We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Service Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #57 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Islamorada, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Hotel Service Ever”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were there for a business 5 day convention. Our last evening we had the big banquet and dinner. The food was okay, the servers never offered coffee. After dinner we had 4 hours of awards and there were no servers to be found to fill up waters or remove glasses or bring coffee. After asking for water for several hours they finally found some servers to come around. Being this was our last evening, we did not want to leave Chicago without having their pizza. After the banquet a large group of us went to the hotel bar. Their kitchen was closed and we ordered several pizzas for the group from a local pizza place. When the pizzas arrived the bar manager came over and rudely told us we could not eat the pizza in the bar. Since we had all just order several hundred dollars worth of drinks this was a huge inconvenience! Then they called last call we ordered another round after receiving the round and paying the bill we were kicked out without getting a chance to finish the drinks. We were asked to go in the lobby to which they lock the bathrooms and make people go to their rooms 19, 20 floors up to use the bathroom. As must have been their goal, the comradeship we were looking for after a long week of meetings never happened. I know our factory spent nearly $800,000.00 with this hotel on this convention and we have never been so poorly treated by the staff at any hotel! This place is by far the rudest place I've have ever stayed!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you had frustrations with your banquet dinner and lounge experiences. We sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to highlight our service if your travels bring you back to Chicago in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    600
    159
    49
    25
See reviews for
333
391
80
614
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Called the Renaissance Hotel home for 5 days and we weren’t disappointed.

As many other reviewers have commented, the location is fantastic, as it is close to everything.

The lobby was impressively large and welcoming. The staff greeted us warmly, were friendly and attentive – check-in was very smooth. Our bags arrived out our room quickly.
Due to the fact that I was at this particular property for a business function, as I was happy to learn that the laundry and dry cleaning service had an overnight turn around, as long as clothing articles were received before 6pm that evening. Also, I was very happy to find out that they offered a complimentary shoe shine service with a 1 hour turnaround time. I obviously took advantage of this service, and was pleasantly surprised at how good of job they did.

Our room was a spacious suite, overlooking the river, with views of the corn cob buildings, Trump and the Wrigley buildings in the near distance - truly a million dollar view. The only strange thing was that the suite was set up for entertaining, but didn’t have any glasses, dishware or flatware.

Due to having a tight schedule, we happened to come back to our room while the housekeeper was cleaning our room, and she was very friendly and professional. Great job!

One of the evenings there, we attended a reception dinner and were a tad disappointed with the food. The service was good, however the food lacked flavor. I wasn’t sure if it was just my dinner, but while talking to colleagues after the fact, they all had the same experience.
Overall, our stay was very positive, and I’d highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Mark – We are so happy that we could make the Renaissance your home away from home! Our staff prides itself on always being attentive and welcoming and we are delighted you experienced that during your stay. We appreciate all the time you took to provide such wonderful comments and feedback about our property. We are sorry to hear that the food did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with our chef and we are committed to continue improving. If you are willing to contact the hotel directly and ask for the executive assistant, we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to your next visit to the windy city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very nice hotel. Location is fabulous and centrally located. Great lobby with generous seating and area's to lounge or get some work done. Bar is efficient and friendly. Rooms very clean with a fantastic view

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevilla69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are delighted you were able to enjoy our lobby space to work and relax. We know how important it is to be able to do both when traveling. We hope you were able to delight in some local beers or specialty cocktails in Bar Novo. They have the best selection for a nightcap or after work treat. Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not only great but the location is the best. We were able to walk to most of the hot spots such as shopping and dinning and beautiful parks. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff were great and helpful. The room was large and we had a great view of the river. We ordered room service one night and found the food to be very tasty and the service was very fast as well as in the restaurant . The only thing I found odd was that there was no where to exchange currency. They sent me to the bank attached to the hotel but unless I had an account there they would not do it. I would certainly stay here again.
Steve s

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Steve – Thank you for your kind comments about the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel and our staff. We are delighted you were able to explore the city from our hotel. Where you able to discover something new while you were here?

I do apologize we were not able to exchange your currency when you inquired about it. We are able to exchange most currency at our reception desk, but were experiencing some temporary issues with the system to process the exchange this past week. I have shared your comments with our team so they are now also aware that the bank in our pedway is unfortunately no longer able to do this exchange. This way, we can be sure to send our discoverers to the closest place able to process their exchange should we experience any temporary issues again.

We once again appreciate your time and look forward to your next visit to the windy city. Until then, live well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were upgraded to a fabulous suite overlooking the river. The service throughout our stay was wonderful . Would absolutely stay here again. Great location. Close to shopping, resturants and the train. There is an Illy coffee shop in the lobby if you aren't going to the hotel restaurant for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJE2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We would absolutely love to welcome you back! Thank you for submitting such kind comments about our hotel. We were delighted to receive them and will be sure to share them with our team. Our suites certainly boast some of the best views and are perfect for relaxing and enjoying the evening. Until your next visit, live well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed 4 nights. Avg king room. Avg bathroom. The hotel generally seems a little dated. Good location. First time at a Renaissance. I was under the impression this was a higher brand than the typical Marriott but it is comparable. Would return. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel. We apologize that the stay was average. We would appreciate the chance to speak with you further about your experience. If you are willing to contact the hotel directly and ask for the executive assistant, it would be greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon and helping you discover something wonderfully new. Live well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lovely older hotel, great service and a terrific lobby bar...very comfortable. Was on 20th floor with a less than great view however it still afforded us a lofty view of a few smaller buildings and State Street. The location is great; 20 minute walk to some of the best shopping in the world, 10 minute walk to The Bean, 1 minute to the L.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Janet – We are delighted you enjoyed the service and Bar Novo during your stay with us. I hope you were able to enjoy some delicious drinks as well as some savory cuisine. Next time you join us, be sure to visit our navigator desk for some great new finds in the windy city! Until then, live well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#39 of 190 in Chicago
1,468 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,693 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 190 in Chicago
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing