We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location great but could hear my neighbor sneezing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PUBLIC Chicago
Ranked #91 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location great but could hear my neighbor sneezing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Public is a very good hotel, very trendy and great location. The only problem is that at least in my case, i could listen my neighbor's conversation, sneezing and all sort of personal noises, conversations etc. Not a great experience for me ar least.....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent stay and please accept my apologies for the sound issues you encountered. We continue to identify areas that are in need of additional sound proofing and comments such as yours greatly assist in these efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    424
    247
    95
    52
See reviews for
239
479
86
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel is no-frills and functional, but I wouldn't dream of calling it luxury. Check in was miserable. There was a problem with our hotel block so each person had to get the bride and groom's confirmation. We sat down to wait. When confirmed no one came to tell us. After 30 minutes we walked back to the front desk. They'd forgotten. Computers downstairs with no printers. The hallways are the worst shade of brown top to bottom (dark and scary was frequently heard) and could use a good cleaning. The rooms are functional cozy and cheaply furnished. There is an office chair (an ugly sheepskin thrown on top probably designed to be hipster) with your typical folding college dorm lamp. No art on the walls, no alarm clock. The carpet was cheapest available reminiscent of a day care. A ledge (modern perhaps) instead of any drawers to put stuff. The bathroom is old. Again it doesn't have the granite or tile that is typical in hotels. Instead the toilet is the gas station standard that has the bar you kick to flush and the tub/shower is builder grade. No breakfast, no happy hour specials at the bar. You'd do better at a Hilton but if you get a great deal, it's a perfectly acceptable place. Probably 2.5 stars would be better as the bellmen were very friendly and always had cabs ready. Location is just a few blocks from the red line but not walking distance to anything. On Saturday night the bar downstairs was packed so great place to party.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhantomVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
We appreciate your candid feedback and regret that PUBLIC Chicago failed to meet your expectations during your stay, even though you enjoyed the vibe in our bars. It is unfortunate to read that you are not a fan of our renovated hotel and guestroom design, which are generally receiving rave reviews.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Public Hotel in Chicago for three nights over Labor Day Weekend. The positives were that the location was just two blocks from Lake Michigan and six blocks from a Red Line stop. It was only two blocks from many restaurants, bars, and shopping opportunities. There was public parking across the street. The hotel itself has a very popular bar and restaurant which was packed every night we were there. Great place to hang out if you want to see and be seen. The hotel offers bicycles which you can borrow for free. Wireless wifi is included with each room. Their service was fast and friendly. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. When we called down about a light bulb which had burned out, facilities was there within minutes to replace it.

The negatives were that the pillows were flat and offered no support. The rooms are small. There are no drawers to store your belongings. The bathroom is tiny. I’m not a large guy but when using the toilet, one leg was pressed against the sink and the other against the door frame. I’m not sure really large people would actually be able to sit down. There was no sheet between the comforter and us while sleeping so be prepared to turn down the thermostat so you can keep the comforter on OR turn up the thermostat so you can sleep completely exposed. Speaking of the air-conditioning/heater, if the window curtain is closed, it completely covers the vent. So if you want to feel the heat or the cold you have to leave the curtain open. There is no fan in the bathroom so if you shut the door while showering, the mirror will fog up. Perhaps most annoying was that there was no coffee in the room and it was $3.75 for a cup of black coffee at the bar.

For downtown Chicago this was not a bad price. There’s definitely a happening vibe with lots of people hanging out if the evenings. However there were enough idiosyncrasies about the room that I would look elsewhere for a place to stay.

Room Tip: The elevators are really slow so you might actually be better off closer to ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel following your Labor Day weekend stay and for pointing out both what you liked and what you didn't like about our hotel. We take all comments very seriuosly and always try and find ways to improve on the experience our guests have.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Lobby was very hip, staff was very nice but nobody took our bags up to our room for us. We had a small room but it was all that we really needed since we only slept in the hotel room. Sheets and mattress were fantastic, as were the towels and closet space. Only complaint is that they must have done some repair work in our room over a panel and didn't blend the drywall in with it. Splotchy work.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review following your recent visit to PUBLIC Chicago. I am sorry that the room you occupied wasn't perfect, but will make sure that we do a better job with repair work going forward. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stay on 9-2-12, Room was spotless, very comfortable beds and pillows the night views were spectacular of the skyline. Bathrooms were spacious. Staff was very helpful and professional.
The Pump room was really neat as was the Library.
Went down stairs to see the old photos of the past guests (Marilyn Monroe, Fred Astaire, Lucille Ball etc) I will stay again. Within walking distance of Rush street and Michigan Avenue, And about a $7 cab ride to Navy Pier.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fordman9870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Labor day stay with us and wish to thank you for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor. Please come and see us again sometime soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

from the moment i arrived i was greeted cheerfully by the attendants outside who helped me to the lobby to check in. Well, the lobby is so impressive, vast with high ceilings. the famous Pump Room to my left and another lounge area to my right were cool and very hip. The check-in clerk was very attentive and helpful. Everyone working was eager to please. Then i went to my room, opened the door and i couldn't believe it. Smaller than any dorm room it was stark and cold and utterly dismal. i have never had in any hotel where i have stayed a room like this. to make it worse it was next to the elevator which i could hear at all times of the day and night. were it not for the AC fan to buffer the noise i don't know what i would have done. there was no fan in the bathroom either which was weird to me since it too was very small. BTW the toilet didn't completely flush unless i held the handle down for its run through. The concept here is "Public Express" and borders a no frills behind the sleek lobby facade. breakfast was limited on the room menu and in the restaurant $17.00 for eggs, toast, a meat of choice and potatoes. much less expensive for the same at the LUX and Tavern on Rush. Would I stay here again.? Quite simply no. Do I think this hotel deserves a 4 star rating? Definitely no. It's average and simply not that much better than the Tremont, a 3 star hotel only because of its location off Michigan Ave. and Rush St. Just pretty darn poor.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
I was very happy to hear that our staff provided you with the high level of service we are becoming known for. I was sad to hear that you did not like the room you stayed in or the PUBLIC Express concept, which is generally very well received because of the speed in which breakfast and lunch orders arrive in your room. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly should you decide to give us another try the next time you are in Chicago.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed in a suite here for a weekend visiting relatives. First of all, I've been to other Ian Schrager hotels, and this kind sir, is not worthy of you. It's obnoxious to call this a luxury hotel. There are cost-cutting measures galore. To wit: Room service breakfast and lunch arrives in paper bags with plastic plates. There is no espresso or cappuccino available for room service, just coffee that quite honestly tasted like cigarettes in hot water. The mattresses are one step above futons. The pillows are flat and thin. The toiletries are teeny tiny. The air conditioning is ancient, loud and blasting. The shower curtain comes from Target. It also does that thing where it wraps around you as you try to shower. The entire bathroom is cramped, with one sink, a tub shower--for a suite! The minibar has Red Bull, good, but where is a decent array of foxy cool drink selections. This is the man who started Studio 54!
The lobby, for Chicago, may be a revelation, but it's an unimaginative bit of luxe compared to the Delano in Miami, the Royalton in NYC and the now closed Gramercy Park Hotel in NYC.
The concierge needs a refresher course in the nabe. We asked for a bar, he sent us to what he called a wine bar, but was a tired restaurant where people were watching sports and drinking beer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYtravelbird5912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our hotel or your stay with us. Should you decide to give us another try on your next visit to Chicago, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#67 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#52 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,352 reviews
The James Chicago
#46 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PUBLIC Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PUBLIC Chicago

Property: PUBLIC Chicago
Address: 1301 N State Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-2334 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PUBLIC Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PUBLIC, conceived by Ian Schrager, is an entirely new class of hotel. Its fundamental attributes are innovative, sophisticated, authentic style; spot-on, personalized, empathetic "essential" service; lasting comfort with complete functionality, all at an affordable price and offering tremendous value. For the first time, this type of hotel experience will be available for everyone and anyone who wants it ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your PUBLIC Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing