We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel-----Beware of valet parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #56 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an excllent property in an A+ location.The rooms are spacious and the hotel has an upscale modern feel. If you are a Marriott rewards member...this should be HIGH on your list.
However, IF you are driving the $65 a night valet parking charge is BEYOND insane.
This is NOT New York.....and you can self park in the area for a lot less.
Novo Bar is a beautiful bar/lounge.

Room Tip: Ask for a King room in the corner.....the views are spectacular from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BondJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on business - I arrived early and the hotel was completely booked due to a very large conference in the city. My room was ready quickly and I truly think that being a rewards member helped in this situation. I enjoyed the gym and the pool and dined several times in the Novo Bar. The location of the hotel is ideal - within walking distance of nice restaurants and sightseeing if you have the time. I would enjoy staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aruba67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My friend and I came to Chicago for a "Girls Weekend" and were not disappointed with our choice of hotel. From the moment we checked in -- Joe at the front desk --- was amazing. Gave us a great room on a high floor with access to the lounge and provided great maps and recommendations to all the great things to see while we were there. We could not have asked for a nicer breakfast buffet with a great view of the river or the comfy beds that was so nice after walking all day. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the 24th floor -- very nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristyru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just like most reviews said, this is one of Chicago's best. The luxury of Renaissance meets a great location providing great rooms views and the possibility to walk to almost all down areas in an amazing combo. The only catch is a $65 car parking fee, and my advice would be to drive 2 blocks to N. Dearborn Street and just park for $12/day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yehia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel has a great location and easy walking to major sight seeing venues. If you must travel to Chicago the location is great.

The city is full of pick pockets and panhandlers. If I am able I will never come to Chicago again. I hope not to have to paws thru this awful city again.

Room Tip: Be on the lookout for pickpockets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charles1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great location, close walk to millennium park, magnificent mile and steakhouse of your choice... Check in was great! Danielle was helpful, efficient and pleasantly conversational. The "navigators" at the hotel were all incredibly helpful and offered a number of selections for food and attractions..you would be hard pressed to find bad service anywhere here. Room was comfortable. Plenty of pillows, great views...can't go wrong here!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank KAKBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel with all the amenities of a big city hotel. Great location, right in the theater district, as well as big city shopping and restaurants. Be aware of the $65 per night parking if you are driving, but I guess that's lower than NYC. Try for a higher floor to get away from traffic noise and the "L" which is located next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get away from the street and train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod_CFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#42 of 192 in Chicago
1,502 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £140 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing