We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, but ridiculous parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Ranked #69 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Great stay, but ridiculous parking”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a quick stay at the Hyatt Regency McCormick Place and had no complaints about the room. We checked in very late due to flight delays, but had no problems checking in. The room was very nice and clean, and the shower had great water pressure. My only complaint is the $49 parking fee.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank amywestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear amywestwood,

I'm very sorry that you did not feel that our parking was a good value. I also apologize if there was any confusion on the parking options as we do offer a self-parking option for $34/day with unlimited in & out privileges. Thank you for your business!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,115
    1,384
    518
    233
    103
See reviews for
693
570
162
2,301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East coast
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed one night in the Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, and it was well suited for our travel plans leaving Chicago the next day.

We were in a room with 2 beds. It was interesting that one bed was a queen size and the other was a double size. We've never seen that before.

We had a drink in the modern décor bar, and were amused to see Effen Vodka being advertised there. That's always good for some risqué banter {wink, nudge}. The bar was quite a hike from the lobby.

We enjoyed the parking, with the in and out privileges that hotel guests have. We went out listen to Blues at fairly nearby Buddy Guy's and later at Kingston Mines. We followed this with a late night Chinese dinner in Chinatown. We had left over Chinese food, so we brought it back to the hotel. Then we realized our refrigerator in the room wasn't working. So we called to have it fixed (at 2 AM). Within a few minutes a man showed up, wheeling in another refrigerator to use that night. I thought this service was superb. There was a microwave oven on the 4th floor, which we used to heat up the food the next day.

Our room was nice, with a view south towards McCormick Convention Center and the White Sox baseball field. But the bottles of water in the room (labeled Hydrate) were way over priced at $3 per bottle.

When checking out, I gave the 2 room keys (used for in/out parking) to the check out person. It turns out, I should have saved one for the final exit from the parking garage. He gave me a temporary key to use to exit the garage, but it didn't work. Luckily, there was a garage employee at the gate who radioed in our predicament, and got the OK to open the gate for us.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Hedo-goer,

Thanks for visiting us from the East coast to listen to some good Chicago jazz! It sounds like you had a great weekend overall, and we're happy that you enjoyed the free in/out parking privileges and customer service. I hope that we can become your hotel of choice in Chicago.

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We enjoyed this location very much on a back-to-school trip for two days. Jessie at the desk was a gem, and our room was very nice. It was clean and fresh smelling. (Unlike the lobby. Ugh!) One huge issue was the front lobby smell. Oh my! Like lots and lots of people who badly need soap. What is going on here? Is this a cleaning issue? I am not sure, but the smell of human was awful. Don't get me wrong, our room and the other public spaces were very clean, but the lobby was not nice. We enjoyed the pool and the gym. The location is great for families who want to visit the Shedd or the Field Museum or Science and Industry. There are amazing places to dine in Hyde Park. You can easily walk to Soldier Field. Perhaps housekeeping needs a heads up. I am not the only reviewer who has noticed this problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy61356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Tracy61356,

Thank you very much for your business and your candid feedback. We will definitely have our housekeeping team address the issue in the lobby as this is definitely not what we want our guests to experience upon first arriving to the hotel. I'm so happy that your guest room, our staff, and the convenient location to Museum Campus were able to turn this around for you. I will make sure that the Front Desk Manager sees your comments about Jessie so she can be recognized for a job well done. Thank you again for your business and your comments.

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My friends and I stayed 2 nights/3 days at the Hyatt Regency to attend the Rock & Roll Half Marathon. The Hyatt Regency was a host hotel listed for the race.

The expo was convenient being at McCormick center & they had a shuttle to/from the race on Sunday. The shuttle was suppose to come every 15 minutes but they actually came sooner than that. We had to call the front desk since we were told incorrectly by the driver where to get picked up after the race and the front desk was very nice & gave me directions to the right location for the shuttle.

The hotel is not close to where the restaurants are downtown but it's a short cab ride. If you plan on walking which we did one day, where good walking shoes.

The staff could not be more helpful. They advised us of the restaurants that delivered. There is room either outside or near the little market to eat in case you don't want to eat in your room. We didn't eat at the restaurants in the hotel. Also, the staff was very prompt to respond to our concerns about a light in our room that was not working & a request for extra towels. Louis did great that night. We had great advice from the concierge re: the shuttle to the airport vs. taking a cab which would be cheaper. Awesome advice. Cabs are always available without a wait. We checked out on Sunday but we still had some time before our flight. We were able to keep our luggage at concierge to sight-see a little before we came back later for our flight.

Room Tip: All rooms do not have a view. If you want a view, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmorgan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear cmorgan50,

Congratulations on completing the Rock & Roll Half Marathon! That is a great accomplishment! We were proud to be the headquarters hotel for the race and offer the free shuttle to Grant Park to make race day easy for runners and spectators. Customer service is extremely important to us, so it's great to hear that the staff was helpful and provided good advice. Please keep us in mind for next year's race or future runs or visits to Chicago. We would love the opportunity to serve you again!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Hotel was very nice and conveniently located near my friends apartment! All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Check-in and check out was quick and efficient. Very nice gym and pool. Enjoyed our stay! Will definitely stay here when back in the area!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjdub62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear cjdub62,

Thank you for staying with us for your visit to Chicago. Your returned business would be the best compliment we receive, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town to visit your friends.

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for our half marathon. It was actually the host hotel for the event. Walking distance to Soldier Field(where the race started/ended). Also walking distance to Chinatown and the Red Line. Close to bus stops as well.

I'd probably have given the hotel 3 1/2 stars if that was an option. The staff at the hotel are amazing. Everyone we encountered from check in to the bar & coffee shop were great. Friendly & helpful.

The problems that we had with the property started in the lobby, there was an odor that smelled like bad body odor in certain areas of the lobby. Not sure if it's a cleaner used, but it was almost hard to walk through without holding your nose. In room, we were unfortunately located by the elevators and you could hear every ding and conversation in the hallway. There were some great people who slammed their doors after midnight, but that's not the hotels fault. Also the A/C seemed to be on a motion sensor where in the night the room would get almost uncomfortably warm. No matter what you set the temp to the A/C decided when it wanted to work and for how long it would work. Overall these things led to poor sleep quality which brought my rating down. Like mentioned earlier it would probably be 3 1/2.

Rooms were clean and we appreciated the extra amenities like complimentary Wifi and reduced parking, since we were there with an event.

Like I mentioned earlier the location and staff were great, but the sleep quality not so much.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Kimberly J,

Congratulations on completing your half marathon! We're happy that we could be a convenient location for your race weekend and that everyone of the staff was friendly and helpful. I'm so very sorry to hear about the odor in the lobby and the A/C. I appreciate your letting us know so that we can have housekeeping and maintenance address these issues. One of the green features in our guest rooms that led to our Gold LEED certification is motion sensing technology for when the room is vacant, however that should not be the case when the room is occupied for the reasons you mentioned. I'm sorry that the malfunction in your room led to poor sleep quality the night before a big race. Again, we appreciate your feedback so that we can fix these issues. We would love to welcome you back for future races or events at Soldier Field and show you that we have addressed these and show you a 5-star experience.

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

What a perfect spot to stay in Chicago - literally minutes away from Michigan Ave, Lake Michigan, awesome restaurants and close to the rail. Couldn't have asked for me. Highly recommended! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Matt M,

I'm so glad to hear that you and your friends had a perfect stay in Chicago. Your business and recommendation mean a lot to us. Thank you for taking a moment to share it on TripAdvisor!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#144 of 190 in Chicago
112 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#101 of 190 in Chicago
5,030 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 190 in Chicago
6,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#135 of 190 in Chicago
56 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#137 of 190 in Chicago
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency McCormick Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Property: Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Address: 2233 South Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Chicago, IL 60616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > South Loop , Near South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Chicago
#36 Business Hotel in Chicago
#37 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#53 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency McCormick Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideas about convention hotels will instantly disappear when you stay at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place. Here, chic yet inviting décor welcomes you from the moment you enter our newly renovated Chicago Hyatt hotel, turning our expansive space into a welcoming retreat. Take in the incredible views of downtown from contemporary guestrooms, savor a variety of delicious cuisines in our popular restaurants, or relax in our indoor pool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency McCormick Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mccormick Place Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Mccormick Place
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing