We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place in Chicago!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #99 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Great place in Chicago!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for a weekend getaway in Chicago. The location is fabulous-we live in the suburbs and were looking for a few days in the city. Perfect location. The hotel staff could not be nicer or more accommodating. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because the rooms while they were clean, do need a little updating. Its a cute boutique hotel-very European feel. A little TLC-not a lot and the room would be a 5! 5 stars for the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the honesty and feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We hope that you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    754
    267
    126
    91
See reviews for
511
700
106
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Was in Chicago on business and a vendor of mine suggested the Raffaello as a hidden gem, so I booked it.

The room was beyond amazing and three times what I am use to in my travels around the world. The service spot-on.

Attached restaurant was ideal for a business lunch and the bar/club on the rooftop blew me away.

I don't think that I could ever go to Chicago again and not stay at Raffaello... That simple.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainMHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Raffaello. We appreciate the feedback! I am happy to hear you enjoyed our services, staff and Drumbar. Please return again soon for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The best place downtown Chicago I stayed so far! Keep it this way. Hidden gem right next to the lake! Great Staff, Prime Location. Beautiful ambient vibe.
Had a last time request for a hotel and were satisfied with a great big room that we have received. Will most definitely will recommend it to my family and friends!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Uzoudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

A great hotel, very well located, at the beginning of the best part (North side) of the magnificent mile. Handy staff, except for the ladies at the front desk. On the other hand, the only guy at the front desk was very helpful, charm and polite as were the bell boys and the service staff. It was a good vacation in Chicago!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ulises I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The good: great location and reasonably comfortable beds. Very nice and helpful manager. Very nice rooftop bar. In room wifi

The Bad: Worn and not completely clean. Indifferent staff. The rooftop bar is probably the best part of the hotel, but does not allow children so we weren't able to enjoy it. Because the bar is very popular, we were woken every night by loud, drunk people.

The Raffaello is not a bad choice if you get a good deal but I think their priority is the bar, not the hotel guests. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catale1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just a block off the Magnificent Mile, opposite corner from a Chicago Local (nice food/bar), near Northwestern U medical campus and near the Watertower and Hanock Buildings.
Not to mention a Ditka's Steakhouse and other nice dining/shopping all within walking distance.

Other reviews complained about the small/slow elevators. While not untrue, hardly a detractor from the awesome and helpful staff and lovely surroundings. Yhis hotel reminds me of lots of nice European hotels: compact (some would say small) rooms, perhaps a little worn around the elegant edges, but the "great bones" cannot be ignored!

Also, other reviews complained of issues with not being cool enough. I did not experience any problems whatsoever with this, our air conditioner worked superbly.

Also, the staff was exceedingly helpful. We arrived too early to check in, so they made some recommendations for places to find some food and kept our luggage, and when the room was ready, they telephoned and texted to let us know.

Room Tip: I asked for a room that wouldn' be too hot or too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I booked two "Grand Suites" for my husband and I and our daughter and her son for the same rate. Ours was Floor 17 corner, and hers was Floor 6 in the back, and there was no comparison. Ours was large and spacious with a bathroom room and bedroom twice the size of hers. Our living room was larger also. Hers didn't have a bar sink and ours did, although the faucet didn't work properly. When I tried to get her suite changed, I was told that there was nothing they could do--hotel was full. So my advice is book a specific room or if you have never been to this hotel, call directly and ask questions. Two elevators are tiny and not enough to handle the number of people. Stay on a high floor--otherwise it will be an issue. The roof bar is to die for! Outside and inside areas--very charming--you would almost think it was someone's home. Location is great! Bell staff and doormen were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#67 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: 201 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing