consider staying at this hotel again during a midweek stay.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are all the same. Upgraded rooms with a city view or river view are available for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtrjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
224 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived early by train so room wasn't ready but we were able to check our bags in which is a great convenience when you are walking around the city. Tiffany at front desk was great. Room was nice with a great view. Very open, large lobby with a good bar. Will be back soon and will stay here again. Great location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My room was a corner unit on the 26th floor of the east tower and it was clean with a nice view. I found the bar and the restaurant a little on the pricy side (Martini $16) but the Marketplace store was an excellent place to grab coffee and a light snack. Our rooms were priced about $50 lower than any other hotel in the area, but this could have been due to the conference that I was attending. Overall the location was fabulous, the hotel clean and the staff friendly, since I only sleep and shower in the room I was not aware that they did not offer pay per view or ondemand movies until reading other reviews. I will definitely look at staying here again the next time I take a trip to Chicago, the hotel is about 2 miles from the train station and a great location for walking just about anywhere.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room in the East Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atir77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a typical business hotel. The hotel is huge like some of the Vegas properties. The location is great - right in the middle of everything in downtown Chicago. The service from the hotel staff (check-in, restaurant, room service, housekeeping) was great. My room was in the west tower, it had everything expected but felt like decades old. The room did not have much character and it badly needs a renovation. I would have rated the hotel as "average" if it did not have such excellent location and service.

Note to hotel management: The work chair in the room needs to be height adjustable. I don't think that I have seen a work chair in any business hotel that I cannot adjust for height. Pl do take care of it when you upgrade the furniture the next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
190 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Over the past 20 years I have stayed here several times including most recently in April 2014. The hotel is consistently excellent in most ways: it is clean, service is great, and the location is in the heart of Chicago's Michigan Avenue & Wacker Drive juncture. There are also several very good restaurants on the property and it is a superb location for a large conference since it is capable of handling conventions of several thousand. My only complaint is that there isn't free wi-fi, I always have to pay for it even though the costs are already fairly steep, although business travelers know that Chicago is not a cheap city. Still, I recommend it as a very safe and comfortable place to stay in one of America's premier cities.

Room Tip: higher rooms have great views of the city
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel encourages guests not to waste water by needlessly laundering sheets every night.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJS1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This best thing about this hotel is that it is in a great location. It is huge and therefore suffers a little from feeling like a massive shopping mall, however the rooms are quiet and comfortable and the service is good. I find it unbelievable that there isn't free wifi throughout the hotel, particularly as the hotel is marketed as "business friendly".

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top floors - the views are great and you won't hear the street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 001Anna001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#60 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,461 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing