We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Bride”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PUBLIC Chicago
Ranked #90 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happy Bride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I reserved a block of rooms and stayed here for my wedding. We got a great rate for a very busy weekend in Chicago. I found the hotel to be very accommodating and seemed to effortlessly meet all of my specific "bride" requests ( bar stool for make up, low chair for hair, room on a certain side of the hotel, above a certain floor, room close to my matron of honor and parents.) They allowed us use of a terrace for pre wedding photos. I would have liked if they allowed pictures in the fab lobby-this was the only policy I didn't care for. Overall, they were wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColleenS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear ColleenS19,

Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for allowing us to be part of such a special day! I am thrilled we were able to meet your every need. My team and I look forward to welcome you back for many more special events.

Sincerely,

Kathryn Day
General Manager
kday@publichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    423
    247
    95
    52
See reviews for
239
479
85
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This absolutely stunning hotel is not to be missed! The service exceeded my expectations at every turn! The decor in both the common areas and the guest rooms is very comforting. This was our first stay, but it won't be our last!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waukeshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Waukeshaws,

Thank you for the lovely review! I am so proud that our team was able to create a memorable experience for you, and I certainly hope that you continue to stay with us in the future. We strive for excellence in service and a guest experience such as yours makes all of our efforts worthwhile. Please feel free to contact me when returning to the area, I would love to assist with planning your next visit.

Sincerely,

Kathryn Day
General Manager
kday@publichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We recently had the need to stay overnight with our dog in a hotel near Evanston, Illinois, and found a beautiful hotel, the Public, just a tad north of downtown Chicago. It is in a lovely, quiet residential area, and we found the staff so very friendly and helpful. There is a parking lot across the street (hourly charge, of course), and I believe the hotel has valet parking as well. The rooms have a very neutral color theme, and are lovely, clean and comfortable. The public rooms are lovely, too, with a coffee bar and a very good restaurant on the first floor. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. It is especially helpful that they accept pets, although there is a limit to the size and number (no more than two dogs, I believe, under 50 pounds total -- no cows allowed, as their website states!). There is a $125 non-refundable pet fee, though, so be aware of that going in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Debra B,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed such a memorable experience in our care, and I hope that you continue to choose our hotel when visiting to Chicago. It is an immense pleasure to accommodate your pets, for we always welcome the entire family to enjoy everything we have to offer. Please feel free to contact me when planning your next visit to the area, I would love to assist with the arrangements.

Sincerely,

Kathryn Day
General Manager
kday@publichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great location, the staff goes out of their way to please. The location is right next to all the restaurants and night life found near Rush and Division and a block from the beaches of Lake Michigan.

In a quiet neighborhood setting its only a couple blocks to Division a short ride to Old Town, Lincoln Park and closer to Wrigley than any of the Hotels in the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRB1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear JRB1714,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! As you noted, we are nestled in the beautiful Gold Coast neighborhood; and I am so elated that you were able to enjoy it as much as we do. Please feel free to contact me when planning your next visit, I look forward to the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Sincerely,

Kathryn Day
General Manager
kday@publichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I live in Chicago but decided to stay at the Public overnight to celebrate my birthday. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. From the time I arrived until I left everyone was wishing me a happy birthday because it was noted in my reservation that i would be celebrating my birthday which caught me by surprise. The rooms were very clean, warm and inviting. I had a suite with a beautiful view of the snow which was very cool considering the rooms are decorated in all white. It was like standing in a snow globe which somehow made me apprecciate the beauty of Chicago winter. I had a number of friends join me in the Library (bar) for cocktails. My group was larger than anticipated but the staff worked very hard to accomodate us. I really had a wonderful time and will definitely consider the Public for my next staycation!!!!

Room Tip: A lot of locals gather at the Pump Room and the Library on the weekends. If you are staying at the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Aspivey,

Thank you so much for the kind thoughts! I am so pleased you enjoyed such a wonderful birthday celebration with us, and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon. Please contact me directly if I can be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Kathryn Day
General Manager
kday@publichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We reserved 47 rooms at the Public Hotel for a wedding. The staff was over-the-top professional, friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel pristine, the food was fabulous and the service was excellent. From check-in to check-out we enjoyed our experience. The Pump Room, lounge and coffee bar areas are amazing. Very Chic!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Bonnie V,

It was such a pleasure to host your family and friends for such a special occasion! My team and I at PUBLIC Chicago are thrilled to have been included in your wedding celebrations. We look forward to welcome you back for many future celebrations. Thank you again,

Sincerely,
Kathryn Day
General Manager
kday@publichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer Glen, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Public Chicago is on a beautiful tree lined street with classic brownstones, just enough off the "beaten path", but close enough for (less than 1/2 mile) to Chicago night life on Rush St, and less than a mile to the heart of the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave. Dining in The Pump Room is a must, and don't miss the pictures of all the celebrity guests who have dined in Booth #1 over the years (downstairs by the restrooms).

Room Tip: Request a high floor with a south view for city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Rob M,

I am so glad you had a wonderful stay with us at PUBLIC Chicago and you enjoyed your dinner at the Pump Room. I look forward to welcome you back in the very near future for another getaway. Please contact me directly when you plan to stay with us again.

Sincerely

Kathryn Day
General Manager
kday@publichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#66 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#52 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
The James Chicago
#45 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PUBLIC Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PUBLIC Chicago

Property: PUBLIC Chicago
Address: 1301 N State Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-2334 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PUBLIC Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PUBLIC, conceived by Ian Schrager, is an entirely new class of hotel. Its fundamental attributes are innovative, sophisticated, authentic style; spot-on, personalized, empathetic "essential" service; lasting comfort with complete functionality, all at an affordable price and offering tremendous value. For the first time, this type of hotel experience will be available for everyone and anyone who wants it ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your PUBLIC Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing