We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good visit”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #105 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Place has mixed reviews. Our stay was good. Friendly front desk, good size room (suite), could be cleaner, but ok. In our opinion it was a good value - very close to Water Tower Place. We like to walk around that area so it was just what we wanted. Not so much for a view. Hotel does have large amount of rooms pointing at courtyard but we really didnt plan on staying in the room for a superb view. Elevators are very small and it takes a while to get one that you can fit in with others - i think 4 is max capacity. Front desk stays in touch with you during your stay just to see if you need anything - i think its great. Over all we were satisfied with our stay at this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank JackDelores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for posting your review of the Raffaello! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with your family at the hotel and when you return to Downtown Chicago, we would be very pleased to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,251 - 1,257 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed in a king bed room. Room was very small and hot. A/c would not work. Opened one window and the room never cooled down. Hotel was out of coffee for the rooms! Really? No stores around? Never texted me that room was ready. Never got a satisfactory answer from guest services with any question. We stayed one night. In the am, the wallpaper was peeling off the wall. Room was clean though.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank BufferdooAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for the kind words you posted regarding the cleanliness of Raffaello guestrooms. Your feedback on your experience is useful to us and I apologize for any dissatisfaction with your stay. We hope for the opportunity to improve your impression on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Loved it! Right behind john Hancock.one block to Michigan avenue. Close to the beach, 15 min walk to navy pier, 10 min walk to best chicago pizza restaurant " lou malnati". Nice size bedroom and bathroom. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabienne1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your perfect rating of the Raffaello! We are glad you approved of our beautiful hotel and prime location, and the gracious service you received. We appreciate your remarks and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great location next to Michigan Avenue, wonderful room with a living area, very comfortable bed, lots of room to spread out, excellent service, beautifully decorated, unbelievable price . What a find!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your perfect rating! We enjoyed having you as our guest and and we would love to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

For the price we paid I think this hotel provides good value. It is in a great location, only 2 mins walk from Michigan Avenue and 15-20 from The Loop, plus there are lots of buses you can catch from Michigan Ave should you wish. It markets itself as a boutique hotel but I'm not sure it really stretches that far but it is nice enough. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite, which was nice, although the suite only really provides more space it's not necessarily more luxurious.

Pros -
As mentioned before a great location almost next door to the John Hancock Building. With Lake Michigan only a couple of mins walk in the other direction.
Staff were friendly and helpful
Rooms were clean and comfy
Price was good (for us anyway) and for that area is a bargain.
The wonderful Glazed and Confused donut shop in the lobby (yum!)
Free wifi (although very slow and unreliable)

Cons - (mostly minor though)
Breakfast was only available through room service, which was costly. There is a restaurant and bar within the hotel but we didn't visit, I suspect they might have been expensive too.
The mini bar was expensive but this is usually the case with 99% of hotels. There was a coffee machine provided but we were only given 2 pods a day, a bit stingy, it would've been nice to have had more hot drink making facilities. Also for some strange reason the coffee pods & mini bar replacements were delivered to the room separately from house keeping & sometime we had to ask reception for the coffee pods. The 'kitchenette' is really just a microwave, sink and minibar. Fine, but don't go expecting to be cooking your own meals!
The air conditioning was quite loud in the hotel room and as the sofa is near the grill you find it difficult to hear the TV, which is the other side of the room. However there was a TV in the bedroom and we found it far cosier to watch it in bed.

Overall though if you can get a good price this hotel is well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magicrevolver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for being our guest and giving your positive review! We are glad you approved of our amenities, guestrooms and location and that you appreciated our friendly service is most rewarding. We will use your constructive comments to improve our offerings and look forward to welcoming you back for an even better experience in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the Raffaello for two nights. The room was large, spacious, with two very comfortable beds. parking was not a problem, since there are many public lots nearby. Reception was quick and easy. The hotel is only one block from Michigan avenue. Considering the location the price was not high. We were in room 1502 , although facing the city there was no noise. Highly recommend. Only thing lacking was breakfast, although there is a donut coffee shop of the hall. The attached restaurant , I do not think belongs to the hotel, is excellent but very very expensive and was very noisy with large groups the evening we were there.

Room Tip: The higher up the better. Corner rooms may be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for posting this excellent review! We appreciate your 5-Star rating and are glad you were pleased with our guestrooms and location. Your recommendation is valuable to us and when you return to Chicago, we would love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 days, room was very clean, size was just right for 2 people with double beds. Location was key pretty much everything from walking distance or train accessible. Parking was not bad $35 for 24hrs with in and outs just around the block. Enjoyed the Glazed and Infused Doughnut location inside the hotel. Room was cleaned daily. It gets warm but just leave windows open and you should be fine. They have a great bar lounge and patio on the 18th Floor called Drumbar a must see great for private parties, after work have a few drinks and overall low key location. All staff were
of the highest regard. Thank you Raffaello Hotel for making our stay very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_heart_kicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for posting your 5-STAR rating of the Raffaello! It is wonderful to hear that you were comfortable in your guestroom and happy with the location of the hotel and the amenities we offer. Your compliments on the service of our staff are particularly satisfying as your experience is our daily goal. We really appreciate your remarks and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#80 of 192 in Chicago
1,635 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#106 of 192 in Chicago
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#123 of 192 in Chicago
937 reviews
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 192 in Chicago
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Address: 201 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1713
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £70 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing