We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #88 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No complaints!”
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Good location, clean, friendly and helpful staff.
When my boyfriend and I first arrived at the hotel, the size of the hotel lobby and the crowds seemed a bit overwhelming. However, we quickly figured out where we needed to go, checked in using the automatic machines (you can check in with staff also) and were in our room within minutes. We booked on priceline and managed to get $65 a night for our room! We got no special views from our standard room, and the room lacked wi-fi, but we thought it was a fantastic deal given the location and reputation of the Hyatt.

p.s. if you stay at this hotel, you can park at the Millenium Park garage for $14 per 12 hour period (MUCH cheaper than what the Hyatt charges)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,469
    2,527
    1,020
    383
    209
See reviews for
1,017
1,385
319
2,821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

I stayed at this hotel because it was the host hotel for my meeting. This hotel is very large with the usual chic Hyatt look. I arrived mid-morning and was pleased to have a room ready for me before regular check-in time. There are many floors of the hotel, so it can take a while to get to your floor because of other people's stops on the elevator. The inside of the room was pretty spacious and sleekly decorated. The desk space was very nice, and the tv was larger than usual.

This hotel is very conducive to fitness. There are lots of walkable places blocks away from the hotel, but the gym is awesome with built-in tv screens on the cardio equipment. Perhaps the best thing, though, is the Lakeshore Path that's just a few blocks away from the hotel. There are 18 miles of beautiful scenery, and you can get a very detailed map from the concierge with directions to get to the path.

As others have said, you have to pay for internet access here, which is a huge hassle, but there are stations where you can print your boarding pass, which is helpful. The line to speak to someone at the concierge desk can get long, but they are pretty knowledgeable about stuff. I used a kiosk in the lobby to checkout, but the kiosk computers were rather slow, so I don't think it was necessarily faster than checking out with the lobby staff.

Aside from the internet issue, I was very pleased with the quality of this hotel and would stay here again for another conference.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank interviewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We stayed on the 'Regency Level" of this hotel and I would NEVER stay at this location again. It was dirty and dangerous. After checking into the hotel, we proceed to our room on the 34 floor via their elevators. While trying to get on the #4 elevator the doors started to close on my young child. The doors DID NOT retract and the right door went over my child's croc shoe leaving him stuck!! My husband had to push on the doors to prevent them from closing on my son! I can't even imagine what would have happened to my child if my husband had not been there as well b/c the other hotel guest present just kept on walking by. I immediately notified the front desk. They sent a manager and a security person to our room to take a statement. They offered an apology. They did not close the elevator or take other precautions from what I observed. Later that day, they did close another elevator in the same tower because the doors were stuck. Elevator issues are obviously an ongoing issue for this hotel.
Now to describe the room, DUSTY and DIRTY. There was so much dust in the room that it was starting to fall over the top of objects that had never been dusted. The bathroom had splatters of stuff on the walls and the mechanisms on the tub were falling off. The decor of the room was very odd. Over each bed were 2 large metal crane like lights that reminded me of something that would be in a doctor's examining room. The chairs were well worn. In the lobby, the chairs and sofas were torn.
I would not stay here again. It is not child friendly. The lobby is loud; televsions, music, open dining, etc. Just too much.
There are a lot of great hotels in Chicago. However, this is NOT one of them!!!

Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mytwobuckaroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Hyatt Regency Chicago (151 East Wacker Drive)

The Hyatt Regency is a 4 star hotel ideally located for tourists on the Chicago River between the Loop and the Magnificent Mile (north Michigan Avenue). It is within a few blocks of the elevated trains serving ORD and MDW, and is one block from several CTA bus stops. (The CTA transit passes and route map are great for tourists, and even include airport trains).

The rooms are nicely decorated and the bedding is top quality. The bathroom is efficient. Even numbers above 16 in the west tower should give you a nice view of the river.

What makes this hotel outstanding is the staff -- the best trained I have encountered anywhere, even better than at most 5 star hotels. First impressions are important, and the staff makes sure that one feels welcome from the moment one arrives.

Granted the check-in may be scripted, but it is so pleasant that four weeks and two international trips later, I still remember the names of our receptionists (I booked several rooms as a gift for my wife and her girlfriends for a five day shopping and sightseeing trip, and our check-in was flawless).

There are only two caveats when staying at this hotel:

First, the climate control may be a problem. Most of our rooms were comfortable, but mine (on a separate floor) was quite chilly. When turned up, my thermostat made noise but no heat. Bring an indoor sweater or jacket in cool seasons.

Second, the hotel’s surcharges are unnecessarily high. For example, including taxes, parking is $50 per night (double the city parking rate at the nearby Randolph Street Millennium Park underground garage, and some guests even park at the airports or in the suburbs and take the train into the city); there is a $25 per night fee if you put any personal items in the mini-fridge; and internet usage is $15 per day extra.

To me these rates seem hostile, and undo much of the good will the staff creates. However, any savvy traveler can avoid them. For example, Bockwinkel’s grocery is only half a block south of the hotel (on the street between the hotel’s two towers). There one can purchase an entire hot rotisserie chicken, a baguette, fresh fruit, and a bottle of basic wine for less than the Hyatt charges for two glasses of its ordinary house wine ($10 each).

Perhaps the best part of our stay was the price. Because the hotel has a huge inventory of rooms, we were able to obtain a rate of $60 per room per night (plus taxes and fees) through bidding on Priceline. That rate makes this Chicago’s best hotel deal ever.

Enjoy the Hyatt Regency Chicago, but watch out for those surcharges.

Happy and safe travel!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank efsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Our quick one-night stay at the Hyatt Regency in Chicago's loop was perhaps one of the best hotel experiences that I've had for leisure.

My boyfriend and I checked in late in the evening, around 10:30PM and learned that a special room had been reserved for us. (Recently, I received Platinum membership status in their Gold Passport rewards program). The manager came out to personally greet us and shook my hand. They had satisfied my request of getting a Regency Club room on a high floor, near an elevator. Better yet, the view was FANTASTIC. I believe it to be the best view this hotel would have of the river and Michigan Lake.

The room itself was spacious and clean. The layout was also unique in the sense that the bed was in the middle of the room and the "office" desk space was behind it. It felt modern, but homey. I also happen to very much appreciate the Bose iPod desk player / clock as I like to plug in my music wherever I travel. The king-sized bed was a bit too comfortable- it was difficult for us to leave it.

Since we had a Regency Club room, it came with a complimentary breakfast (among other beverages/snacks throughout the day). After relaxing a bit with fresh fruit and pastries, we asked the club concierge about where to buy men's shoes. The gentleman was very helpful and provided a thoughtful recommendation, which saved us a LOT of time. Later, the concierge at the front desk also was helpful in recommending a good barber shop for my boyfriend as well.

Lastly, they also had the most delicious Grilled Cheese sandwich in their late night room service menu. :-)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inahalfshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badmaru
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I had read some mixed reviews about this hotel on TripAdvisor, so I was concerned about the hotel room itself, however, I wasn't too disappointed. I was more disappointed in the LACK of service the front desk had. There are automated check in kiosks, which is a nice touch. These kiosks should not, however, replace humans, especially if a guest has questions. For a 4-star hotel, I really expected better customer service. I have had better service from a Holiday Inn Express. I guess that's what happens when you book a hotel from priceline. (However, I've had great service with some of the other hotels I've booked through priceline.)

In any case, there are 2 towers to this hotel. The main check-in area is on the 2nd floor in the East tower. When you first enter the lobby area in the East tower, there's an area with nice couches and behind that is a nice water fountain theme. The 2nd floor has the bell desk, check-in, and concierge. If you have a room in the West Tower, there's a bridge to the right of the check in area.

On the first floor of the East tower, there's a gift shop and a coffee/express shop for coffee, breakfast food, and snacks. If you want to pay less for water or what not, there's a grocery store behind the hotel. You go out the doors next to the cyber cafe diagonal from J's Express and take a left. It's a quick walk.

There are multiple restaurants and bars within the hotel, so getting food is not difficult. I can't comment on the food since I didn't go to any of the restaurants. There are a lot of good restaurants in Chicago, so I say venture out. Ou Sy Sushi is a good place not too far.

The room itself was okay. The hotel does a pretty accurate description and other travelers have taken many pictures, so I didn't do that. There's a fridge in the room, but you can't remove any of the items. The hotel will charge you if you move the items off their sensors in the fridge.

Their bath products are made by Portico Spa. The soap is very drying. The shampoo and conditioner are okay.

The location of the hotel isn't bad. It's in between the Museum Campus and the major shops on the Magnificent Mile. If you want to head up to say Water Tower, you walk towards Michigan Ave and Wacker Drive and take the 151 bus north and it will take you to the shopping areas.

If you can stay at this hotel for a really cheap price, then I would say it's not too bad as long as you are okay with having very little help from the front desk. The rest of the staff I have encountered were great!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank badmaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Excellent hotel, great staff, clean rooms, very polite and efficient front desk and bell team i was very impressed....will be back again and will tell all my friends

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darwaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,614 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#63 of 190 in Chicago
4,077 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#73 of 190 in Chicago
4,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing