We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Lofty Expectations”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #8 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded Lofty Expectations”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Park Hyatt Chicago lived up to it's reputation as one of the city's finest hotels. The service was unmatched - helpful staff from the doorman to the maids. I travelled with a child, who at check in was greeted by name and given a Park Hyatt Backpack filled with goodies. Candy, binoculars, water bottle, playing cards - all made her feel like a guest of honor.

I could not think of a better room to come back to after a day filled with 12 hours of walking the town. The lobby has a side 'pantry', stocked with complimentary beverages (both bottled and freshly brewed) along with freshly cooked desert snacks. The beds were unmatched in quality, & the leather Eames chair was absolutely delightful. The bathroom toiletries & robes were of the highest quality.

Lastly, the location deep within the Magnificent Mile and right next to the Water Tower truly could not be beat. The location, amenities & service left a memorable impression on us, we can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
Green Features: Green Key Certified Leftover materials (e.g. food) donated or re-used Towel reuse program Linen reuse program ENERGY STAR laundry machines ENERGY STAR guest room appliances
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    259
    72
    22
    10
See reviews for
286
531
87
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you are looking for a quality business hotel in Chicago this is the place.
Location: behind the landmark Watertower on the Magnificent Mile in the heart of Chicago. Great restaurants and shopping just outside the door.
Rooms: Beautifully appointed, luxurious bed, great views of the city
Dining: good but there are many spots to explore around the hotel\
Lounge and Patio: excellent patio lounge, great serving staff especially Stephanie who was fantastic with a razor sharp wit. Worth drinking there just for the banter with her.
Gym and Pool: excellent especially the 3 lane lap pool which is a full 25 metres. Loved it.
Staff: Professional and courteous.
Great Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The service in this hotel from the gentlemen at the door, reception and housekeeping was fabulous. There was a great capsule coffee machine in the room, free drinks and snacks including hot cider in reception which the children loved. We stayed just after Christmas and through New year and some touches like the complementary banana bread in the room were lovely. As the weather was cold and snowy the location was perfect close to many restaurants, a Starbucks for breakfast and always huge welcome when we returned. We LOVED this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for a lake view upgrade if you can.. it was special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eco_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

There are few hotels capable of serving up the gracious elegance that embraces you like a home, inside the city. Park Hyatt, Chicago Water Tower shines in this aspect, with modern interiors, wonderful art, impeccable service and overall efficient design. We loved how the Park Hyatt felt like an extension of a great house, with amenities on par to settle you right in. An example would be the NoMi Kitchen, an open-concept restaurant to relax as you would at a weekend house. And the neighborhood! Walking across the street to Ralph Lauren for shopping and lunch was a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank 440pamelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed here for business in mid-July, 2014. Two nights.

I needed a place near a conference I was attending and while there are cheaper alternatives nearby, the Park Hyatt really delivered on all fronts. The room was beautiful, with a tremendous bathroom that had a unique sliding door pass-through which almost let you reach your bed from the large bathtub. I know it sounds odd, but it is really interesting, and if I were a bath person, would have been fun to try.

The bed was large and comfortable and had great controls over the window shades (one is a blackout shade, the other is sheer). The room was quiet and very spacious.

The workout center was fairly large for a hotel and was not crowded. Chilled towels, fruit-infused water and an attentive staff were highlights.

The location right near Michigan Ave was perfect and I was able to walk everywhere.

Last, the lobby follows recent trends of being "atmospheric" rather than focused on service, but I found all the people to be friendly and helpful -- from the front door, to the desk, to my smiling turn-down lady.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I proposed to my girlfriend at this hotel, and the staff helped me set everything up. The concierge helped me pick out restaurants, arranged flowers, and got me a car. Great service and wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at the Park Hyatt while attending a meeting in Chicago and was disappointed by the overall feel of the hotel. While the room was beautifully decorated and had a lovely view of Lake Michigan, the staff was cool, and not at all welcoming or helpful. The location is great for exploring Michigan Avenue - an easy walk to many fun parts of Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,469 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,347 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#11 of 190 in Chicago
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#5 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing