We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the "newly renovated" Park Hyatt Chicago”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #9 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“the "newly renovated" Park Hyatt Chicago”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying at this property for the past twenty years and it only gets better with age.

Check in is a piece of cake. The lobby is sterile but functional, with a tasteful sitting area facing Chicago Avenue. Tea and coffee are served in the mornings-cider and hot chocolate in the afternoons.

The concierge desk is staffed by first class professionals who truly understand their customer base. Ramon, who handles the driving duties, is a seasoned veteran who displays charm and confidence. The kind of man you would trust to take your daughter anywhere in the city. Restaurant staff incredible. Knowledgeable, friendly, appropriate. The bottom line is simple-the staff is committed to the needs of their guests and truly set this property apart from the rest of the hotels in the city.

Location: best in Chicago. Nomi (the restaurant):outstanding. Health club: close to great. The rooms: none finer. Value:A+.

Do yourselves a favor. Don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioMaranello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    250
    68
    19
    10
See reviews for
276
511
85
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The entire experience of this hotel is five star. Great staff, helpful concierge, wonderful rooms with great amenities. I brought my son on his first big trip to Chicago and everyone from the door man to the front desk treated him like royalty. This is a big deal to a seven year old.

We stayed in a double room with a great view of Michigan Avenue. The rooms are very well decorated and very comfortable. Great bathroom with a huge tub and plenty of space in the vanity area.

I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Michigan Ave. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoftwareTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
189 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

A group of 20 professionals goes to the Park Hyatt hotel lounge based off a recommendation, for an after show drink. We are told to split up at 2 different tables on the clear opposite ends of the lounge. Then I am told by an eastern european waiter "You didn't honestly think you could walk into this place on a Saturday night, with a group of 20, and get a table w/o a reservation, did you?" Now, let me get this straight.........you're whining that a group of 20 just came into your bar, in a desperate economy, when you are charging $6+ for beer, and $15+ for cocktails?????!!!!!! I have lived in Chicago my whole life, and you can guarantee I'll never step foot into this lazy excuse for a high-end lounge, in the heart of Chicago's Mag Mile, again. Oh, and when I left the lounge (w/o ordering anything) there was a huge fight of about 20 gang-bangers beating up a guy on the door step of the Park Hyatt while hotel staff just stood around watching, until the Chicago Police showed up. Nice and safe if you're a family staying there. I have stayed at MANY Chicago hotels, and have NEVER seen this ever! Stay away from this hotel, unless you'd like your evening ruined by excessively incompetent, and rude staff! If I could give it ZERO stars I would have.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pseudoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This hotel is quite amazing. Great location; it's right next to the water tower with lots of shopping to be done within the vicinity. Many eateries and attractions are nearby making it very convenient for first time visitors. The rooms are beautiful and well-appointed with quality furniture and decor. Granite accents embellish the room with a modern touch. Bathroom is ginormous with deep soaking tub and shower. Even the toilet has a separate room!

Staff at this hotel are very pleasant and friendly. Karen, the chef concierge, was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. She definitely made our stay very enjoyable.

So stay here! It's a gorgeous property with great customer service!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaGuest808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
240 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We just stayed at the Park Hyatt Chicago for the first time. Our American Express card had a special for this property so we decided to try it out.
We have stayed at many hotels across the country and all types. This was the best by far than many others.

They put us on the 17th floor with a gorgeous view of Michigan Avenue and the Lake. The room was a nice size with a window seat, Large desk/table, a Herman miller recliner chair with ottoman , a 42" flat screen television and king size bed. The bed had a feather mattress on top of the mattress and the most soft pillows. I have never had a bed that felt like sleeping on clouds (and we have stayed in many 5 star hotels). I had the best sleep and woke without headaches. The cable/satellite tv service was a little weird at times, but not too bad. I can't forget the electric curtains and all the light and curtain switches by the bed. My husband couldn't get over that. Very nice. It was like they thought of everything

The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub plus a separate shower and a separate makeup counter with stool. We had plenty of room when we both were getting ready to go out. The small tv in the bathroom was also a thrill for my husband. He could watch the game wherever he was in the room.
My husband was offered free shoe shining which he was thrilled to take advantage of .

We enjoyed breakfast daily (in NoMi) that came with our special and they were very accommodating. The pastries and breads were made in house so were very fresh, the eggs are organic and they offered fresh fruit every day. The coffee wasn't my favorite, a little bitter, but everybody likes different coffee. The prices for breakfast and drinks were all on the menu they gave us, so there was no surprises with the bill.Room Service brought our breakfast one morning and the gentleman who delivered it was very friendly and did NOT push a bill at us waiting for an extra tip as we have had at many hotels.

We ate at NoMi one evening. It is in the higher price range of meals but is worth it once in awhile. They must have fixed the door situation listed on another review as we did not see anyone from the fitness center or able to view it from the restaurant.

Most all the staff were wonderful ( you always get one pea in the pod that is not as good, which we had as our server at breakfast on the second morning, but that happens). They called us by name from the very beginning and were always willing to please. They would open doors, greet us when we left and welcomed us back when we returned. They accommodated us with an umbrella on a rainy day and held our bags while we waited for our ride and we sat in the library with fresh tea & lemonade (or coffee if in the morning).

The hotel is in a great location. Perfect for shopping and was easy for our family to pick us up there.

There has been so many businesses anymore that have forgotten what service to the customer is. This hotel has brought it back to the forefront.

We will definitely returned to this hotel again. When you have had the best sleep ever when traveling,exceptional staff and a nice room, and in a great location, why would we stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lake Michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smoothcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I was staying in this hotel and was hoping for the same level of service and quality of the stay that the name of Park Hyatt guarantee - did not happen.
The rooms were quite small and have unusual design: you can actually open up the wall in the bathroom and make the bathroom a part of your room!
The likes were the availability of the deck for ipod and electrically enabled curtains in the room, the rest was really not impressive and even regular.

The service was also not outstanding - the doormen would even bother to open the door for you, the concierge would forget to deliver you the important package (envelope). The overall impression from the lobby, elevators and decor was shabby, no sparkling new.
To me it was more a disappointment while staying in a wonderful windy city. The only good thing is the location - right in the heart of the city.
If you'd compare this Park Hyatt with the one in DC, the Chicago goes well beyond Washington in absolutely all categories.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitryvulkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My daughter and I stayed in a Park Suite for four nights. From check In to check out our every need was not only met but was anticipated. We were addressed by name each time we encountered any staff members throughout the hotel. Our room was always kept clean and was extremely comfortable. We used the laundry service for overnight dry cleaning and it was returned the next morning as expected. My daughter used the spa and was very impressed with their services and their products. I used the gym and pool. The equipment was all updated and functional. The locker room was extremely clean and well stocked where robes and slippers were provided. We lunched at NOMI on their outdoor terrace. The food and service were excellent. I would like to compliment the management on their staff and services. I anticipate ( and look forward to ) another visit to he Park Hyatt Chicago in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurseatsea5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing