We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, Chic Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PUBLIC Chicago
Ranked #88 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely, Chic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My room at the PUBLIC was comfortable and quiet (something I am picky about). The beds were comfortable and the linens were nicely pressed. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and very professional. The coffee bar was cozy, the restaurant is amazing and the bar at night is relaxing. The only concern and difficulty was the elevator. I realize it is an old building but wait for the elevator is annoying. That being said, I would stay here again but on a lower floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower levels otherwise the wait for the elevator is longer than you think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear VinoGal,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback from your stay with us at PUBLIC. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed not only our comfortable beds, but you also had the opportunity to enjoy coffee in our cozy Library and dine in our iconic Pump Room restaurant. We take great pride in our service at PUBLIC and it is great to hear that our Front Desk Agent exceeded your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to wait for our elevators to get back to your guest room.

We look forward to you choosing PUBLIC the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    410
    237
    91
    50
See reviews for
221
471
82
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CoralGables, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I too, purchased an incredible deal on Jetsetter for this hotel. We arrived at 10:00 a.m. and they let us check in (two rooms) early as well! The staff is incredibly polished and professional, the hotel has been beautifully restored with comfortably cozy common areas, the food is fantastic in the Library breakfast bar and in the Pump Room Bar, and my room (5th floor) and bathroom were spacious and clean. The beds are low-profile and have a decent mattress - I would have preferred a better quality mattress, but I slept comfortably regardless. My adult children stayed in another room on another floor and they were pleased with their room as well. I was initially concerned (since it's a popular place) that it might be loud and busy on weekends, but it was not so at all. The hotel lobby and bar scene were vibrant and energetic, but our rooms were quiet. It was a comfortable and easy walk (Spring!) to every place we wanted to go. I rated the hotel as Excellent based on my experience and the great value for a hotel of this calibre. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: My fifth floor east side room (far away from the elevator) was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Lori330,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience while staying here with us at PUBLIC. Sounds like you and your family had an enjoyable time together while in Chicago and had the opportunity to try our Chef Jean George menu offerings in the Library Bar and the Pump Room.
We look forward to you and your family staying with us at PUBLIC the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

A group of 8 stayed at the Public during a 3-day meeting in Chicago. We stayed there after I had highly recommended it after a previous stay earlier in the year. The rooms were great (we all had couches, you need a couch!), the library and coffee bar were cool with good food, service, etc. And the Public Express, a gourmet lunch in a bag is really cool (though expensive). The area is fun, lots of restaurants around, and easy to get around on foot! Our experience really was nice until we checked out. Two people had erroneous charges from the hotel bar and restaurant from evenings when we weren't even in the hotel, but had gone out for dinner/drinks. The hotel did clear things up and removed the charges (after we checked out and returned to the office), but it really turned the experience into a downer. Also, because of how the false charges were expensed to the rooms we were very concerned about possible future issues with personal information. To date we don't know what management found after their investigation or even if there was an investigation. This could have been such a great experience as there were so many positives, and I had such a great experience the first time, but sadly, I (we) won't go back. The people for which I set up this meeting travel extensively, internationally, and understand the ins and outs of hotels and some of the issues that one can experience while traveling, and even they will not return.

Room Tip: If you want quiet stay on a higher floor, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quietlycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear quietlycool,

We are extremely disappointed to hear about your check out experience at PUBLIC. It is unfortunate that your positive PUBLIC Chicago experience ended with errors on your final bill. We are happy to hear that the charges were removed from your bill once returning home. Please accept our sincerest apology for this error. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chicago and had the opportunity to try our PUBLIC Express.

Please feel free to reach out to us so that we can apologize in person and also see what we can do to ensure you will choose to stay at PUBLIC during your next visit to Chicago.

We look forward to the opportunity to speak in person.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The lobby and bar at the Public hotel are fantastic as is the restaurant. Our hotel room was less so - very small. The halls were dark and uninviting. There was a room service tray in the hallway for all day awaiting pickup. Our room (308) had a hole in the carpet and the lamb skin cover on the chair seemed overused and dirty. Not enough towels for 2 people even though the reservation was for two. No place to put anything in the bathroom and the sink, although it was cool to look at, was uncomfortable to use. You could barely fit your hands under the stream of water. Form+function is the design goal. This fell short.
Sunday am call for roomservice required 4 tries as no one picked up the phone
Checked out and we were charged for roomservice breakfast when it was included in the room rate. Person at the desk asked me if i wanted a receipt when we checked out. If i hadn't gotten it, I may not have realized we were overcharged. The guy checking out next to me had numerous erroneous charges on his bill.
Charging 0.69 cents to print out a boarding pass in the business center is very bad taste especially in a chic hotel like the PUBLIC.
Our friends live across the street so we would stay again, but the services and actual rooms are not on par with the lobby and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear LindieNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry that you experienced several short falls while staying with us a PUBLIC. We strongly value each guest’s feedback as it is necessary to help us improve our guest experience. We are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we may further discuss your stay so that the next time you are in Chicago visiting your friends in the neighborhood you will choose to stay with us at PUBLIC.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here for a girls weekend with a total of four women. We did a two bedroom suite (king size bedroom and pullout couch). When we went to take down the pullout bed, we realized there were no sheets. We called down to the lobby and the concierge immediately sent up two people to make our bed with fluffy sheets and pillows. Beds were comfortable, room was incredibly clean and the service was fantastic!

In the morning, we went down to get cappuccinos in the coffee bar and I hate to say it, but they were even better than Starbucks (my usual coffee spot). I definitely recommend this hotel and the location truly cannot be beat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newmanm500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Newmanm500,

We are thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed your girl’s weekend while staying at PUBLIC Chicago. We apologize for the pullout bed not being prepared in advance, but we are happy to hear that our staff took care of the situation immediately. Yes, we couldn’t agree more about our La Colombe Coffee. Our Library Coffee Bar is a perfect spot to grab a cup of coffee to relax next to our cozy fireplace or grab cup on your way out the door.

We look forward to you and your friends choosing PUBLIC the next time you are visiting the city!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I got a deal on JetSetter.com and it was a perfect stay! We arrived very early in the day and they let us check in early (like 7 hours early!). The hotel & rooms were gorgeous with a clean/fresh feel with modern decor. I'm definitely staying here when I return to Chicago.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Micah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Micah L,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at PUBLIC! We are always very happy when we can get our guests checked in early to begin enjoying their experience with us at PUBLIC.

We look forward to you choosing PUBLIC the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The website makes Public Hotel look way fancier than it really is. The lobby and common spaces are actually quite nice and enjoyable, but for $200/night in a deluxe room (an upgrade to the standard), the room really had nothing special to offer. The shower was a step-in bathtub, the bed was super low to the ground (but comfortable), views of surrounding tall buildings that were definitely nothing to brag about even though the front desk girl sold me on the upgrade because of the "view," the woodwork was dated, and it was was clear that the painters just slapped on tons of extra coats of paint that make everything look "thick" of paint. The walls were also very thin. I could the very casual conversation in the room next to me very well. Also, the desk and bed furniture looks like it came from IKEA. Honestly, I would have rather stayed at a Marriott. I had hoped to discover something unique which is why I opted for a non-chain this time, but I was let down. The staff, however, was friendly and the hotel was clean. I just wasn't "wow'd" like I should have been at $200/night, especially since the hotel is off the beaten path and not particualrly close to anything that you wouldn't need a taxi for. I would have been happy if this was $125/night or less.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear RFrankie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We strongly value each guest’s feedback as it is necessary to help us improve our guest experience. We are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your room accommodations. We are pleased to hear our staff provided a friendly service to you during your stay and you were able to enjoy our lobby and restaurant area.

Please feel free to contact us directly to further discuss your stay so that the next time you are in Chicago you will choose to stay with us at PUBLIC.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#63 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,277 reviews
The James Chicago
#44 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PUBLIC Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PUBLIC Chicago

Property: PUBLIC Chicago
Address: 1301 N State Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-2334 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#53 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PUBLIC Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PUBLIC, conceived by Ian Schrager, is an entirely new class of hotel. Its fundamental attributes are innovative, sophisticated, authentic style; spot-on, personalized, empathetic "essential" service; lasting comfort with complete functionality, all at an affordable price and offering tremendous value. For the first time, this type of hotel experience will be available for everyone and anyone who wants it ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your PUBLIC Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing