We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spur of the moment booking”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #8 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Morton, United States
1 review
“Spur of the moment booking”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our first time staying at Park Hyatt. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. Loved the location. Upon check in our room was not ready but hotel staff went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. Room was extremely comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Donald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    259
    72
    22
    10
See reviews for
286
531
87
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is a great location to stay while touring Chicago. It is in the heart of some of the most fun areas to shop and eat. Felt safe when walking to the various areas nearby, and the friendly staff was helpful with suggestions and getting us to where we wanted to go. The lobby had an area to sit and enjoy the complimentary coffee or drinks and some treats in the morning. The restaurant offered a good variety of food during the conference. Got to experience the spa treatment and enjoyed sipping the tea while having a pedicure. The indoor pool looked inviting but did not have time to jump in! The room was spacious and the bathroom was like a spa setting that included a large tub with bath salts to relax in after a busy day of touring. Our room had a great view of the historic water tower that has a beautiful architectural design. The closet was smartly designed so it could be accessed by either in the room or in the bathroom. The room was clean and the design was modern sleek. I would definitely encourage anyone planning a trip to Chicago to reserve their room at the Park Hyatt.

Room Tip: I did hear sirens on the street throughout the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago and Rome
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Right on the Magnificent Mile with a view of the Water Tower and lake beyond -- that is a location that is hard to beat in Chicago. But what makes this hotel stand out from the crowd is personal service and homey atmosphere. The room off the lobby is truly a living room where it is easy to meet people or simply relax with coffee and the newspaper.

The rooms contain all the amenities one expects of a five-star hotel with the additional comfort of a padded window seat with a view of some of the special things that make Chicago a world class city.

The food is simply outstanding and served in a casual atmosphere both indoors and out. And on the kitchen counter, just like home, are glass jars of sweets made daily and set out in such a way one doesn't feel the need to ask; just like home.

"Homey" may conjure images of faded sofas and casual housekeeping, but there is nothing worn or faded, and the housekeeping would pass the strictest scrutiny. The Park Hyatt brand includes global excellence with the local touches that make a guest feel at home in the city they are visiting.

Room Tip: Select a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolstig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, SC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I have desired to stay at this hotel forever. Price was the only thing that kept us away. Finally their July 4 promotion allowed us to enjoy the full hotel. For twenty years we have dined at their wonderful NoMi Retaurant every time we visited Chicago. The hotel was worth every dollar. We hope our next visit to Chicago will be here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank AnalyticalChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The very best leisure and business hotel in the United States, in my opinion. The staff of this hotel is the very best overall group of "caring" individuals I have ever encountered under one roof. The rooms are excellent, for sure, but what makes this hotel so very special is the staff. The are gracious, caring and responsive. They have been that way toward me and my family for over 15 years. While I do feel like I get the special treatment when I am at the Park Hyatt Chicago, I am astute enough to realize that everyone that stays there is "special" and receives the same incredible service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Park Hyatt Chicago is well located for shopping and bars/restaurants on the Magnificent Mile and Oak St. Hotel check-in and check-out were efficient and the lobby has complimentary drinks (coffee / tea / water / soft drinks) which is convenient and thoughtful.

The rooms are large, clean and well appointed, although the layout of my corner room didn't feel luxurious. I was on the 9th floor, with a view of the backstreets and adjacent to audible roof top air conditioning units. The view and dull drone weren't pleasant but as I was on cheap corporate rates, I can't complain too much! For those who can, its probably worthwhile upgrading to rooms on higher floors with a view. The free wifi is available throughout the hotel, and very useful!

I went to the popular Nomi bar on the 7th floor and was impressed by the cocktails and bar food. I'll have to try a full meal next time.

Overall the Park Hyatt at Chicago was a pleasant experience, although it didn't deliver the 5 star luxury that I've come to expect from Park Hyatt's in Australasia.

Room Tip: Higher floors with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

So views are at the top of my list of importance when choosing a hotel room. My room at the Park Hyatt faced directly in front of the iconic Water Tower with the Hancock building to my left and Lake Michigan in the distance. I never wanted to leave my room in the morning because there is a comfy window seat in front of the large windows showing off the best of Chicago's Magnificent Mile.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,469 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,347 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#12 of 190 in Chicago
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#5 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing