We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Outstanding”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #7 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Always Outstanding”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent location and superb service as is the standard of Park Hyatt. The hotel is in the center of the best shopping area in Chicago, just across from Nordstrom Rack. The gym is user friendly with plenty of equipment. Rooms are comfortable and have wonderful soak bathtubs with minty bath salts. Always enjoy staying at Park Hyatt! Request a room on 18th floor.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CatieGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    254
    69
    20
    10
See reviews for
280
518
87
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is an excellent choice if you want a perfect location and an outstanding lap pool with fitness center, steam room and very nicely appointed locker facility. The 25 meter pool has huge windows that allow maximum sunlight. There's also a small outside deck for relaxing after a workout. The entire spa area is beautifully maintained by a welcoming staff. It's right in the heart of the Magnificent Mile with easily accessible public transportation and just a short jog jog to the lakefront. As for the guest rooms, we appreciated the oversized bathroom with both a soaking tub and large walk-in shower. Although we'd booked on a web deal, our request for a quiet location was cheerfully honored. Amenities included delivery of the NY Times (our choice from among several), twice daily housekeeping, and complimentary beverages in the lobby area, ranging from coffee in the AM to ice tea and soft drinks in the afternoon. Bottled water is also provided without additional charge, certainly a bonus in a city where the local tap water isn't to our liking. Every single employee we encountered at the Park Hyatt was kind and helpful, even during a brief period of elevator maintenance that required us to use the service elevator one morning. It must have inconvenienced staff as much or more than guests since no less than 10 separate employees directed us through the office and service areas. That speaks volumes about commitment to customer satisfaction and employee training. We definitely plan to return to this beautiful hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are brighter. We requested a quiet location and stayed in a corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandCtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

For our ten-year anniversary we stayed at the Park Hyatt in Chicago. Room design and view of Lake Michigan were exceptional. The Spa was the highlight. Not a highlight, the amount of noise that came into our room through the doors that connected to the neighboring room with guests partying until 4am. Such a problem was the noise that we called the front desk multiple times to address the issue since we needed some rest for a second day of anniversary events. However, we were exhausted for the second day of our anniversary trip. For the price, we won't be staying at the Park Hyatt again since they don't soundproof their rooms enough. A hotel of this caliber should be built to a higher standard.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with doors that connect to another room, but definitely get a view of Lake Mich...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My two boys and I took a "father-son" trip to Chicago for a weekend in August and we spent a night at the Park Hyatt Chicago. It did not disappoint. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. It is perfectly located along the Magnificent Mile, just off of Michigan Avenue next to the historic Chicago Water Tower. When we were in the room, my boys especially enjoyed sitting on the large, padded window seat that overlooks downtown from the 16th floor room. The pool is large with lap lanes, and there are plenty of chairs in the pool area, which includes a 4-person hot tub. We did not use the fitness room, but it looked large through the window separating it from the pool area. An access-controlled locker room adjoins the pool area and is complete with lockers, showers, and a sauna. We had limited interaction with the staff, but all were friendly, helpful and efficient. This hotel is at the top of our list of places to stay when we visit downtown Chicago again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDawgs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American in Bogota
Level Contributor
405 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in two basic rooms each of which had lovely views of the watertower and lake (located directly above the breakfast restaurant). The design of the rooms at this hotel is just really well thought out and something special (closet opens to the hall or to the bathroom, bathroom has a divider which can open so you can look out to the lake for the soaking tub, has both blackout and sheer automatic curtains, just examples). Breakfast was excellent and I thought prices were fair (not cheap, but all things considered not outrageous.) The location of this hotel cannot be beat for Chicago tourism. Check-in was easy enough and they provided really fabulous kids kits at check-in (backpack, binoculars, coloring book, etc.) This hotel has been around for maybe 15 years but it is still absolutely fabulous and I think it gives all its new competitors a real run for their money. We were so glad we stayed here and I would definitely go back. My only complaint is that apparently there's a free car service to take you around closer locations which no one told us until check-out and that we were accidentally charged parking twice (we paid once at check-out on one room and then they charged us again after check-out directly to the credit card.)

Room Tip: Ask for a watertower or lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiquiMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for the first time in June with our family. Primarily based on reviews on Trip Advisor and others we chose this location for its central locale near the Miracle Mile and fantastic reputation. We were not disappointed. From the Valet on arrival to the Front Desk experience the Hotel is polished and professional. My wife and I had a room across from our children- both were spacious with luxurious accommodations and bathrooms. We were on the 7th floor and were not affected by the busy Chicago bustle or sirens. We were not also bothered by other room noise.
The bathrooms were stunning and clean with powerful showers, two sinks and a TV in the bathroom. The Beds were comfortable and conducive to sleep.Housekeeping kept the rooms clean and fresh with fresh ice daily. The rooms also had cool lighting and privacy screens on the windows
We all liked the modern Gym with refreshing water and towels.- all for a great workout.
The lobby also offered free and refreshing amenities - lemonade, water , coffee ,tea and fresh
financier- delicious treats after a day out on the town.
We were located close to Miracle Mile Shopping, Eataly ,Water Tower Place and River North.The concierge even offered us umbrellas to use for the sudden downpour.
We had stayed at the Waldorf Astoria previously, but will definitely consider the Park Hyatt as a first choice for a special Chicago stay.

Room Tip: rooms away from Chicago ave may be quieter
See more room tips
Green Features: energy star lighting,towel reuse organic toiletries
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here while I traveled on business July 2014. The property is amazing. Staff completely awesome and accomodating. We decided to updrage rooms after seeing our first room with no view of the water with a simple call downstairs. So, we upgraded for $40/night for a view of the Lake. Our room looked directly over the water tower and onto the lake. It had a wonderful view of Michigan Avenue. The room had a bench seat at the large picture window which was perfect for people-watching or just stretching out on.

The room was quite large, nicely appointed as you might expect. Pocket doors open up to allow you to open the wall between the jacuzzi tub and the sleeping area which allows you to look out the picture window or watch TV while in the tub. The bathroom also had a seperate TV over the vanity area. Besides the jacuzzi tub, there was a seperate shower with multiple shower heads, and two lavoratory sinks. A small fridge in a 'bar area' was also nice. We unloaded it of the beverages so we'd have room for our 'doggie bags'...some of the area deep dish pizza makes for great late-night snacks! Housekeeping brings ice to your room during the turn down service. The room was always impeccably made after morning made service as well. Given the price you pay, I would expect it would be Five Star. Bathrobes, slippers, safe, etc., everything you would expect in a high-end hotel. And the location, it's the best! Maybe two blocks or so away from the 'L'---the Red Line 'Chicago' Station, and Holy Name Catholic Cathedral a few steps away too. Of course, Michigan Avenue and the Water Tower right out the door.

If I had one thing to change, I would get more lighting in the lobby area. It just seemed kind of dark, but a trivial comment given the overall experience.

Room Tip: We upgraded for $20/night for a larger corner room which looked onto the Water Tower Square, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanBoerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,445 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
237 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing