We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #17 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 February 2009

This is a very nice hotel with great service. I stayed here with my family for a weekend getaway. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. They were very customer service oriented.

We had a room with a view of the Water Tower and Lake Michigan. Terrific view. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and the separate walk-in shower was a nice feature.

The gym/workout room was as good as any I've seen in a hotel. It also included free weights which I rarely encounter in hotels. The pool was large and kept at a comfortable temperature. The steam room was also nice.

The location of the hotel can't be beat. It is at the far north end of Michigan Ave. close to Water Tower. It is convenient to shopping and lots of great restaurants.

Finally, my family loved the hot chocolate in the lobby on a cold January day. A nice touch.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank Febo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,516 - 1,522 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Park Hyatt Chicago and would certainly return again (in fact, we are in late January). Although the room was not huge, the furnishings were top notch (the bed was amazing) and the bathroom was large and luxurious, with a jumbo bathtub (separated from the bedroom by a sliding door), separate shower and spacious, double vanity with granite countertops. One nice touch was a bowl of apples placed in the room upon arrival (all were eaten) and free bottles of water during turndown. Great for a romantic getaway (our purpose), but we're certain a business person would be equally satisfied. The lobby and public spaces provided an oasis from the busy Michigan Avenue just outside the door. Great location!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WildeOrton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

The Park Hyatt Chicago is the best in Chicago. We have stayed at twice at this property and prefer it over the Peninsula. It has a very modern, intimate feel. The location is perfect just off Michigan Avenue and be sure to get a room with a view of Water Tower and the Lake. The staff is great and the restaurant is superb. Having booked through the American Express Fine Hotels Resorts program, the included amenities are fantastic.

Room: We stayed in a Park View King. The room was modern and has a great window seat overlooking Water Tower, Michigan Avenue, and the Lake in the distance. Rooms are nicely furnished and very relaxing.

Restaurant: Food is great, including breakfast and dinner. The Nomi Lounge is also perfect for a smaller meal and excellent wine. The service at the outdoor terrace restaurant (when open) is a bit slow and not up to par with the inside restaurant and lounge.

We will always plan to stay at this great property every time we are in Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank EliteTraveler1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

The Park Hyatt was a delightful experience, and one of the best hotel stays we have had in Chicago in the past 5 years.

The location just off Watertower Park is perfect for a shopper or for a romantic getaway.

Excellent security at this hotel was illustrated by the staff when I was asked "would you liked to be escorted to your room" as I returned to the hotel alone in the evening after a hot chcolate run to Girradelli's down the block

This hotel gets A+ for their friendly staff at the front door, the front desk and housekeeping!

An imaculate spacious beautifully decorated room with ammenities that surprised me (a bowl of fresh glowing apples, scented candles next to the soaking tub, thick fluffy towels, plush bathrobes, a COMPLIMENTARY bottle of water on each night stand, and free internet WIFI)

Little things like a shoe polishing machine in the closet, a good quality iron and board, an extensive selection of television channels, including foreign language stations, and a wonderful peaceful sense throughout the property.

I am adding photos to illustrate my rave review, and I hope we have a chance to return soon.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights on the last leg of our honeymoon and boy what a stay beautiful hotel in the best location! - reception staff were fab and on our second night we we very surprised to come back to our room to a bottle of sparkles and strawberries room was fab I couldnt say enough good things about this hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CatherineMulkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2008

This was my second experience in a Park Hyatt and it was well worth it. The staff were so professional and the rooms were exquisitely decorated. The location is superb - right on Michigan Avenue near the Magnificent Mile. Definitely would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFC12481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

I have stayed in Hyatts across the US and Europe. I have generally found the Park Hyatt's to be the best of the chain. This Hotel lives up to that expectation. Centrally located near the water Tower off Michigan Ave it comes with a very high standard of service.

The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable, although I would guess they are coming towards the end of their life cycle. However they are far from shabby and have many nice touches like candles in the bathroom and abundance of toiletries, dvd player etc.

Downside is that it is expensive but what you expect considering its location and standard of service.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank Soldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,552 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,529 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,397 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £231 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing