We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Stay”
Review of Ambassador Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Chicago
Ranked #102 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Wanted to stay in the Gold Coast neighborhood and this was our first choice.
I made the reservations (2 rooms), my husband checked in with 2 different reservations numbers, and the second reservation could not be found. Luckily there was availability and they honored the fare for the second room. When we went to the front desk later in the night, we gave the name in which the second room was under and they found the reservation right away and subsequently canceled it. I'm still baffled as why they couldn't find it with their hotel confirmation number, but could with the name. Staff apologized. Upgraded both rooms to a king suite which was a pleasant surprise.
Had a nightcap in the Library bar, $28 without tip for 2 drinks, considering the area probably close to the norm.
We choose a rate that for $5 more included the Public Express Breakfast~ highly recommended, and a delicious breakfast delivered to the room (knock & drop) in 10 mins or less. We received a phone call from the restaurant when ours would be a few minutes late. Final bill included the cost of the Public Express breakfast (in error) and was promptly removed when my husband pointed it out.
Will definitely consider staying again, when looking for a hotel in the neighborhood!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIcalobeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear MIcalobeco,

Please accept my sincerest apologies with regards to the confusion upon your check-in. I have addressed the issues with my Front Desk team to ensure such issues don't occur for you or other guests. I am extremely happy you enjoyed our PUBLIC express option for breakfast, and I am glad we were able to resolve the billing issue at departure. Please contact me directly when you do plan to return so I can personally assist with your arrangements. I can be contacted at 3122296700, or kday@publichotels.com.

Best regards.

Kathryn Day
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

It is so rare that one will find a trendy and hip hotel with a staff that is friendly and helpful - For those of you who have not discovered The Public Chicago, you'll want to give it a try when next visiting "The Windy City".

Once you meet Kathryn Day, general manager, you will understand why this place operates the way it does. I have stayed at many less stylish hotels throughout my former career as a photographer and many times just felt disappointed with the lack of friendly service - a cold experience.

The rooms are large, comfortable, and stylish. The Pump room is second to none for dining and cocktails. Do yourself a favor and stay in the hotel one night for dinner. During the afternoon check out the Library and Coffee Bar for a beverage and snack and then again prior to dinner for excellent cocktails.

Oh - forgot to mention the great location of The Public. Close to Lincoln Park, right in the middle of The Gold Coast, and just a few blocks from the restaurants and shops of Oak Street and Michigan Avenue. I guess you can tell that I'm a huge fan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Lou S,

Thank you for your review of your stay at PUBLIC Chicago. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and the service my team provide to our guests. I am extremely proud of them and their passion for what they do. I am so glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the Pump Room and the amazing food and cocktails available there, as well as our cozy, yet vibrant Library Bar. I am super excited you are a fan of my hotel and can’t wait to personally welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Kathryn Day
General Manager
kday@publichotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

---was made perfect by staying at this hotel --spotless ,courteous friendly helpful staff,--I will be back..THe Pump room served exceptional food ,and service second to none ,very helpful when checking out---even printed our boarding passes for us.

Room Tip: FIrst time staying so no comparison Maybe go higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AWK1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear AWK1950,

I am thrilled you enjoyed the service of my exceptional team of staff. I am so proud of the service they deliver as well as our Michelin Bib awarded Pump Room team partner. On behalf of my team and myself look forward to welcome you again to the PUBLIC Chicago and the Pump room.

Sincerely,

Kathryn Day
General Manager
kday@publichotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed in early December 2013 for a two day business meeting. The location is good, the lobby is reasonably cool, and the room was fine. For a business meeting though, I want a room with good desk space (and pen and paper readily available).

Room was clean but I had trouble getting the heater to get above 65 degrees. Not the end of the world, but I expect better when traveling.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear David M,

I appreciate the time you have taken to review your experience with us at PUBLIC Chicago. Thank your or your feedback with regards to the room. Our hotel has a range of room options available that are fitted with large working desks. Please accept my apologies with regards to the heating unit in your room; as you noted this should not be a concern when travelling. I encourage you to contact me directly when you return to this area so I can personally ensure on your next visit that he room is equipped with a supply of paper and pens to assist you to be able to work efficiently. I can be contacted at 312 229 6700 or at kday@publichotels.com to assist with your arrangements.

Sincerely,
Kathryn Day
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I celebrated a Birthday with 15 friends by dinning at the Pump Room and staying at the Public Hotel. From the first moment I checked in to the next day when I checked out, I was treated with Class. The hotel Bar and Pump Room had a great buzz about it with professionals and visitors alike. The food was excellent and the service was second to none. The GM Kathryn and Pump Room manager Owen were accommodating and warm and attended to my every need. I have staid at numerous hotels all over the country and you will not find a better value in any city than The PUBLIC Chicago.

Great time looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvlasich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear mvlasich,

I am so happy that you and your friends choose the PUBLIC Chicago for your birthday celebration and so glad you enjoyed the Ambiance and food of our Michelin Bib awarded Pump Room. Thank you for your acknowledgment of our Director of Food and Beverage, Owen Deignan, who is an asset to our property.

We look forward to your next visit with us when you return to Chicago.

Best regards,
Kathryn Day
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Service is their motto and they live by it. The atmosphere is a cozy minimalist, if there can be such a thing which there is with the wit in the design. Beds, pillows and linens are the top of the line and very comfortable. Shower pressure is like wonderful. Located in the Gold Coast just 2 blocks from Michigan Ave, who can ask for more?... And the holiday price was a steal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Tamara K,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at PUBLIC Chicago. I am glad your enjoyed the service my team delivers, the cozy minimalistic design, our comfortable beds and our great location in the heart of the Gold Coast. We look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely

Kathryn Day
General Manager
kday@publichotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Historic ambassador east was transformed into a hip and friendly hotel
The accommodations are lovely and the staff is very personable and accommodating
We were really impressed. The general manager Kathryn Day is very hands on!
We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellnicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Nellnicko,
Thank you for the wonderful comments! I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and am pleased that you had such a memorable experience. I am very proud of our transformation into PUBLIC and am even more proud of our exceptional team. I have shared your lovely compliments with them, for an impressive stay like yours is the experience we aim to create for every guest. Thank you again for your loyalty and I hope that you continue to choose to stay with us in the very near future.


Sincerely,

Kathryn Day
General Manager
kday@publichotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#79 of 192 in Chicago
1,663 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
3,007 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 192 in Chicago
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Chicago

Address: 1301 N State Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly PUBLIC Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £82 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rich history rooted in Chicago’s Jazz Age, Ambassador Chicago is the city’s original boutique hotel dating back to 1926. Located in the heart of the Gold Coast, the iconic property has hosted the who’s who of the 20th and 21st centuries having served as a local beacon to countless celebrities. Uniquely individual, Ambassador Chicago is nestled among graceful mansions in a quiet, gilded neighborhood tucked into the center of the Windy City offering incredible views of Lake Michigan with easy access to Chicago’s main shopping boulevard, Michigan Avenue. With 285 spacious guestrooms, a 24-hour fitness center, two restaurants, thoughtful programming and amenities curated by local artisans and chefs, Ambassador Chicago maintains its distinct and legendary character while offering guests an authentic Chicago experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambassador Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing