We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, great location in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #68 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 August 2012

From the moment we arrived our stay was awesome. The location for this beautiful, historic hotel is prime. You are walking distance from all the best shopping, sites and attractions. The amenities were great. The fitness center was well equipped, the pool was beautiful, Robert was more than happy to show us around AND fill us in on some of the history of the hotel. The front desk staff, Trent, Elijah and Michelle all helped us at different times during our stay and were friendly, professional and extremely accomodating. Housekeeping was very prompt with requests. Marco and the bell staff were equally as wonderful. The rooms are on the smaller side but we didn't mind because we had a great view of Michigan Ave and the staff was AMAZING. I will defintely come back and recommend to others. Thanks to everyone at the Intercontinental for making our special occasion in Chicago more memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGM1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,506 - 3,512 of 4,867 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed at the InterContinental for a weekend shopping trip and while the overall stay was okay, I expected something more.

The rooms were extremely dated and small considering the high rates. Linens were thin and well used. The walls are thin - we could very clearly hear the individuals around us - making sleep very difficult. We also noticed stained lamp shades, peeling wall paper and dirty air returns.

On the plus side - we experienced very good service at the front desk and the bell desk. You also cannot beat the location for shopping Michigan Ave, walking to Navy Pier and vicinity to restaurants. We also purchased the Breakfast package with our room and it was very good.

Overall, the hotel is just average and I would not stay at it again when there are many options for the price on Michigan Avenue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear smvaca,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. It is also nice to know that you liked our location. I am sorry you did not find the room to your liking. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Hotel Is perfectly located for all Chicago attractions. Michael Jordan's steak house was awesome; even had his airness in the bar during our stay!
Staff (especially doorman) Will and Hussan were awesome! Great greetings and direction daily!
Starbucks was convienient and ENO wine bar was great place for night cap!
All in all experience was great! City of chicago is the greatest on the planet in summer months!
If going to city ask for historic tower room they are much larger room size with views

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlh3806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed last week at InterContinental Chicago and we had a wonderful time. Excellent location, so convenient to everything. The concierge, Robert Rames, was a great help in obtaining tickets to baseball game and with other attractions. Highly recommend this hotel it has some great history.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty Jo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here recently with some friends. Great location, friendly staff, nice rooms. Had a good view from our room. Loved the pool and the convenience of Starbucks in the building! Would recommend and come back anytime

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecki_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed at the Intercontinental and I just wanted to mention a few things for other travelers to consider, as booking a room in a Chicago hotel can be quite daunting, because there are so many awesome hotels/attractions/restaurants in the area! As far as my room was concerned, the view was incredible and well worth the price. The quality of food in the steakhouse, however, was unimpressive and my money would have been much better spent at Gibson's or Rosebud. The staff, overall, was typical of a high caliber hotel; friendly enough albeit a bit sterile, but Robert Klees in the fitness center was friendly, warm and knowledgeable. He shared with me workout tips, places to see in Chicago, and an extensive historical background on the Intercontinental Hotel itself! He is a fitness center manager, concierge, and Chicago ambassador rolled into one! Great job, Robert! By the way, the pool is fabulous!!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank mawolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed in Chicago for a night and found this hotel via Hotwire. When we arrived, we were offered an upgrade to the Historical room for $40. The interior design of the room matches up to its name.. The hotel is in right smack of the magnificent mile, which is just walking distance to the millennium park, John Hancock building etc. Overall the hotel is great for a short stay - will be better if they provide complimentary wifi!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleepwalker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#37 of 192 in Chicago
3,683 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,997 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 505 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £86 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 872
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing