We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, fresh and inviting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #6 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh and inviting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Park Hyatt Chicago is a top hotel with a most convenient location. The rooms are spacious. Well lit and most important for people like me who are easily woken, great, great blackouts. No noise problems either in spite of being on the quite busy Michigan Avenue. Nomi their very IN restaurant serves great inspired meals. The staff at the hotel is knowledgable and very courteous. I have stayed at a few hotels in Chicago and have now found my new go to hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Michigan Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    244
    68
    19
    9
See reviews for
271
505
84
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Have stayed in this hotel before several years. Again stayed one night last week. Excellent stay. Most of the top of the line hotel in Chicago along Michigan avenue are excellent.

Location is unbeatable. Few top of the line hotel give us nice comfortable slippers and Park Hyatt provides that. The room is clean and modern. The work table is large and well organized and position you can watch TV at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamTheCalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Starting from the most important, this hotel is located right next to the old water tower in Chicago, next to the best part of Michigan Ave. Some rooms have indeed great views of this tower and some are also overlooking the Michigan lake. Ask for one of these rooms, The hotel features great and spacious rooms and the service is in line with this high level Hotel. I intend to book this Hotel again when I return to Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake and/or water tower view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giancarlodomingues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend stay with my wife. I am a Hyatt Diamond member.

Location: The hotel is located in a convenient spot along Michigan Avenue and Chicago Avenue. We took a taxi from Midway Airport and that took about 30 minutes with light traffic. The fare was about $35. The nice thing about this property is the ability to walk to some of the major attractions nearby. The only downside is if you're looking to spend time further south in the areas of Grant Park, Shedd Aquarium, and Soldier Field. That's quite a walk and not recommended during the winter. Fortunately, taxis are plentiful if you don't feel like walking.

Check-In: We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and it was a little busy, so we had to wait about 5-10 minutes to check in. The front desk staff was professional and explained all of the features, including the Hyatt Diamond amenity. Unfortunately, the Diamond amenity was never delivered so I had to call down later that evening and they took care of it then. When we went up to our room, there was a housekeeping keycard in the slot, so we were a bit confused and went down to the front desk. Apparently, they were not quite finished cleaning the room, so we had to wait a bit.

Property/Room: The property was impressive and certainly fit the category as a luxury hotel. This was my first stay at a Park Hyatt property and the distinction was pretty clear. The decor was nice and everything was clean and in good condition. The only inconvenience was the fact that there were 2 elevators for the hotel and one of them was under maintenance during our entire stay. So we usually had to wait a few minutes just to go up or down, as it had to pick up everyone along the way. We booked a standard King bedroom using the Hyatt credit card free nights and received an upgrade to a lake view room due to my Hyatt Diamond status. That was a nice bonus. The room was very plush and the furnishings were high end. The bathroom was huge and had a big soaking tub and separate walk-in shower. The bed was comfortable and I liked the window seat which offered a great view of the city. I would only point out a couple of minor negatives - a connecting room door to our neighbor (could sometimes hear their TV and conversations) and the fact that you will hear sirens all night from fire engines and ambulances. Aside from that, the hotel is quite nice and we were impressed.

Amenities: Being a Hyatt Diamond member, we were offered free breakfast in their restaurant, NoMI Kitchen, or room service. On Sunday morning, we opted to check out the restaurant and were lucky enough to score a table by the window with a great view of the water tower. The food there was excellent and I would have to rate the pancakes and sausage as some of the best I have ever had. There was no club lounge at this property, but there was a small nook downstairs that had free beverages (soda, water, coffee, cider, tea) and some random snacks like mini muffins. This appeared to be open to everyone, so it was usually empty whenever we stopped by.

Service: The service from the staff in general was pretty good. The doorman was hit or miss sometimes. Housekeeping did a good job.

Overall, it was a great stay. They certainly take care of their Hyatt Diamond members. There were a few minor issues, but nothing too concerning. The excellent location and luxury feel make up for it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IntlSalesGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Checked out of the Hyatt Regency off of Michigan Ave for the Park Hyatt. Ambulance noise was extreme at Hyatt Regency since it was across the street from Northwestern hospital emergency room. Park Hyatt while twice the cost offered great views, wonderful outdoor terrace restaurant, delicious breakfast and no outside noise. Had a long window seat to take in the lake and Michigan Ave views. Turndown service with water left at beside. A very large well appointed bathroom. I'm a Diamond with Hyatt so breakfast was included.

Room Tip: Rooms over floor 7 if facing east have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChitownTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I spent 2 nights at the Park Hyatt, and it was very, very nice. The staff was extremely friendly and professional. My room was a good size, comfortable bed, and the bath tub was great! The location was perfect, right in the middle of everything. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeaniebean13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Now, I've been truly spoiled! This recent hotel experience has me wishing I could live at the Park Hyatt Chicago.

A Diamond suite upgrade was used for a Park Suite, a beautiful room, not much of a view as these suites are on the lower floors. Large bathrooms, all up to date tech features - just wonderful. A daily amenity was awaiting (one day, apples with Evian; next, cookies with Evian).

Pool and fitness facilities were spotless.

Concierge team (led by a wonderful Karen) were very helpful and always very professional.

Along with Ka'ana Kitchen at the Andaz Maui, NoMI restaurant here ranks up there as my absolute favorites. Every morning greeted by name (other times in the hotel might have been nice too - one small constructive improvement that should be worked on).

Again, spoiled for other upcoming trips, but much appreciated. Can't wait for a return trip to Chicago!

Room Tip: Upper floors, unless booking a Park Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFKinPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing