We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room, excellent and friendly staff, beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #81 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
230 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Clean room, excellent and friendly staff, beautiful location”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We attended a national conference and had no say in the hotel booking, but found this to be a pleasant option for our group. The suite we were booked in was perfect for our business and personal purposes, and we enjoyed the morning breakfast as a part of the package. Only complaint - really, really slow elevators in the west tower. Seriously slow. There is plenty of city noise outside, but of course, we were in Chicago. The staff were all very accommodating, and the group sales people went above and beyond to meet the diverse needs of our traveling group.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishLady8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We’re glad you enjoyed our hotel and found our associates accommodating. We hope your conference was a success as well and we look forward to welcoming your back to our property in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,275
    2,408
    963
    351
    195
See reviews for
953
1,320
313
2,575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iuka, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were staying here for a Conference's. The room was nice and clean the staff was very nice. Now my main complaint would have to be the internet service! It was extremely horrible! But don't worry you can purchase(said with a big eye roll)! The other is their is not a mini refrigerator available in the room for your use, If you wish to use one their is a $25.00 charge. =( But as far as convenience, cleanliness and politeness it was great.

Room Tip: The room that we stayed in was across from the Fire station, and truly not too bad. Yes we could hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDJennnings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time your conference brings you to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Great Hotel, Great Location, and staff was great! Lobby bar is great for a quick drink at night and near by stores and fast food great for morning breakfast! One of the best hotels I have stayed in Chicago.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Hyatt Regency Chicago. We’re glad you enjoyed our hotel and our downtown Chicago location. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I was very impressed with this hotel. The staff were very polite & courteous . We stayed in a Superior room with a view of the river & the Millennium Mile!! Great location , short walk to all the shops & river boat cruises & close to Millennium Park, the room was luxurious & extremely clean. We had a great experience . Will definitely stay at this hotel again. We dined at the hotel which was another great experience. Thank you.

Room Tip: Higher floor are less noisy . We had a room on the 30 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of Hyatt Regency Chicago. . It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be pleasant. We’ll be sure to let them know your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Started our two week tour here. Arrived from airport by metro (very easy). Greeted by a very friendly receptionist who upgraded us to a room with a view of the Chicago river and complementary wifi for our first 24hrs.

The room was wonderfully spacious and the beds very comfortable. Was spotlessly clean throughout the hotel. We didn't use much of the facilities as we were out exploring Chicago for our three days. We had a couple of drinks in the bar again very friendly staff. On our departure it was raining so the doorman hailed us a cab to the metro stop.

A wonderful hotel and a wonderful start to our holiday. Thank you Hyatt Regency I sure will look you up next time we visit Chicago.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debs-in-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of Hyatt Regency Chicago. . It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be pleasant. We’ll be sure to let them know your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I just completed our stay for a conference, and I was really impressed. Hard to beat the location right on the river, end of the Mag Mile, close to Millenium Park and so central and convenient.. Quick and easy check in, comfortable refurbished room on the 7th floor. Hallways have obviously not yet been refurbished, but the room was modern and nicely furnished. Room was clean, bed comfortable, but not so much with the pillows. These rooms seem furnished for an individual business traveler and do not offer much drawer space for a couple staying more than a few days. Small nightstands with tiny drawers and only 2 small dresser drawers. On the other hand, amenities were great. Nice bathrobe (only 1), spa-like bath products, even provided toothpaste and nail polish remover wipes. Great lighting for the ladies, and a great hairdryer, but little counter space in the bathroom. Would have liked a refrigerator rather than a mini bar, which we heard from many other guests as well. The rooms do have a safe, but not large enough for a laptop. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Elevators can be very slow sometimes, but staff tries to help and even escorted us to the freight elevator during a particularly bad time. We did not eat at any of the restaurants, but heard good comments from friends that did. Both bars were fun, with excellent selection and service. My husband left the power cord from his computer in the room, and by the time we returned home we received an email from the hotel with an offer to send it home to us. We would certainly not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago. We’re happy you were impressed with our hotel and its location. We can’t wait for you to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a good hotel, at a very good location near to Michigan Ave. I am not giving it a 5 star rating for the following reasons.

I arrived timely at around 4pm, was cordially received by one of their customer service members who proceeded to check me in. Upon arriving to my room I noticed that it was a double bed, even though my reservation stated very clearly "King size bed." I returned to the front desk and ask about my room, and was simply told "I am sorry sir, but room sizes are no guaranteed, the hotel is sold out due to a conference, so you may come back tomorrow or the day after to check again."

I was somewhat disappointed that I had pay for a king size room and didn't get it, so never went back to the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you liked our downtown Chicago location. We do try and accommodate every guests room request, however we cannot guarantee a room type and apologize we were unable to accommodate your request during your recent stay with us. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again when you’re in the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#60 of 187 in Chicago
3,825 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 187 in Chicago
4,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4,376 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
#106 of 187 in Chicago
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing