We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic decor, great location, adequate room”
Review of Ambassador Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassador Chicago
Ranked #99 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in July. As mentioned in most other reviews, the lobby area is both visually stunning and functional. Watching the Olympics on the projector screen in the screening room was a treat. We had a reservation at the Pump Room for a large party but only wanted drinks, and the manager was kind enough to overrule the uppity hostess and give us a table (it was 11, and there were multiple empty tables).

The hotel accommodated our request for a higher floor room, and that made a difference -- our friends who stayed on the 4th floor had a view of the fire escape and the corridor felt dank. Our room was adequate...

Pros: fairly spacious, airy with a sliver of a view of the lake, walk-in closet, better than expected bathroom, no noise.

Cons: somewhat noisy AC unit, the full length mirror was inside the closet...both minor complaints.

The location was perfect for us. You're fewer than 5 blocks from the lakeshore (go on a run), the Red line, and the north end of the Mag Mile.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank zzzraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Your review was much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to write it. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you in the Pump Room the way we did and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

I have been traveling to Chicago for over a decade - PUBLIC is quite simply the best hotel I've stayed in - personality, character and charm - not to mention incredible service and amazing food. The decor and appointments strike a perfect balance of modern and traditional - all just steps away from the lake. If the atmosphere and location don't seal the deal... the staff surely will. I have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, and the staff at PUBLIC was world class - they took care of me like family and treated me like an old friend. I look forward to many future visits.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel has lake views! I let the staff know I was a light sleeper and they tucked me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review of our property and for recognizing how our staff treats our guests. It is always rewarding to hear that our efforts are noticed. We look forward to your many return vists.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This Ian Schrager hotel is a series of contradictions from an aesthetics standpoint. It has a no-color palate in the rooms and minimalism rules the day, while the lobby, bar and restaurant are all stunningly beautiful. The people who work here are truly service-oriented and you will have whatever you need while on business, so a major plus for that. Additionally, as mentioned, the hotel is anchored by a great bar and exceptional restaurant, so that is also a big plus.

It should come as no surprise that Public does not cater to everybody. If you are looking for a quiet place on a Saturday night than this is probably not your best bet. If you're looking for a fun boutique experience with great service and interesting concepts than Public is absolutely worth a try.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you very much for the very objective review of our hotel following your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to having you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Hotel was clean. Room was clean. Mattress was terrible. A/C Sufficient. I would stay there again provided they had new mattresses. All the amenities in the world mean nothing without a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We did just recently change out every mattress in the hotel to provide our guests with a more comfortable night's sleep and have received overwhelmingly positive reviews about our new mattresses. Please contact me directly the next time you come to Chicago so that we can ensure a good night's sleep for you as well.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The building is beautiful and the hotel offers large bedrooms...
Service is great and top of it all the hotel offers a busy bar/restaurant.This is the perfect hotel if you do not like the big chains without personality yet want a high service level..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernandoSpnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you very much for the great review of PUBLIC Chicago! We are excited that you enjoyed our hotel and the service we provide to our guest and thank you for recommending us to others.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The public areas are great, as noted in other reviews. Rooms are nice, good furnishings, etc., a little dated in space, but that's what you get in an older building. If you want 2012, then go to a brand new hotel. What makes Public special is its people who are friendly and helpful and its location. You're in a residential neighborhood, but closest enough to the tourist stuff that you can stand on either side of the fence: local/tourist. There are some good restaurants right there. The L is close. Public will be our Chicago hotel from now on. I forgot: it's also very quiet in the hotel.

Room Tip: Book direct through the hotel. they gave us a pretty good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealEndres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you very much for the review you wrote following your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and particularly the service we provide so much that you are going to make us your hotel of choice in Chicago.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I knew this property (booked for me by an employer) had undergone a high-style extreme makeover. Evidently the target market is people younger than 40. To my eyes, the corridors (painted a uniform drab brown) were under-illuminated--suggestive of a low-budget establishment. Speaking of low, the beds and night stands are very low to the floor--not for people who might have bad knees.

The room's heating/ac unit on the wall, reminiscent of units typical to motels, put out plenty of cold air--but also a considerable rattling. Maybe it was intended to double as a white-noise machine. If you want ice, check the notice on the elevator to see which floors are graced with an ice machine; most aren't.

I'd been warned there were no in-room coffee makers, so I brought my own. But I hadn't realized the stylish bathroom sinks were flat-bottomed, and therefore reluctant to drain completely.

On the positive side, the person who checked me in was very friendly and helpful, and she advised me of the easy-to-follow directions for the excellent wi-fi service. If you're in the young target demographic, you'll likely love the place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. While we are sorry that you didn't enjoy our facility as much as we would like all our guests to enjoy it, we are thrilled that you recognized us for delivering a superior level of service and free WiFi service.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,905 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#78 of 192 in Chicago
1,615 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Chicago

Address: 1301 N State Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly PUBLIC Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £102 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rich history rooted in Chicago’s Jazz Age, Ambassador Chicago is the city’s original boutique hotel dating back to 1926. Located in the heart of the Gold Coast, the iconic property has hosted the who’s who of the 20th and 21st centuries having served as a local beacon to countless celebrities. Uniquely individual, Ambassador Chicago is nestled among graceful mansions in a quiet, gilded neighborhood tucked into the center of the Windy City offering incredible views of Lake Michigan with easy access to Chicago’s main shopping boulevard, Michigan Avenue. With 285 spacious guestrooms, a 24-hour fitness center, two restaurants, thoughtful programming and amenities curated by local artisans and chefs, Ambassador Chicago maintains its distinct and legendary character while offering guests an authentic Chicago experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing