We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location Great facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #71 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carlinville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Location Great facility”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We go to Chicago annually for the Cubs/Cards series and stay wherever the availability around or on the mile is. We chose this hotel this year and were very pleased. The quality and cleanliness was outstanding. I would like to mention the only reason I didn't give this facility 5 stars was the size of the rooms. Anyone who stays around downtown Chicago would know that on average the rooms are tight. We booked 4 rooms and the check-in was amazingly quick. The room had an iHome for the alarm clock which was a nice touch. Bathrooms were in great shape also rather small. Another item worth mentioning is that the elevators were always available, unlike my last stay where I had to wait a noticeable amount of time for one every time. I would gladly recommend to a friend or family member.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidscoach4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,114
    1,477
    571
    230
    157
See reviews for
936
1,106
228
1,604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our girlfriend's trip wouldn't have been the same without Kathy! She was our guide, made great recommendations and set us up with tour tickets. She gave us wonderful suggestions on what not to miss in Chicago while we were there! She gave us unbelievable shopping ideas. Kathy was so friendly and always happy! She is awesome!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

It has been 4 days since the Intercontinental emailed me to let me know that you take the "allegations very seriously" and that I would be receiving a personal response within 48 hours. I am sickened by their lack of attention to this and the ignorance/racism of your staff which I can only assume from their lack of attention to this is being tolerated at their hotels. Not only have I been belittled, but now I am being ignored. This situation has only gone from bad to worse on account of the Intercontinental from the bottom to the very top and it is absolutely deplorable.

My original post, which has since been deleted stated:

I sent an email to the InterContinental Chicago weeks ago about the many problems we had during our stay, I was told they were going to send me a free night certificate, but after more than two weeks, I emailed again and their response started out with "Dear Mrs. Martinez" followed by a bunch of excuses as to why they didn't send it. Who exactly is Mrs. Martinez? My last name is RODRIGUEZ. You should be embarrassed and you should be held accountable for the racist undertones that are implied in this "mistake".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalxrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiana, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear crystalxrodriguez ,

We apologize for the experience you had during your recent stay. Your feedback has been forwarded to the appropriate department(s) for further review. Please rest assured your response is appreciated. If your schedule permits, please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again!

Malcolm Moore
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I ended up booking this hotel, as I was walking over to the property. I had an issue with my previously booked hotel, so I was in need of a place to stay and they were immediately accommodating. Mind you this was the weekend of Lollapalooza when the whole city is crazy. We stayed in the two bed premier room in the historical tower. The room had a terrific amount of space and honestly felt cavernous for our needs. The location of course is fantastic, as we all know for everything in the city. The greatest part about my experience though was the concierge. Rachael helped me as I was having issues trying to get my train ticket taken care of. I also had some time to kill and Rachael gave me excellent recommendations, while being personal and extremely attentive. Coming from a career in high end sales this was refreshing to be treated just as I treat my customers. I will be exclusively staying at this location when I am in Chicago from now on. Trying to save the $60-$100 is just not worth it, as I found out, do not waste your time just stay at the InterContinental Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BloganDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The building from the outside does not stand out that much. But That might be because it can't compare to the buildings surrounding it. Right next door is the stunning Tribune Tower. We were lucky enough to stay on a high level with a view of the Tribune Tower, The Chicago River and Lake Michigan it was amazing!

Take the time to explore this hotel. There are 6 or 7 levels of banquet rooms that are stunning and historic. The pool makes you feel that you stepped into Chicago in the 1920's. This is an awesome hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited the Hotel in late July 2014 and it exceeded our expectations!!! We stayed in the historic tower and had a partial view of the Chicago River. The room was spacious and the bathroom was pretty large. The location was spot-on as we were in walking distance to many of the area attractions.

All of the staff was very pleasant and seemed happy. We especially want to acknowledge Clive, the valet. Clive was very helpful with directions, he suggested a great restaurant and was always aware of our presence and made sure that our needs were met. We expect to return to Chicago in October and we will be sure to tip Clive for his great service as we were in a rush to get to the airport when we left. Thanks Clive!

We also visited the breakfast buffet every day and it was phenomenal. They had a vast selection of breakfast food and you could even get omelets, waffles and other items made to order.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views - either directly or to the left or to the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Intercontinental for 7 days. The location can not be beat. It is walking distance to everything! Beach, navy pier, millennium park, etc. The hotel is really lovely. I stayed in the historic tower on the 33rd floor and the view was amazing. The service at the hotel is excellent leaving you wanting for nothing.The room was exceptionally nice, huge bathroom with all the amenities including a scale. The gym is 2 stories with plenty of equipment. The pool is indoor and huge. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor in the historic tower or a 1 bedroom suite in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 146barbaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 190 in Chicago
3,448 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,685 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#70 of 190 in Chicago
5,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 872
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing