We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Primo location for everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Primo location for everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here 5 nights in March, and would definitely come back. It is one block to the iconic Chicago theater & Macy's, and 3 blocks from the Mag Mile. There is a great walgreens a block away as well, with a fab liquor selection & cold medicine selection(for emergencies!)

We could see both the Chicago river and the Chicago theater from our room, and we were right across from The Wit's top floor bar which was hopping!

We have never really used a concierge before, but Suzie was the BEST! She helped us out every day, knew us by name and found us a great Italian restaurant, connected me with a hair stylist, shoe shiner, super helpful with public transportation & other great nightly activities.

Our room was clean, updated with a modern/classic look and was HUGE on the 24th floor. Housekeeping was consistent and thorough, with a turn-down service in the evening as well.

On the weekend when the gold member lounge was closed, they comped us breakfast passes to the restaurant, and it was the most gorgeous view & tasty food ever.

Bar Novo is very hip & romantic with a great drink menu & "tasting" menu, we ordered a couple of dishes to share & they hit the spot.

Even though my husband's conference was at the Hyatt, we are loyal Marriott members and will continue to stay here in years ahead. Great visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade to river view, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for the FABULOUS review! Your feedback is so important to us, and I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. I will pass your comments along to my management team and ensure your kudos is passed along, and Suzie is recognized for all of her hard work. We hope to see you again very soon! Live well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    573
    155
    47
    25
See reviews for
312
373
79
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I was for 10 day business trip to Chicago.
My room was spacious but had old furniture, ugly en like dirty carpets which I find rather old fashioned and unhygienic. I sow two rooms, after upgrading which did not improve the furniture only the view a bite.
It's a fairly basic hotel. Nice lobby. the staff is very helpful, but cold...could be a bit more personal.
TV has only American channels...nothing else, I would think in such a hotel brand TV. should be more international.
The Hotel furniture need urgent renovation. But It has a nice view

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falconi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor. Your comments are a vital part of our business, as they help us to continually improve. Unfortunately, we do not offer international TV channels, but I am happy to let you know that we are anticipating a guest room renovation within the next year or so. I hope that when you return to Chicago, you will stay with us again and we can exceed all of your expectations! Live well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

On the pricier end of the spectrum, this hotel provides a fantastic home away from home experience. For Marriott platinum members, there is a lounge on the 26th floor with appetizers and drink set out at no charge. There is a small bar, and you can order food from the wait staff. The beds at this hotel are phenomenal, and the maid service is frequent and rather thorough. Location is primo with many trendy bars and restaurants within walking distance. Parking is expensive, but is to be expected in an urban center like Chicago.

Room Tip: Riverside views are fantastic and highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Will, thank you for being a loyal Platinum Marriott Reward Member! Your business is extremely important to us, and I am delighted to read that you had a marvelous stay. Please come visit us again, and thank you again for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

After having stayed at the Renaissance dozens of times, I've concluded the staff could be a bit more personal. The hotel has an excellent location if one needs to be in the center of activities. There is easy access to the Michigan Mile, but also accessibility to Symphony Center and Museums. Theater district is located just south of the hotel. The decor is heavy, but not worn. The hotel is clean and fashionable. The view of the river is wonderful especially from the upper floors. If you are a Marriott Reward member, be sure to tell them, as they won't ask. The hotel is wifi friendly and although there is a charge, it's very fast and up to four devices can be used without additional costs.

If you are looking for staff pampering, this is not the hotel for you. On our arrival, one person was present to deal with the car, no luggage support available until we asked and we watched the valet drive over the median with our vehicle. There is no phone call to the room by hotel management, no lobby coffee and no newspaper. Even the concierge stand lacks the typical pamphlets. When we asked for a map, despite being in a large downtown area, we were given a semi-detail of the immediate hotel area.

The Renaissance is a nice hotel, but it's pricey for the services received. If you want a centralized location with a lovely view of the river, and don't mind the cost, then stay. The staff needs to be a little more "out there" as is expected for this price-range hotel. Helpful friendly people cause one to overlook small irritations.

Room Tip: Ask for a river-view room to avoid looking a pipes and building ladders. It will cost more, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Kay, thank you for taking the time to give us a detailed review. Your feedback is extremely important to us, and please know that we will use your comments to continually improve our service. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay overall, even though you encountered a few service issues. All guest rooms should have a coffee maker and I will follow up to see why yours did not. I hope when you return to Chicago you will stay with us again, I will ensure your next stay is a perfect 10!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was my first stay in the Renaissance Chicago Hotel and I was very pleased overall.

Andy swiftly handled my check-in on Friday, March 7th with his professional, cheerful and helpful demeanor.

My room, 1026, overlooked the Chicago River and offered beautiful views, especially toward the northeast. The room was spotless and spacious (larger than I expected) with two queen beds (Andy offered me a choice between that bedding configuration and one king bed, and I told him to offer me whichever was less in demand...it didn't matter to me at all).

The bathroom was plenty spacious and also spotless. Plus it has one of the most effective exhaust systems I've witnessed in a hotel. It was extremely effective in drawing out the warm, moist air while showering. No steamy mirrors and clammy surfaces!

Equally effective was the room's HVAC system, which kept me comfortable throughout my stay. The selected temperature was maintained very well and the system was not noisy. It offered a gentle 'white noise' that was welcome given the following aspects of my stay.

Other reviewers had cautioned against rooms overlooking the "L" tracks and no doubt that's good advice. But the rooms facing the river are subject to the sirens of the many emergency vehicles that scream down either State Street or Wacker Drive. Of course that isn't the hotel's fault, and my experience may not match other guests' as no one can predict the incidence of medical emergencies from one day to the next. The room's windows offered a good bit of sound insulation but they can do only so much.

I must note that, as some other reviewers have stated, I was stunned at how much sound was audible from adjacent rooms. I can't imagine for a moment that my neighbors in 1024 were trying to be loud or that they were shouting to one another. But I could actually discern a number of words they were saying to one another, and laughter was very prominently heard. But, thankfully, they were quiet at night.

The beds were comfortable and the linens were of good quality. That, coupled with the gentle 'white noise' of the HVAC system allowed me to sleep pretty well both nights.

Must also highlight the hotel's location as superb for my needs. I was a block from the Red Line subway, two and a half blocks from the Blue Line subway, and the "L" (Brown, Orange and Purple Lines) are essentially next to the hotel. Taxis were always available either at the hotel or by hailing one at virtually any point around the property.

I did not avail myself of room service, but I ate in the Great Street Restaurant on Sunday morning. They offered a hearty buffet of delicious food that was replenished regularly. Karen, the Kitchen Supervisor, and her team did a great job and the staff I met were so helpful and pleasant! It was almost like I we had known each other for a while.

My only nitpick was relative to checking out. I had arranged a 1:00 PM checkout (standard checkout time is 12:00 Noon) and yet Housekeeping was knocking on the door, rather urgently and insistently, at 12:25 PM to inquire why I wasn't out of the room. Unfortunately I was indisposed at the moment and had to shout from the bathroom until I was understood. Not a pleasant experience and quite unnecessary. All that was required was simple and clear communication between Front Desk and Housekeeping yet that seemed to have failed.

But overall I enjoyed my stay immensely and I'll gladly consider staying at the Chicago Renaissance Hotel again. I hope that you, too, will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBinSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for the detailed review on Trip Advisor! I am pleased to see that you had so many great things to say about our hotel and staff. I will definitely share your review with my team, as your kind words are much appreciated. As for the communication issue with our reception team and style (front desk and housekeeping) you can rest assure your comments have been passed on to the appropriate leaders. We can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

It's a fairly basic hotel as expected of the brand but this one is really beautiful - The best renaissance hotel I have stayed in. Friendly staff, speedy check in. My room was spacious and with a king bed. No minibar in the room but the room service choices are decent. Had the salmon with veggies and it was really well made. It's also centrally located right by the river and a stone throw away from michigan avenue. Will definitely stay here again

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Snowflakesnsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our hotel. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and I am especially pleased with your comments about staff service! I will share your comments with our management team, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

All rooms had fitted, dirty carpets which I find rather old fashioned and unhygienic. The untidy bathroom, with no floor heating was a disappointment as well. Light switches and sockets were in terribly poor condition which is an unforgivable safety risk. The hotel wasn't quite up to my standards. The service was ok though and that made me rate this hotel poor rather than terrible.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aaranaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Guest comments are extremely important to us, as they are used as a tool to help us continually improve our hotel. I would really like to get additional details from you if at all possible. I can be reached on my direct line at 312-795-3468. I am confident if you chose to stay with us again, you will experience the Renaissance Brand at its best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#39 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing