We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown Chicago classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Downtown Chicago classic”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here during the Chicago Marathon and it was so well situated - an easy stroll to the start line and a slightly harder walk back about 26 miles! The hotel was so central to shops and other city attractions. The hotel had all the usual things you want when you're away from home and staying in the city along with a really nice indoor pool and jacuzzi area and small fitness facility. The room was comfortable and nice quality bath area and toiletries. Warm friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAH123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    578
    157
    47
    25
See reviews for
318
375
80
595
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for a girls' weekend: three adults in a room with 2 queen beds. room was very clean, nicely appointed. Disappointed that there was not a fridge in the room. Nicely updated bathroom with very nice linens. Pillows were way too soft for my taste, but probably ok for others. The hotel is older, but has been very well updated and is classically understated. Location was excellent for theater and access to shopping. Lots of excellent restaurants within walking distance. Cabs always available in case we needed to go farther than we wanted to walk. Hotel staff service was excellent - as one would expect from an upscale Marriott property. The only drawback was non-existent service for the breakfast buffet. SLOW service, food delivery, and check delivery. Never got coffee or tea refills, had to ask several times for milk. Our waiter changed 3 times during our breakfast....no continuity was apparent! Two of us tried the buffet - which had good food, just a bit pricey ($22). Would definitely stay there again...perhaps do breakfast somewhere less expensive and within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSMBA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Would stay there on next trip to Chicago. Close to everything, shopping, restaurants, theatre, Michigan Avenue. The Water Tower, museums. Only a short cab ride from McCormick Place Convention Center. Easy access to cabs.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this downtown hotel. The location and our view (we had chosen a two room suite with river view) were wonderful but we were disappointed in the lack of room amenities - our room could have slept four comfortably (sofabed) and actually had a 1/2 bath off our living area. The room was supplied with a one cup coffee maker and 1 coffee pod each of regular or decaf ??? Coffee cups were horrible styrofoam! It was of no use to either of us unless we shared the one cup. We had one bath mat for a separate shower and tub - had to call for another as well as missing one robe. Decided to watch a movie until we found out the film we were planning on had a charge of $16.99 on tv and we knew it was on dvd already. We have traveled extensively here and abroad including once or twice yearly to Chicago and I don't recall a charge that extreme for a film. We were left with a breakfast menu to place on the door only the first night. Why should we have to call for one each night? We change hotels every year for our Chicago trips and I am doubtful that we would choose this Renaissance again even though all staff we encountered were extremely friendly as well as helpful.

Room Tip: great views of river and wonderful nightscape on north side of hotel - thought it was worth the upch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The location of this hotel is great, in the Loop, just a few minutes walk from the Clark/Lake Blue Line station if you're coming in from O'Hare. The "river view" rooms are north facing and have an excellent view across the Chicago River. These rooms are quiet, with a bit of street noise, but I would imagine you would get some noise from the L in non-view rooms.

Everything else about this hotel is decent, but nothing outstanding. Beds and pillows are comfortable. Bathrooms are standard American issue, with a small bath and a shower over it. Decent desk for working at. Hallways look dated and uninviting, but that's the only real negative. I didn't eat in the hotel at all.

It would be nice if they provided bathrobes and a free bottle of mineral water. Also, they charge for the WiFi, which can work out pretty expensive if you are staying here for a few days.

I'm giving this four stars, mainly for the view and location.

Room Tip: River view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

First time staying at this hotel. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful. The valet and doormen were simply awesome with directions, hints, etc. We stayed on club level.....only way to go. The club lounge was well stocked with food and beverages.

The lobby smelled so good. What makes it smell like that?

This is the place to stay in downtown Chicago. We will be back!

Room Tip: Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTPB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Smelled great waling in, like something from Aveda...loved it, very nice. Not enough people at checking - there were only two so it took a while. The room was well worthg the extra $20 Priceline charged me for an upgraded view--gorgeous view along Wacker to Michigam and up State Street. The breakfast buffet was a bit much for what you get at $83 for 2 adults and 2 children but what the heck, you're on vacation and the food and views were great.! I'd do it again next time I go.

Room Tip: Skip the breakfast and try something else local.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#36 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,459 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing