We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #68 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Kansas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is just kind of in the middle of everything! On the magnificent mile within walking distance to many attractions. Stayed in the new tower with newly decorated rooms, very nice. Was much quieter than I expected being right on Michigan Ave. on the 21st floor wasn't bothered with street noise. Staff was always friendly. You have to go see the pool room! It's beautiful in the grand tower.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,031
    1,431
    554
    221
    151
See reviews for
881
1,075
222
1,548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
414 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a family reunion of sorts in Chicago and most of us stayed here. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, especially Mirsaola at the front desk. The location of the hotel is perfect if you are looking to be in the heart of downtown Chicago, specifically in the shopping district. The hotel itself was clean and upscale, however, I am sure you could find higher end options if you're looking for over the top luxury. The rooms were updated and I would rate them average for a hotel of this quality. Very comfortable and a nice place to stay. We too had a "deal", as it seems many have found via Priceline or Hotwire, so I think we got a lot of value for what we paid. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVM-Milford-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We rode the train into Chicago this trip. Walking to the hotel and around the city was convenient with this property. The door leads right to Mich Ave. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. Close to shopping, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, and a bus ride away to the museums. The hotel is very quiet. The staff very knowledgeable. Pool is very pretty. Adults must accompany kids under 18 to the pool. The rooms are small but that is true of all Chicago hotels in our experience. The bathroom was a bit stuffy...not the best ventilation there. But not a deal breaker by any means.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poblanofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Travelled to Chicago with three other couples and booked four rooms through Priceline Express Deals. Got a fantastic rate. Prior to travel had read the somewhat mixed reviews on TA. Our stay was quite good. We were "fortunate" to have been given a room in the new tower - rooms were updated, clean, and small (but not too small). The staff were so very friendly and accommodating right from our pre-visit phone call requesting an early check-in to our departure and our dealings with the doormen. The location was perfect - right on Michigan Avenue halfway between The Loop and the Magnificent Mile. It was so easy to walk everywhere.
We did not use the pool or fitness center. We did not eat at the on-site restaurants. But we very much enjoyed our stay and would return to the Intercontinental Chicago.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer tower. Based on our experience, I would recommend rooms in this part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank principledtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I usually like to book hotels through Priceline's "EXPRESS DEALS" website, where you pick the star level and are guaranteed a hotel of at least that quality. Usually this works to our advantage and we have stayed in some beautiful places but unfortunately, I can't say that about the stay we just had this weekend at Intercontinental on Michigan Ave. I chose a 4.5 star level so I was pretty confident that whatever we got would be BEAUTIFUL because this is a high star rating. Boy, was I wrong! First, we stood in line for check in for about 35 mins. (they only had one worker at the desk and he looked miserable like he hated his life and his job) their check in staff sits in chairs almost seeming as though they don't honor their guests enough to even stand up to greet them. Kind of different. He informed us that parking was not included (Ok, expected in a downtown Chicago hotel) but that it would be $65 dollars. WOW. So the "deal" we thought we had snagged on Priceline has now cost us almost double what we paid just for the room. We had no choice so we paid the $65 for parking. Please note that we have stayed in several downtown Chicago hotels and always paid no more than $30 for overnight parking. I mean, we are guests after all, right?! Ok, so then we head to our room and that is where things got bad. The room looked so small and DRAB and old and tired. The decor is so hideous circa 1991 and everything is so dated. The toilet did not flush, the windows were so old we did not sleep all night because all we could hear is firetrucks, there were TOENAIL CLIPPINGS all over the room from a previous guest (GAG!), the bedding smelled just like a mechanic shop where you get your oil changed (although it was very comfortable despite the foul smell), the furniture was ripped and looked as if an animal had chewed it, there were rips and stains on the curtains that were so hideous I couldn't even close them, the bathroom door had a big hole in it that looked like a dog had chewed on it, It was just a very uncomfortable, uninviting room and we felt like we were at a motel instead of a nice 4.5 star luxury hotel. This hotel nickel and dimes you to the max. NOTHING is complimentary. We asked for a fork and they said there would be a charge. There is literally a charge for everything. I made a HUGE mistake and used the hotel phone to call my husband a couple times for maybe 10 mins. and ended up with a $154 phone bill added to my room. WHAT!!! Add that to our $65 parking charge, and $80 room and we have a $310 one night stay. We have never stayed at a "4STAR" hotel and been treated so terribly. My husband and I were so disappointed we called the manager the next morning, who seemed annoyed with us but did listen to what we had to say and he took some $ off our bill. So that was very nice and appreciated at least. but, honestly, NEVER AGAIN. Not only will we never stay at the Chicago Intercontinental, but we will never stay at ANY Intercontinental again because they have left such a sour taste in our mouths. We should have just taken the loss of our $80 and checked in somewhere trustworthy. Hopefully this review will help other travelers at least.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dancinleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiana, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear dancinleary,

We apologize for the experience you had during your recent stay. Your feedback has been forwarded to the appropriate department(s) for further review. Please rest assured your response is appreciated. If your schedule permits, please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again!

Malcolm Moore
Guest Services Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Let me start out by saying we booked this room on Hotwire. Room was clean but small. Beds were comfortable but the location was great. We walked all over the city and hit all the tourist attractions on foot. Check in and check out was easy. There is a Starbucks in the lobby (we never got coffee there line was too long) each night we had a night cap at the Michael Jordan's restaurant. Don't pay full price this is not 4.5 star hotel but clean and the location is worth it. Pool and gym are also excellent

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tlyn1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I cant fault this hotel on its location, the staff are also exceptional with service. However I think so the price you pay you should be getting more, the internet wasn't included, there is no view on the one side and all the amenities in the room are old i.e.. could use a revamp. The only reason I say these things is because I have stayed at other Intercontinental's and they have been amazing so I was a little let down when I stayed at this one. If you aren't fussed by a view or appearance then this hotel is perfect for a short trip to Chicago.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the west side because the east side has no views and people across the way can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbnpoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Dbnpoison,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted that you found our hotel staff highly commendable. On the other hand, it is disheartening to know that we were not able to meet your expectations when it comes to our room amenities. Please be assured that your comments are taken into serious account and will be used towards our improvement. I hope that you give us another chance to provide you with a better accommodation in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 189 in Chicago
3,333 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,947 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing