We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile
Ranked #158 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location Location Location!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Nice clean place. Not fancy but great prices for Chicago. I stay here whenever I go to Chicago. The location can not be beat! Right off MI avenue! A couple of blocks and you are on the magnificent Mile. So close to great shopping,dining, and entertainment. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. Free Wi Fi which is great. This place is a really great place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    293
    282
    208
    239
See reviews for
234
248
121
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here due to proximity to Northwestern hospital. Bathroom had mold. No garbage can. Trash on floor in bathroom. Internet doesn't work. We weren't expecting luxury but at 200/night I expect clean.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for luxury, this is NOT the place for you. It's not dirty, in the sense that you can tell they vacuum and clean, but it's OLD. So old that it looks dirty. But that said, if you want to stay for cheap in a great location, you can find that hear. The staff was nice as well

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Mfmvandriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The cost per night is a bargain when compared to the its location (the magnificent mile). The term "Magnificent Mile" says it all and staying at the heart of this place is the best way to explore Chicago. John Hancock tower and Navy pier are minutes walk and the locality has some of the best restaurants in the area (including Ghirardelli). The rooms are clean and well maintained and staff are polite and professional. This is an excellent place to stay if you are just looking for a place to sleep at night and not spend too much time travelling without paying a fortune.

Excellent location, affordable price, clean rooms, tourist attractions at walking distance and amazing restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: choose the upper floors, you get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
430 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My new job booked me to attend a conference in The Loop area of Chicago, but by the time the plans were made, all hotels in the area (including the conference's preferred hotels) were all booked. This was the only reasonably priced option left, due to some other huge medical conference in town during the same dates. The in-room coffee machine, in-room iron and ironing board, and hardwood floors were nice. I usually only need a hot shower and a comfortable bed when I travel for business, but every day, there seemed to be some missed details in this property: the elevator was painfully slow, housekeeping dropped the new bath mat and soap into the tub whenever it serviced the room, there's a charge for using the in-room safe (as if securing your valuables is an additional amenity when it should be a standard consideration), the air conditioning was always turned off so I always came home to a warm and stuffy room, the tub was stained, bathroom drawers were chipped, etc. So I was disappointed because I expected a bit more than "Motel 6" for the price point and the neighborhood location (just one block east of Michigan Avenue/The Magnificent Mile, in the River North area). Unfortunately, all I got was maybe "Howard Johnson" quality, which left much to be desired.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room away from the elevator lobby: constant traffic there, and small hallways m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

GREAT location (around the corner from Magnificent Mile), nicely-appointed rooms, the best rates downtown, and the staff is always wonderful and engaged (Michael the manager always makes sure my stay is the best experience! Just left on Saturday, and before I met Michael, Israel- who is no longer there- was great. Araceli at the front desk did her best to accommodate my room requests- highest floor, away from the elevator...). Always the first place I try to book when I come to Chicago. Underrated and best-kept secret!!!

Room Tip: The Magnificent Mile views are great, but if you prefer quiet over view the rooms on the back side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference in June. Took the room because it was located centrally and one of the few rooms available. One block from Michigan ave so great location.

It needs work. The hallway carpet has absorbed a lot of smells, the elevator is small and slow which is to be expected in an old building like this. The lobby furniture was pretty shabby and the business center is a joke.

The room was small but reasonably clean. The flat screen TV had a line down the middle and the sound was distorted badly when the volume was raised to a level you could hear. The wifi didn't work in the corner room I had. The sink and tub didn't drain very well.

I wasn't expecting the Four Seasons but I was expecting better than this.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TimPA1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#144 of 189 in Chicago
1,756 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile

Property: Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile
Address: 162 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2809
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile 2*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Beginning March 1, 2017, Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown – Magnificent Mile will be temporarily closing. This historic building in the heart of Downtown Chicago will undergo a 360-degree, multi-million dollar renovation; every aspect of the Inn will be touched and we are very excited to reveal this new and improved hotel. Stay tuned, as there are more magnificent details to come!* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Chicago
Red Roof Inn Chicago
Red Roof Inns Chicago
Chicago Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing