We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The St. Clair Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveller rating
121
294
283
208
239
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
294
283
208
239
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The cost per night is a bargain when compared to the its location (the magnificent mile). The term "Magnificent Mile" says it all and staying at the heart of this place is the best way to explore Chicago. John Hancock tower and Navy pier are minutes walk and the locality has some of the best restaurants in the area (including Ghirardelli). The rooms are clean and well maintained and staff are polite and professional. This is an excellent place to stay if you are just looking for a place to sleep at night and not spend too much time travelling without paying a fortune.

Excellent location, affordable price, clean rooms, tourist attractions at walking distance and amazing restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: choose the upper floors, you get a better view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My new job booked me to attend a conference in The Loop area of Chicago, but by the time the plans were made, all hotels in the area (including the conference's preferred hotels) were all booked. This was the only reasonably priced option left, due to some other huge medical conference in town during the same dates. The in-room coffee machine, in-room iron and ironing board, and hardwood floors were nice. I usually only need a hot shower and a comfortable bed when I travel for business, but every day, there seemed to be some missed details in this property: the elevator was painfully slow, housekeeping dropped the new bath mat and soap into the tub whenever it serviced the room, there's a charge for using the in-room safe (as if securing your valuables is an additional amenity when it should be a standard consideration), the air conditioning was always turned off so I always came home to a warm and stuffy room, the tub was stained, bathroom drawers were chipped, etc. So I was disappointed because I expected a bit more than "Motel 6" for the price point and the neighborhood location (just one block east of Michigan Avenue/The Magnificent Mile, in the River North area). Unfortunately, all I got was maybe "Howard Johnson" quality, which left much to be desired.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room away from the elevator lobby: constant traffic there, and small hallways make for rapid increases in environmental noise when you least want it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

GREAT location (around the corner from Magnificent Mile), nicely-appointed rooms, the best rates downtown, and the staff is always wonderful and engaged (Michael the manager always makes sure my stay is the best experience! Just left on Saturday, and before I met Michael, Israel- who is no longer there- was great. Araceli at the front desk did her best to accommodate my room requests- highest floor, away from the elevator...). Always the first place I try to book when I come to Chicago. Underrated and best-kept secret!!!

Room Tip: The Magnificent Mile views are great, but if you prefer quiet over view the rooms on the back side of the building are always quiet!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for a conference in June. Took the room because it was located centrally and one of the few rooms available. One block from Michigan ave so great location.

It needs work. The hallway carpet has absorbed a lot of smells, the elevator is small and slow which is to be expected in an old building like this. The lobby furniture was pretty shabby and the business center is a joke.

The room was small but reasonably clean. The flat screen TV had a line down the middle and the sound was distorted badly when the volume was raised to a level you could hear. The wifi didn't work in the corner room I had. The sink and tub didn't drain very well.

I wasn't expecting the Four Seasons but I was expecting better than this.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank TimPA1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel while in Chicago for a conference. I grew concerned when I read previous reviews given some of the criticisms. In my experience the hotel was better than I had been led to expect, but it needs to be seen within expectations one would have for a 2 or 3 star hotel. It is an honest product, the staff were friendly, and accommodations fine (rooms no larger than need be, bathrooms small, and amenities limited but sufficient). I wouldn't shy away from the hotel, but I encourage that expectations be consistent with the nature of a Red Roof Inn ... this isn't a full service hotel, or upscale, but it is more than adequate and comfortable. Its main attraction is the location -- simple ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews