We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't tell”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #18 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I could not decide if this was a high end 4 star or a low end 5 star. I chose the hotel based on location and a special rate available for elite customers. I would have been let down if we paid the full price. We had issues with the shower plumbing but the front desk said they would comp us some extra points. They have a coffee/refreshment area in the library at the lobby level but it was always in need of replenishment. We were loaned a nice umbrella during a rainstorm. The hotel is not conducive to sound sleep due to ambulance traffic and noise from the outdoor bar. The spa was nice and there is an indoor pool. I Would only stay again for a low rate or Hotwire. If you are looking for a true luxe 5 star place I can think of 3 within walking distance. Soap and amenities were average. The room freshness was a drab brown and black and was not my style. The house keepers were very kind and dashed in to clean the room as soon as we left. The basic room light switches also require an electrical engineer to operate efficiently. Sorry I wanted to love this place but in the end had an average experience. Request a room away from the elevators.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gwera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very prime location. Nicely appointed rooms. Very comfortable. Am a repeat guest. The quality of the linens is excellent and there were plenty of towels and toiletries. Would recommend to any traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Daria P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

GREAT location, modern sleek vibe, with gorgeous artwork everywhere you turn. This hotel is comfortable, chic, with great service. Did I mention location? Across from the old water tower, and the John Hancock building ( a must) with spectacular views of Lake Michigan. This hotel is right in the middle of everything! Great food, terrific shopping, beautiful city. Don't miss the dinner cruise, the navy pier, the Shedd Aquarium and if course Wrigley field. A quintessential American city. Just fabulous!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor, for a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tvteacher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just finished a fantastic stay at the Park Hyatt Chicago. The staff and service were excellent. The room was comfortable and beautifully furnished. The blackout drapes and comfortable beds are great for getting a good nights rest. Breakfast in the restaurant is delicious and, if you are in a hurry, served very quickly. I was seated and served in 10 minutes. I seldom give 5 star reviews to hotels but this property truly deserves a top rating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary at one of our favorite cities. We've stayed at the Pennisula before but decided to give the Park Hyatt a try. We were not disappointed! The staff was very courteous and knowledgeable and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The room was great eventhough it was smaller than expected. The bathtub with views of the skyline cannot be beat. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Some higher floors have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mike0steff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location to experience downtown Chicago. Half a block off of the magnificent mile, it is nested amongst fantastic shopping and restaurants, and just a few blocks from the lake. Courteous staff and nicely appointed rooms. Definitely put on your list

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Shahan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Second time back to the Park Hyatt, and once again it did not disappoint. Very nice rooms and walking distance to most great restaurants in Chicago. Friendly and helpful staff. Like it enough that I will be hosting a meeting there in August. A great go to spot !!

Room Tip: Try for a high floor with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
1,586 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,612 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#12 of 191 in Chicago
2,452 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £178 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing