We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landmark Hotel on the Magnificent Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #68 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I chose this hotel based on the recommendation from several travel guides. Considering its unique history, convenient location and good value, this hotel just gave me a wonderful experience in the Windy City! I believe I made the right choice!
The location is unbeatable! The hotel opens its main door directly facing Michigan Avenue. All the shopping and fine dining are great. There is a bus stop right in front with services to the museum campus and the Loop. Grand Red CTA station is 2 blocks away. Two bus routes to Navy Pier Park stop at Grand/Rush. Going everywhere is very easy!
I was given a big room on 21/F in the historic building facing Michigan Avenue. The view was so nice! There were 6 big windows on 3 sides of the room! It cost me US$120/night including taxes. I consider this very good value for the location and size. Noise was a bit of a problem despite the high floor. Overall, the room and the hotel interior might look a bit tired and old but actually not too bad for a historic building. Of course, not to compare with other new modern hotels like the Trump Tower. Totally acceptable for me.

Room Tip: Historic building facing Michigan Avenue on high floors
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livetutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,625)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,578 - 3,584 of 4,625 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

Couldn't figure out why everyone else was getting their car so quickly yet I was standing there for quite a while. When I went up to the attendant they started stammering (never a good sign). Now, I get to go get 2 estimates. Kicker?? Still charged me for the service. Doesn't matter how good hotel is or how ideal the location after this.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimbrahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Great location on Michigan avenue, yet old and tired. Heat in room is so loud, hard to sleep. Needs a Shot in the arm. The staff is good though!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmsknyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear CMSKNYNY,

We are happy to see you appreciate our staff and location but are disappointed to read your overall experience rating. Please contact Simon Chapman directly at simon.chapman@ihg.com to discuss your most recent visit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I'll admit it - I really like a good 5-star hotel. Sadly, the Chicago Intercontinental repeatedly disappoints. On the positive side: 1) it is in a good location, especially for shopping on Michigan Avenue; 2) it is also a short cab ride (couple miles) to business meetings in the Loop; 3) at its core is a grand old building that was the Medinah Athletic Club developed by the Shriners; 4) it underwent a $250MM refurbishment with a new tower and real effort at amenities in the rooms; and 5) it has a large and friendly staff. So much is right, but so much more makes it wrong. If it was a Holiday Inn (and priced like one), it would surpass your expectations. But, it is an Intercontinental and is striving to be 5-stars (and priced as though it actually is).

Some of the annoyances are small (but still detract from the stay and make you not want to return). For example, there was just one hand towel and no face cloths in the bathroom, despite other efforts to provide nice bath amenities; there is a flat touch screen in each room (in addition to the TV), which is supposed to offer you information to improve your stay, but it's got a terrible user interface and seems designed to always drive you toward purchasing additional services from the hotel (which might be more simply achieved by calling guest services); the bathroom floor was ice cold (evidently conducting the below freezing outside temperature through poor engineering of the new tower); and the swimming pool, so grandly featured on the website, is closed for renovations for months (but you'd never know that from the website).

What is inexcusable is the poor service. While the staff is friendly, they do not seemed to be trained in five star (or even four star) hotel service. To be clear, this is a management failure (the staff seems smart and nice enought to be superb). Instead, the concierge desk is uninformed; maid service failed to clean and prep the room; and guest services seemed at a loss as to how to make things right.

In addition, it is just plain annoying in this day and age for a large city business hotel to impose an $18 per day fee for wi-fi. At $380 a night, WiFi should be included (it's not 2005 anymore). I used the cell card in my lap-top to avoid this fee (so this is not sour grapes on being ripped off for wi-fi), but I thought it summed up the hotelier's real lack of concern for the needs and comfort of the guests. That was apparent at every turn.

I had been looking forward to my stay here (on a multi-city trip), and was repeatedly disappointed. I now have a new major account relationship in Chicago, but have asked my agent to find me another place to call home in the Windy City.

Room Tip: Corener Deluxe Rooms are fairly spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear Jeffzee,

We value your feedback and are committed to ensuring our hotel is your place to call home in Chicago. We apologize for the disappointing aspects of your experience, please contact Simon Chapman at simon.chapman@ihg.com so that we may retain your loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great location, excellnt service and a beautiful room, amde my stay just perfect.
A good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Chevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Great service. Great historic swimming pool (on 7th floor I believe). Should explore the first 2-4 floors where the old shriners used to meet. Rooms were excellent, -we chose the tower which has a great view if you choose a room facing south. great location on the golden ,ile, so was easy to walk to everything with the children. Would be my first choice to go to for shopping or a trip in the holiday season.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steenie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here for a couple days to do some shopping in Chicago and enjoy the city. The lobby of the hotel seems to stay busy. The room we had was awesome. Not sure if all the rooms are that nice, but I've posted pics of our corner tower room. Here are some tips.
1. This our first stay at this hotel. We were offered to join the frequent traveler/rewards program for free. By doing so, our room was complimentary upgraded during our stay. So if you are not a member of their rewards program, now is the perfect time to join.
2. The car parking is very expensive. I parked for 6 hours and it was $32. Don't drive/park unless you must.
3. Awesome location on Michigan Ave! There is a Starbucks in the lobby, Michael Jordan's Steak House in the hotel, and shopping across the street. This hotel is a the start of most of the Maginificant Mile shopping so once you go out the door, you can walk and walk to all the stores.
4. The gym was nice but there is a charge to use it. The fee was included in our room rate, but they do charge others to use the gym. The pool was closed as well. You had to use the Marriott pool if you wanted to swim. Watch out for that.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: Become a Member of the rewards program and let them upgrade your room for free. The tower rooms were...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ereynihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 191 in Chicago
3,495 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 191 in Chicago
5,052 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 505 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £159 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 872
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing