We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend In Chicago”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #13 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Park Hyatt last weekend and easily concluded that this was one of the nicest hotels in Chicago. The room was perfect, the bed was extremely comfortable and the shower gets an A+. Service was exceptional and you can't beat the location. Discovered a great breakfast/brunch place a block away called "Sunnyside Up and Coffee House", the chorizo skillet was very good. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 985chongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,662)
There are newer reviews for Park Hyatt Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 1,001 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Only stayed here one night, but front desk service, room service, spa experience perfect in every way. Very comfortable, quiet room. Spa waiting room was small but it was not busy so it didn't matter. Beautiful pool and hot tub. Will be coming back.

Room Tip: standard room is spacious, shower is a little small compared to other five star in Chicago
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeriy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights recently. Great location, just by the water tower. We had a wonderful view of the lake and the tower. Service throughout our stay was impeccable. The restaurant was very good, though we found the breakfast and laundry service expensive. Only criticism is that the bedrooms are ready for refurbishment, they are quite tired, although the bathrooms appeared to have been updated and everything was spotless. However, we'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flissie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife and I tried a stay-cation and selected the Park Hyatt for its convenience to the things we wanted to do. The result was beyond my expectations. The room was superbly appointed with excellent amenities and the housekeeping staff kept it top-notch. The staff at every turn was thoughtful without over-reaching (no first-name familiarity in this high-end establishment). Nomi provided inventive cuisine with four-star service. By this last comment I mean that the staff is observant (e.g., to refresh a glass) without feeling watched. And the spa was over the top: great services; outstanding facilities.

Room Tip: See if you can book a higher floor and at Nomi try to sit near the window. Also the bar inventions w...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oyezman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I spent one night here in the Gold Coast Suite for my birthday. My husband booked it as a surprise, and invited five of my closest girlfriends and sisters for a birthday celebration. The Gold Coast Suite was beautiful--on the 15th floor- with a view of Lake Michigan in the distance.

The suite contained: one large master bedroom with a king sized bed, one large, luxurious master bathroom, a separate half bath, kitchenette with a sink, a glass table for eating, and a large living room with a view of Lake Michigan. The ladies slept in an adjoining room with 2 beds and on the couch in the suite's living room. One of my favorite parts of the master bathroom was the vanity. The wallpaper is a woven textured off white pattern with flecks of gold--very pretty. There is a heavy glass or acrylic tea light holder near the bath tub--it seemed to weigh as much as a bowling ball--I appreciated the quality. There was also a small TV built into the wall near the sink, so on the hotel channel, we could listen to classical music as we were in the bathroom.

In the morning, we had brunch at NOMI, and the interior design is lovely. Be sure to look up at the leather trimmed ceiling. The tables themselves seem to have leather, or some kind of fake leather, on them as well. We shared banana bread as an appetizer, which was beautifully presented and accompanied by a thick slice of banana that had been caramelized on top with a blow torch.
I had Eggs Benedict, which was delicious.

My father stayed on the 14th floor, in a standard room, and even that was beautiful. The bathtub was separated from the bedroom with what looked like wooden shutters. The shutters could be pushed back so that the person in the bathtub could watch TV or talk to the person on the bed. How neat!

One negative: We had actually booked another bedroom, so that the ladies wouldn't have to share a bed, but the key to that extra room didn't work. Since we were in the middle of a party, we didn't bother to ask about this, and in the morning, simply asked the front desk to remove the charge for that extra room, as the key didn't work. There was some push back from the front desk on this, but ultimately, they removed the charge for that extra room to which we never had access.

At check in, the front lounge had an unattractive art exhibit with a bunch of cardboard boxes glued to the wall. It was probably one of the ugliest works of modern art I've ever seen. We weren't sure if it was just construction, or if it was actually art. And we had an interior designer among us, who also agreed that it was very odd looking.

Actually, I like the Blue Duck Tavern for breakfast/brunch in the Washington DC Park Hyatt more than the NOMI. The Blue Duck Tavern offers eggs benedict with real crab meat and it comes with a side of fresh greens.

But, as we only stayed one night, I wasn't able to fully explore the hotel. I didn't get to see the pool area.

In the waiting area at the front door, be sure to go around the corner to get a cup of self serve complimentary tea or coffee.

The location is great. Just around the corner are the Hershey store, Ghiradelli shop (chocolate), Top Shop (young women's clothing). We stopped by Anthropologie and Banana Republic (clothing), all within walking distance. My friends picked up small birthday tarts from Belgian chocolatier Leonidas, also close by.

Yes, I'd come back here, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay in the standard room.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great Staff here at the Park Hyatt in Chicago. This is the fourth different Park Hyatt we have stayed this year. The service is amazing at all of them. Hyatt does an amazing job training their employees! We also stay at many other brands and Hyatt has the best service across all the brands. Our room was facing the water tower which was very nice. The breakfast at Nomi is also very good. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Had a wonderful stay. Customer service was superb when there was a misunderstanding. Received quick reply on Twitter from Hotel representative and call from general manager. Great complimentary snacks in lobby, complimentary car service in downtown. The rooms are marvelous with huge windows, great room and bathroom with huge tub! NOMI is about $30/p but the best breakfast ever! Overall outstanding stay and customer service was best ever. Diamond status receives complimentary breakfast at NOMI (our $70 bill was comped, tip is not comped). Room 1706 lake view, king.

Room Tip: king, lake view, request room 1706
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cagalindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
1,515 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,441 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#10 of 191 in Chicago
2,347 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £259 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing