We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High style, oddly low on some substance...poor experience. (For the money, you can do better.)”
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PUBLIC Chicago
Ranked #91 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High style, oddly low on some substance...poor experience. (For the money, you can do better.)”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The PUBLIC Chicago is a lovely hotel in a lovely area...when seen from afar. The design is crisp and modern, with beautifully soothing monochromatic palettes throughout the hotel: white in the lobby and rooms, a deep taupe in hallways. Overall, the effect is calming and pleasing to the eye. The issues for us arose when we experienced some of the details.

Cons: the actual detail work in our room was oddly shoddy...paint streaks, stained carpets, and roughly patched walls. The worst part was a basic mistake in the room's setup. The television in the neighboring room was mounted on the same all that the head of our bed was placed against. The effect was (alas) that we could hear every word from our neighbor's flatscreen as the vibrations were conducted through the wall. This did not help us sleep well. (Yes, there are options like asking politely to turn it down, calling the front desk...but this is the first time in decades of hotel stays where this has been necessary for us.)

Pros: the style really is lovely. The bath was deep, and the shower stream was strong. The bed was deeply comfy. The hotel itself is perfectly located...the area is quiet and beautiful, but it is walking distance to the shops and restaurants on the Mag Mile, and to the beach. The Pump Room is a decently good restaurant. Exceptional design scheme. Service was good.

Verdict: I want to like this hotel based on the superficial qualities, but when it comes to our actual stay in the room we paid for...we can't say we really enjoyed it. You can do as well or far better for the same price or less at a multitude of nearby hotels. If you like the design of the PUBLIC, I particularly encourage giving The James a try.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    437
    255
    98
    54
See reviews for
249
489
89
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

When looking for a small boutique hotel with a great location Public has it all. The location is within walking distance to the Lincoln Park Zoo, Lake Michigan and its very nice beaches,great restaurants such as Zinc, Tavern on Rush, Merlot on Maple and of coarse the wonderful Pump Room right in the Public. Don't miss that restaurant for sure. The wait staff is wonderful and the food is to die for. Don't forget dessert after your wonderful meal. The rooms are very minimalist but with everything that one would need for a pleasant stay. The whole staff at the Public are very accomodating and will go out of their way to make your stay a very pleasant one.
Go and enjoy your time in the Windy City at the Public !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelers43551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Front Office Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Travelers43551,

That is truly one of the nicest reviews I have read about any hotel on tripadvisor! We are very appreciative of the feedback and will use this to get our team pumped up about service.


STAYPUBLIC

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I really don't have much to complain about when it comes to staying at Public. We stayed on a week night this past week during the July 4th holiday and had a great stay. The room was just okay. If you are looking for a hotel room that has a nice, plush bed and other amenities like decorations on the wall you will be disappointed at Public. The room seemed like everything came from Ikea and there was about two picture on the white, barren walls. Also, the toilet was an industrial one like you'd see in a public place which struck me as odd. I guess that goes with the rest of the design?
Very swanky lobby and the concierge was so helpful in getting reservations for us at restaurants and any tours that we wanted to do. The location is fantastic. We were able to walk right down State St to Michigan Ave and on to the river. It really is easy, especially if you don't know your way around the city too well. The lake is about two blocks away too.
If you are literally looking for a place to lay your head because you will be out of the room all day, this place is perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjensand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Front Office Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
mjensand,


Thank you for your 4 out of 5 review! I love the lobby as well and appreciate the feedback about our concierge, they really do a great job. I hope to have you visit us again soon and we can turn that 4 into a 5!

STAYPUBLIC

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

For a three night weekend in the city, this property fit the bill. Decor is chic and comfortable at once. The location is this hotel's strength. A couple blocks from great dining options day & night, shopping, and only about three blocks to the CTA (rail) station. The room was fairly spacious for Chicago though bathroom a bit small. The concierge (Terry) was excellent with wonderful recommendations. The bar staff in the restaurant (Pump Room) could use some coaching on friendliness, otherwise, good service. Little things like toiletries and bath robes were sparse / missing respectively.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baru2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Front Office Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Baru2u,

Thank you for such great comments. I will pass on your praise to Terry, he will love to hear the feedback! I am sorry that you did not have a robe in your room, next time you stay with us simply call down and we will be happy to deliver a robe to you. I look forward to your next visit and hope you have a wonderful weekend.


STAYPUBLIC

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As many other reviewers have said, the Public Hotel has a swanky lobby with a nightclub feel. That did not bother me in the least; I like hip, boutique-y hotels that are not your average, stuffy hotels, especially because once you are in your room, you don't hear any noise from the lobby. What DID bother me, however, was the fact that our room was located directly adjacent to the elevator, and we could hear the clanging of the elevator as it went up and down. This is not too much of a problem during the day, but imagine how annoying that is when you are trying to fall asleep at night. To the hotel's credit, they did offer to move us to another room for the next night, but we were only staying two nights and had so many obligations during the day with a family wedding that by the time the hotel called us to let us know the new room was available, we didn't have time to come back to the hotel and pack up and move everything.

Aside from the elevator noise, I found the room to be small and quite average. No view, no interesting amenities, nothing special. This hotel's best quality is its fantastic location in easy proximity to Michigan Avenue, River North, the lake, Lincoln Park, and Old Town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMK490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Front Office Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
CMK490,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am however sorry that there were some items during your stay that could have been better. I hope that you can come visit us again soon so we can win you over and change your outlook on the hotel.

STAYPUBLIC

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Price right for all the good service that you get. The staff greets you right away with a smiling faces. I feel like I'm someone when I was in the hotel. Very friendly and hospitable people. A true sense of hospitality.
The food is great complete with great ambiance and great service.
Room attendant very attentive and my request was fulfilled immediately. Talk about fast service with a smile.
The lobby is awesome, I have so many selfie in the lobby and library bar.
I'll recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: room 1628, the loft style
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Front Office Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Larry B,


Thank you very much for your lovely review! It is very refreshing to hear how well your stay was and that you felt special. I hope you can come and visit us again very soon.

STAYPUBLIC,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was here for a couple of nights for business. Overall, it's really fine, no major complaints. Agree with reviews regarding the night club feel. That's fine, just not for me. Neither are the drink prices. The only major things lacking are the room service and the customer service. Just didn't feel like the most welcoming place. The room service menu is limited. I don't understand why there's no room service from the pump room or that you can't even get take out from the pump room to bring back to your room. .....white people problems.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomuchtv28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBLIC H, Front Office Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Toomuchtv28,

I am very sorry that you felt the service was lacking at PUBLIC, I would love to talk further about the issues. We want every guest to feel special and offer all a unique experience. Please reach out to me at your convenience.


STAYPUBLIC

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#70 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#54 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,417 reviews
The James Chicago
#44 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PUBLIC Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PUBLIC Chicago

Property: PUBLIC Chicago
Address: 1301 N State Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-2334 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PUBLIC Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PUBLIC, conceived by Ian Schrager, is an entirely new class of hotel. Its fundamental attributes are innovative, sophisticated, authentic style; spot-on, personalized, empathetic "essential" service; lasting comfort with complete functionality, all at an affordable price and offering tremendous value. For the first time, this type of hotel experience will be available for everyone and anyone who wants it ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your PUBLIC Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing