We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soulless, busy hotel, just about accceptable - in 1979”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #83 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Soulless, busy hotel, just about accceptable - in 1979”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Here for a conference, work paying the bill. Yet another soulless, frayed large American city-centre hotel. Rooms comfortable enough but all the usual problems, namely long queues at front desk, charming but often clueless staff, and an annoying, sprawling layout which means that if you forget something in your room popping back to get it is a major chore. The gym, a miserable affair, is so far from the rooms it might as well be in another state, and one lunchtime it took half an hour to get a table for food (even though there were plenty of free ones available). That said, the location is pretty good, Stetson's Restaurant is actually pretty good and room rates are quite reasonable. But no one here is trying really hard.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrimshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,402
    2,488
    994
    377
    207
See reviews for
982
1,364
317
2,759
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,355)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Pros: service was amazing! Traveled with some colleagues and we checked in at different times, but they managed to get us in rooms fairly close together. Location was great, close to everything that we needed.
Cons: rooms were nothing special. They were clean and my room was spacious, but fairly standard.
If I hadn't booked through Priceline and gotten a fantastic rate, I think I would have been disappointed, but given the rate I paid, I was very happy.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimigi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Hotel's staff was friendly. Iron in the room was not working and upon multiple requests staff at the front desk did not replace it and eventually in the morning I call guest services who then took care of it. I was very disappointed with this quality of service from a hotel of this class and reputation. Guest services did not even offer to compensate for the inconvenience caused and did not even follow up on what actually caused the delay in replacing the iron(she did apologize to begin with for the inconvenience and said would try to find out what caused the delay). Overall we were satisfied and happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We stayed at Hyatt Regency during Mother's day weekend with family. We had 5 rooms and the room was smelling like smoke, rooms were clean. Bed was horrible, mattress was probably old. we asked for king size bed and surprised to a twin bed on all our rooms. These were supposed to be all non smoking but we smelled second hand smoke as if room's were converted. I don't recommend staying the west wing.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ak3130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Chicago hotel in May 2009. I had read the hundreds of reviews on this site and was 'scared' of what I would find. As with any hotel, some people love it and some people hate it. I was there for a conference and work payed the full bill.
First off, the hotel is enormous. Two big towers with a massive atrium for a lobby. The rooms are completely removed from the lobby, so there was no noise in the bedroom from the atrium. For check-in, I only had to wait for 2 people ahead of me to complete their check-ins. (Approx 3 minutes). I had a 5th floor room, so never experienced any long elevator rides. My room was not one of the ones right at the elevator lobby, so it was dead silent.
The room was great, big tv, soft bed, nice desk/workspace area.
My only real complaints are 1) the bathroom lighting. (So very dark, just 1 weak flourescent bulb.) 2) the thin walls (I've stayed in a lot of hotels for work, this one was odd, I could hear conversations .... and other sounds, yep, those ones, ... so clearly. Usually you can make out mumbles, etc. ... but in this one I could hear full sentences at normal volume. Odd!
But all said, I loved the hotel and especially its location. It's so close to everything. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev_z321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Pros:
+ Good location -- close to the major sites, transit, shopping, restaurants, etc.
+ Nice staff -- they are nice to you, although the "job" isn't really getting done (see below)

Cons:
- Dirty room -- The standard of cleanliness we experienced was very low: random hair bunches in the bathroom floor corners, spots and stains on the walls, marks of some kind on the pillow, etc.
- More disgusting stuff -- The baby blanket they provided with the crib smelled of urine. It was clear that it had not been laundered since the last child used it and urinated on it. The baby crib sheets also smelled of urine, so we got replacements. We disinfected the urine-stained baby crib mattress ourselves.
- No hot water in our room -- We complained. A nice, helpful guy from "engineering' came by and fixed it....for the night. By the next morning there was no hot water again. We had to run the water for 15 minutes for hot water to come through.
- Mini-fridge didn't work -- They were nice enough to give a complimentary mini-fridge since we had a baby. Unfortunately it didn't cool very well; probably not lower than 50F, which isn't good enough for storing milk. I asked for a replacement mini-fridge but didn't let them take away the first because -- based on my experience thus far in the hotel -- I doubted the second one would work. Of course, the second one didn't work at all. Good thing we kept the semi-working first one.
- Dilapidated facilities and room -- Regarding the sorry state of the hotel's facilities shown in other reviewers' photos, we experienced this too.

There isn't a lot of care in this hotel, and it really shows. The hotel is aware of all of the problems -- the front desk fielded all of our complaints. However, they never did anything to compensate for them. They said they would 'take care of it right away' but any attempt to 'fix' an issue didn't work -- replacing one broken fridge with another broken fridge isn't helpful. Neither is fixing the hot water for just one night. I don't understand why the Hyatt would allow their brand to be associated with this hotel. Are they repositioning the brand to be a 2-star class?

We got the room for a bid of $57/night on a well-known bidding site, but after all the issues I wouldn't consider this much of a "deal". If you can afford to stay at another hotel, I would strongly recommend that you do so. I wouldn't even stay here if I were attending a conference in this hotel. The Swissotel is connected by underground passageway; the Hotel Monaco and The Fairmont are close by. There are many hotels within walking distance that would be better places to stay. I won't bid on a 4* hotel in the Loop area on that bidding site, given my experience here. It's just not worth the risk of getting this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PassportPhilatelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Stayed in a Junior Suite which was beautiful and spacious. It had the largest flat screen tv I have ever seen in a hotel (great excuse to catch up on some movies) The breakfast buffet was great and was served in the hotels huge atrium which was nice. The service was top notch. Stayed in a lower floor in the East tower which was great as there was no waits for an elevator and they were always empty. The Shed aquarium was a complete waste of time and money but the Field musium was amazing. Chicago remains tied with London as my favourite city.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,534 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#61 of 189 in Chicago
3,971 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing