We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #72 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at this property for two nights with our family (2 adults, 2 small children). Our room was not ready at 2 pm, but was promised for 3. We left our bags with the bellman and valet parked our car ($$$$$$!!!!!). We were told that they would call us as soon as our room was ready, but we never received a call! Luckily, by the time we returned it was ready.
This property is in a great location on Michigan Ave- a few blocks from Navy Pier and the river. Not much of a view from our room. The room was clean and comfortable, if a bit small. The hotel was very busy- looked to be 2 or 3 weddings going on the day we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caseyjmu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,905
    1,375
    542
    211
    143
See reviews for
843
1,039
211
1,441
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Forgot one of my favorite shirt in the closet during my stay there. Called the hotel the next day, but my shirt had mysteriously disappeared. Not even an apology offered. Will not stay at this hotel, and will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 261HTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiana, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear 261HTD,

We apologize for the experience you had during your recent stay. Your feedback has been forwarded to the appropriate department(s) for further review. Please rest assured your response is appreciated. If your schedule permits, please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again!

Malcolm Moore
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel for a business meeting. This is a great location on Michigan Ave, close to shopping, restaurants and businesses. My room was are well appointed and reasonable in size. Everything was clean and in good shape. I got caught in an elevator crunch right at 5 when a big meeting adjourned, so it woul have been nice to have a few more elevators. When I first arrived, I had to go back down to the front desk twice because I couldn't get my key to work. While the staff was very helpful, this was a big frustration at the end of a long day of travel. I probably should have asked for an upgrade because of the hassle. At other high end hotels, I wouldn't have need to ask, they would have offered me something for the trouble.

Room Tip: Higher floors were quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiana, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear cosi cosi,

We apologize for the experience you had during your recent stay. Your feedback has been forwarded to the appropriate department(s) for further review. Please rest assured your response is appreciated. If your schedule permits, please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again!

Malcolm Moore
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked this hotel for a weekend in the Windy City. The hotel is a quite impressive building in the heart of the downtown of Chicago. The lobby and rooms were extremely nice and well maintained. The staff were helpful and courteous and answered any questions that we had about getting around Chicago. The main advantage about this hotel is the location. Walking distance to many of the landmarks in the city and close enough to walk to the subway. The only downside is that there is no Wifi in the rooms and we were forced to go to the lobby and use Starbucks internet connection.
If you want a downtown central location in a nice upscale hotel this is a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theMooseandtheGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed four nights at the InterContinental while on vacation, and was very satisfied with the hotel. I arrived early (around 1pm) and my room wasn't ready yet, but they offered to switch me to a handicapped-accessible room that was ready, and that was fine with me. If you want to drop off your luggage early, and come back later in the day to check in, they'll do that free of charge.

The room wasn't as spectacular as the lobby, but it was attractive, a decent size, in excellent condition and very clean. I'd say the bed was about average in comfort, nothing special, but okay. It was very quiet. The view wasn't much, but that didn't concern me. There's a Starbucks in the lobby, and other dining options within a few blocks walk.

The price was quite reasonable for the location, and the location was fantastic. Taxis out front, bus stops down the block, and a few blocks walk to the riverboats, double-decker bus stop, and Driehaus Museum. It was well worth paying a bit more to stay downtown and not have to waste riding the el train into the city each day.

They do clearly inform you if you remove anything from the stocked mini-fridge for more than X number of minutes you will be charged for it. The list of (exorbitant) prices is right there too. Don't bother unless you're dying of thirst. There is a nice little store in the lobby to buy drinks, snacks, toiletries and such.

On the downside there was no mini-fridge or microwave for anything I might bring back to the room. The charge for Wi-Fi was obscene, around $16 a day. (Geez, it was free at the Econo Lodge.) I kept the laptop packed up and made do with my iPhone.

I arrived in Chicago by Amtrak, so I didn't need to park a car. Parking is hugely expensive, but that's true at every downtown Chicago hotel. If I had a car I probably would have stayed further out and rode the el.

Overall, a great stay, and I recommend the InterContinental Chicago Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fireflite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The InterContinental on Michigan Avenue right in the heart of all of Chicago's attractions, restaurants and shopping. It is just a few blocks from Lake Shore Drive, a terrific route for an early more run or walk.

They offer reasonable rates for clean, comfortable rooms. Like many of the older downtown Chicago hotels, the rooms are a little on the small side. One tip, check out the Camelot themed meeting rooms in the Historic Tower. They are a throw back to a more opulent era with a unique artwork and style.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MDFreqTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have continued to come back to Intercontinental, Mich Ave, Chicago, in large part due to the help provided by Margaret Minosa-Ryan when I was there on business, and again when recently I returned she was just as helpful. Everything ran smoothly. Its a lovely hotel with great location and staff.

Room Tip: Old part of hotel great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing