We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #70 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Market, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A fantastic experience. Gorgeous hotel, extraordinary amenities, wonderfully comfortable beds, lovely service, delicious food. The staff were very attentive, thoughtful and eager to assist with anything.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Magnificent Mile is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,068
    1,456
    561
    224
    154
See reviews for
905
1,088
225
1,574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Intercontinental hotels used to be great, I don't know what has happened, but they are lacking, on cleanliness, and keeping up. My room was dirty, the carpet is poorly vacuumed, there was dirt. Even the nails of a previous guest, and used wrappers on the floor! Even after I asked them to clean it,they missed the dirt! It was too bad!
They changed us to another room,which was nice, but there were papers and stuff behind the sofa!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jua c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiana, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear jua c,

We apologize for the experience you had during your recent stay. Your feedback has been forwarded to the appropriate department(s) for further review. Please rest assured your response is appreciated. If your schedule permits, please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again!

Malcolm Moore
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Central PA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Everything you would expect from an upscale hotel. Catered food was EXCELLENT - better than most. Right in the heart of dozens of shops and all kinds of restaurants - all within walking distance.
Check out the Billy Goat Tavern a couple blocks away if you are an old SNL fan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Intercontinental Chicago is located on the magnificent mile in the heart of downtown. Chicago is a great city for food and entertainment including fantastic museums. Walking the magnificent mile gives you a wonderful view of the architecture and history of the city. The Chicago Tribune building is a must see. The hotel is everything you would expect from a five star with the added bonus of a Starbucks in the lobby and Michael Jordan's Steakhouse. The staff are very friendly and willing to help with all your personal requests. The rooms are clean and comfortable but a bit dated with bathroom fixtures in need of remodeling. Overall a great hotel in a perfect location to see the city.

Room Tip: Choose a floor above seventeen as the view is restricted by the outside facade of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhuehnergard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location, it is right on Michigan Ave in the middle of the Magnificent Mile. The valet is on Michigan Ave. in front of the hotel. The valet and bellman were polite and engaging. Check in was easy, we were able to check into the room early at 12:30 pm. Consider signing up for their loyalty program prior to your stay you will get free wifi, 2 complimentary beverages, and free late check out (until 2 pm). The room was on the 4th floor and looked onto a pipe, although this was disappointing I expected it since I booked through a discount site. The room in the newer tower was clean and decorated nicely. The bathroom was extremely cramped and had no exhaust fan. The bathroom was the most challenging part of the room. The hotel has a Starbucks, a very nice wine bar, and Michael Jordan Steakhouse. Check out was easy as well, they held our bags for us until we were ready to depart. There were not any unexpected charges. I would stay at this location again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blain80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This landmark hotel has a great location and lots of other things going for it. A recent visit found the IHG reservation site sending me repeatedly back to the drawing board, and then arriving with a few details missing.

However, at least three staff people went out of their way to make sure any problems were addressed. That includes one person at the front desk, one of the bellman near the door, and one of the restaurant staff.

So, yes, I'd stay here again. However, I'd skip the IHG reservation site if possible.

Room Tip: Rooms are all over the map here; historic tower rooms are interesting but sometimes small. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plamichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed here last week and decided to stay here again on my way through. Frankly I meant to give them cudos for my last stay but I just got busy. This time when I checked in I was greated by a very friendly and nice girl named Mirsada. She recognized that I had stayed here last week and while welcoming me back, she made some additional suggestions. She was very personable and very professional...not a robot. The location is great and the guys out from are excellent at getting things handled quickly.
Again the location is great whether you are heading to Navy Pier or shopping on Michigan...there are lots of restaurants close by too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 190 in Chicago
3,381 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 872
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing