We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
PUBLIC Chicago
Ranked #90 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My sisters and I spent the weekend at Public, which is an Ian Shrager hotel. It had a great location. Located within easy walking distance to Michigan Avenue and the lake. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel was a great place to walk and look at beautiful homes. The staff were great, all willing to accommodate us. Two of us stayed in the Michael Jordan suite, which ended up being a great place for the family to congregate. The white rugs in this suite need to be replaced. It was apparent that the rugs must have gotten soaked at one time and were now stained. The beds were a little hard for my taste, but my sisters loved them. Great city, great location!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieW126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi DebbieW126!

I am so happy you enjoyed your sister’s weekend with us at PUBLIC! I couldn’t agree with you more about our charming Gold Coast neighborhood that is filled with beautiful homes and a rich Chicago history. With this gorgeous Chicago weather, who wouldn’t want to walk to the lake for some sun and sand in between their toes? Did you know we also offer complimentary bikes to our guests? They are available on a first come first serve basis, but another great way to go to the beach. Our Michael Jordan suite is one of our most popular celebrity suites and I am pleased to hear it accommodated your family gathering.

On behalf of all of us at PUBLIC, we look forward to you staying with us again on your next sister’s weekend in Chicago!

Sincerely,
JJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    413
    238
    91
    50
See reviews for
223
472
83
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Modern feel, clean design. Comfortable bar with efficient and friendly service. Decent restaurant.
Rooms are functional with good working environment.

A little bit out of the way, certainly seemed to be some way outside the taxi drivers' routes. Waits for a cab in the morning could easily be 15 minutes+ and I found it more reliable to walk to the nearest CTA station - even with the temperature at -20C.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKDjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear UKDjh,

We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay at PUBLIC and are disappointed that you did not feel your stay was special. We sincerely apologize for your transportation challenges with the taxi cabs during a very cold winter in Chicago. We are aware of the difficulty in getting a taxi cab and know our bellman work very hard to flag down taxi cab drivers so that our guests are not inconvenienced. We are happy to hear you were able to experience our bar and indulge at our iconic Pump Room restaurant.

We hope that you will choose to stay PUBLIC the next time you are in Chicago so we can provide you will an experience that leaves your feeling special!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caruthers
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Clean, modern design. A little small, but friendly staff.
A little pricey, but it is Chicago. The neighborhood was lovely, clean and we feel safe walking to different restaurants in the area. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Connie M,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at PUBLIC and would join us again when you return to Chicago. Since we are located in Chicago’s Gold Coast neighborhood, we are within walking distance of several restaurants. We must mention that PUBLIC is the location of Chicago’s iconic Pump Room, which provides our guests with the option of breakfast, lunch and dinner every day and brunch on the weekends.

We look forward to seeing you at PUBLIC the next time you are in the city!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Good: Historic building well restored, good service, no-nonsense yet uber-cool room design
Bad: lighting could be brighter, ladies do need to do their make up you know?
Ugly: me, the people in the bar were way too gorgeous :-)

Room Tip: Rooms facing south might be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Stuti,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at PUBLIC. We appreciate your kind words about the renovation of our historic building. Our property was originally built in 1926 and we couldn’t be more proud to have our very first PUBLIC Hotel in such an iconic location in the great city of Chicago. We also take great pride in providing a friendly, unique guest experience along with comfortable guest rooms. We are happy to hear that you were able to spend some time at our very popular bar that serves a variety of our specialty cocktails.

Thank you for sharing your feedback about the guest room lighting. We hope that you will choose PUBLIC the next time you are visiting Chicago.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

While I can pretty easily justify $225 for a great boutique hotel, paying that much for a room at Public feels like a huge rip off. The walls are thin, the rooms are nice but not particularly special, and all of the extras- from the $56 valet parking to the $125 pet fee to the $4 coffee and $6 m&ms- leave you feeling nickle and dimed and utterly dissatisfied. When paying this much for a room, I expect great products in the bathroom (they neglected to provide), extremely helpful staff (when I inquired why our wedding group rate was so much higher than other guests, the front desk told me to never book through the hotel and that I was out of luck), and little perks, like at the very least, free coffee. There's a snobbishness about this hotel that could be overlooked if the quality were there, but the fact that two separate guests I didn't know offered unsolicited complaints about their stay to us, it's pretty obvious Public is falling short.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BrooklynSalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear BrooklynSalynn,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback on your stay at PUBLIC Chicago. We are happy to hear that you felt our staff was extremely helpful during your stay. However, we apologize that you were disappointed with the amenities and cost associated with our valet and pet fee. Our valet is one of the cheapest in the area, but we can understand how it seems pricey.

We want all of our guests to have a special experience when they stay at PUBLIC and we are truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Please feel free to contact the hotel to speak with the Manager on Duty if you would like to discuss your experience further.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Had great stay at this hotel, loved the design and great staff. Put your trust in Terry the concierge for restaurants, cocktails and tours, he will look after you! We loved Chicago and this was the perfect base for us. Would love to come again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Natalie B,

Thank you for your kinds words about your recent stay at PUBLIC Chicago! We are very pleased to hear that you loved the hotel design and our staff who work very hard to deliver a unique experience to all of our guests. We will be sure to let Terry know how much you enjoyed his concierge services while staying with us.

We look forward to you choosing PUBLIC the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Had a terrific 4-night stay. Well-designed, blending cutting-edge contemporary within traditional structures. My room was very modern, clean and comfy with a streamlined but luxurious bath. Cool atmosphere in the lobby bars and common space. Absolutely excellent drinks in both bars, with the bonus of one serving coffee and light bites till 3 pm during the day. Even the playlists were just right -- I found myself using Shazam to identify several artists. The personnel were low-key, friendly and efficient. Bonus: it's pet-friendly. My only criticism is that the tissues and toilet paper were scratchy -- but that wouldn't keep me from another stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBJonesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear RBJonesGirl,

We are pleased to hear you have an enjoyable 4 night stay with us at PUBLIC. Our specialty cocktail list in the Library Bar and Pump Room are created by our very own in house mixologists, which are great to enjoy while listing to our celebrity curated playlist Thursday through Saturday. We love being a pet friendly hotel where our out of town guests can still bring their four legged friends!

Thank you for the feedback on the tissue and toilet paper. We will be sure to pass on your insight on your experience. We look forward to you choosing PUBLIC the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#61 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#50 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
The James Chicago
#45 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PUBLIC Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PUBLIC Chicago

Property: PUBLIC Chicago
Address: 1301 N State Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-2334 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PUBLIC Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PUBLIC, conceived by Ian Schrager, is an entirely new class of hotel. Its fundamental attributes are innovative, sophisticated, authentic style; spot-on, personalized, empathetic "essential" service; lasting comfort with complete functionality, all at an affordable price and offering tremendous value. For the first time, this type of hotel experience will be available for everyone and anyone who wants it ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your PUBLIC Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing