We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Historic Hotel On The Mag Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #68 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel has two towers: one modern, the other historic. We stayed in the historic tower (bigger rooms and has more character).

The hotel was walking distance to almost everything we had on our itinerary: from the Chicago Art Institute and Architecture Foundation River Cruise to Millennium Park and all the restaurants we visited while in town.

The olympic-sized pool looks like a Greco-Roman baths and is oozing with character! Oh and make sure you check out the themed floors – from the Renaissance Room to King Arthur’s Court! If they're not hosting an event, ask them if you can use the lounge in the historic tower (on the 32nd floor). It has incredible views of the city.

Parking is pricey ($63.50/night) so you may want to look into other options. The Millennium Park Garage is a 10 min walk, safe and $30/night. Internet is also expensive ($18/day). We used the free WiFi at Starbucks (attached to the hotel).

Room Tip: The hotel has two towers: one modern, the other historic. The rooms in the historic tower are older...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCuriousCreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,625)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,415 - 2,421 of 4,625 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

I took my 2 children and parents downtown at Christmas time to enjoy the city and we had a wonderful time. The kids enjoyed swimming in the beautiful pool in the middle of winter and we saw all the sites, had dinner under Macy's tree and enjoyed some shopping. The staff and hotel personnell were absolutley wonderful. You can't find a better location to stay!! I would highly recomend the Intercontinental for pleasure or business. Thanks also to Dana Solomon for all she did to make this a very enjoyable stay!! She went above and beyond!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I've never been to Chicago and came for a convention. I was happy to be at this hotel since it was easy walking distance to shopping, restaurants and bars. The hotel itself was fine, no major complaints. The gym was nice and the historic pool is a must see even if you don't swim. Our room was small but sharply decorated. The meeting and convention area was very nice. One piece if advice, even though it's posted I didn't see it: the mini bar is on a weight system. I had bought my own bottle of wine and rearranged some things in the fridge to make room for it. I ended with A LOT of mini bar charges. I went to the front desk and explained and the charges got taken off but the bottom line is if you put your own items in the fridge make sure to check your bill for charges.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Allo602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Our daughter was married at the InterContinental Chicago this past weekend. Our fourteen months of planning with their staff came together flawlessly on the night of her wedding.

First impressions are always important. When my wife and I arrived at the front door, we were greeted with a big smile and a friendly hello by Will, the doorman. He became the "go to guy" when you needed any information about where to go in the city or how to get something done. Thanks Will, for all your kindness. Additionally, the bell captain, Vinco, seemed to work 24 hour shifts every day. He was always available to provide quick and friendly service. The housekeeping staff did a marvelous job. The honeymoon suite was used as a dressing area for the bridesmaids. About twenty people were using that room for 8 hours before the wedding. Needless to say, it was a mess at the end of the day. The Housekeeping Staff turned it around into a spotless Honeymoon Suite during the wedding ceremony. Thanks for the super service.

The hotel itself is historic and well maintained. The staff is polite and well trained. Every time we called for something, we were asked how the wedding plans were going. The Manager of Guest Relations personally came out to introduce himself and make himself available if we had any questions.

Chris Schmidt, the Director of Catering, went out of his way during the planning to make sure that everything was done to perfection. The banquet staff flawlessly provided excellent service. The wedding dinner was served hot to everyone; and looked and tasted as good as it did during our small "tasting session" several months prior to the wedding. Chris remained on site for over 16 hours that day, and prior to leaving, made sure to ask me (the Father of the Bride), if everything was to our satisfaction. He would not leave until he was personally assured that we were 100% satisfied.

If you are looking for an historic venue in a wonderful downtown Chicago location, backed by a classy staff and people who care, look no further than the Intercontinental Chicago.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffreyF715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I attended a two day conference for work at the Intercontinental in Chicago and found it to be a nice hotel for business travel. The conference facilities were especially nice.

Check in had been pre-arranged for our large group and the front desk was very efficient. I liked the large screens behind the front desk that showed video of what was happening on the streets outside. My room (1700) was room and fairly standard for a hotel of this price range. The bed was comfortable and there were nice amenities. I had a great room that was just behind some stone carvings so it was a cool view out the window.

The conference rooms were also pretty standard, but all had nice views of the city skyline out the windows. The ballroom was very beautiful with lots of gold gilting and chandeliers. The food was pretty good for conference fare.

Every employee I encountered was friendly and helpful. Even on the last day with a glut of people picking up luggage from the bell stand and cars from the valet, they worked efficiently and politely, never losing their cool.

Room Tip: A room above the 10th floor will get you a decent view of the city skyline from any angle.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I'm a Chicagoan, first time staying at The Intercontinental. Our visit was to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. Rachel King and Intercontinental truly made is special. This hotel is nestled between historic buildings in the Magnificent Mile and shopping your heart out. You will find anything you are looking for from bargains (Forever 21) to Dream On (Chanel) fantasies.
The room where we stayed was roomy and clean. The hotel is classy and staff is very friendly.
There is a nice indoor pool however, we did not get a chance to take advantage of.
The only con was that the walls were thin and you can hear people passing by your door.
I will definitely stay here again and would recommend anyone who likes to walk around for shopping and sightseeing.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank marQ_Qram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Rooms are clean and comfortable, prime location close to several attractions, front desk service it is regular. The Mexican guys in the bar are super friendly. The food is pricy but there are other options around

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NANARD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 191 in Chicago
3,493 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 191 in Chicago
5,052 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 505 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £159 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 872
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing