We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #70 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights fab location just on millennium mile close to all the shops and attractions such as river cruise theatre district and of course shopping. We stayed in the new side of the hotel good size rooms 2 beds nice bathroom although bath was on the small size coffee making facilities in the room. Note air con was noisy great attentive staff would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: We went for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouser79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,071
    1,460
    562
    224
    154
See reviews for
907
1,092
225
1,575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The InterContinental in Downtown Chicago is great! Their check-in was very busy when we were there, seemingly a little disorganized, but it was just a few days before Christmas. Regardless of the line we were checked in after about 15 minutes.

The rooms were very clean, spacious and open. The restaurant in the hotel was delicious, and served GIGANTIC portions. There is a little convenience shop in the lobby for snacks and drinks, with a barista. The hotel location is perfect, it is right in the middle of all the shopping and restaurants near the Magnificent Mile. It is right next door to the Hancock Tower as well!

A parking tip... as with any big city, parking is tight and it is pricy. I would call ahead and ask how to get to the parking deck first, or plan to valet. We had the hotel address, but had to go around the block, in Christmas traffic, TWICE, because we missed the small garage entrance. When you valet, or pull into the garage, be sure to grab ALL of your things, because you most likely won't see your car until you check out. Now, you CAN make them go get it... but it's one of those frowned upon things because your car is probably parked in the basement or 20th floor of the next building which has a hidden parking deck! Be ready to tip the drivers as well!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Needed a hotel for the night while in Chicago. Almost everything had been booked do to some king of conference? They had an availability. Nice place, Not cheap but it was very accommodating. With Valet I was out of there around 360?, tax included.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadeInDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

High marks to the Intercontinental from the moment you check in to the moment you check out. Staff was perhaps the bright spot of this hotel with desk workers going to the extreme to book me in for a second night at the rate I had for the first night.

Room was fantastic and the king size bed more then enough to get a good night sleep. I was next the ice maker and never heard a sound. The restaurant and downstairs bar were all great and when you stepped out the front door you are on Michigan Avenue with access to any other restaurant or shopping experience you could want.

The only small flaw I found was the towels which seemed more appropriate for a budget hotel.

Also - for those driving to this hotel it is on Michigan Avenue so it helps to know the layout before you get there so you can park behind the hotel or just use the valet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkaboutj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This was my first experience at this hotel. First the hotel is beautiful and very clean. The architecture is amazing and a must see inside. The pool is out of this world, and the other reviews about location are right on. You walk out the door and shopping you go. Let me tell you about the staff. I am here on business and pleasure celebrating many 30th anniversary this month. We check in with Kiran Nadeem. She was so sweet and informative. She went out of her way to help answer questions. She made this trip very very special. I can not thank her enough. Rachel in concierge was also great in helping with dinner places and reservations. I am soooo thankful we stayed here. Will definaley be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Txloyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have very fond memories of the Hotel Intercontinental. I had a very special family event here many years ago. The hotel is in a perfect location in the heart of Michigan Avenue. The hotel is directly across from the Nordstrom shopping center, as well as a Walgreens for any last minute necessities. A Starbucks is in the lobby as well as a great wine bar and Michael Jordan's steak house. The staff are extremely courteous and friendly. I was greeted with a smile on numerous occasions.

The pool here is a well known historic landmark and is absolutely stunning.

Room options include the historic wing and the new wing. The rooms are spacious and clean. The wing you choose may vary based on your personal taste when making room choices. The wireless internet is efficient and had no interference.

My only minor complaint is that the water pressure on the top floors is somewhat weak but everything else could not have been more perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docfoodie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very good services. Room are very clean and very convenient . The Magnificent Ave, have everything. Across the street are major designers store, but the best is an starbucks inside . i love early morning my coffee aroma . lol

Room Tip: Higher floor are best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 190 in Chicago
3,388 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 190 in Chicago
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 872
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing